We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm in a crazy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaka

Save Saved
You added Riad Abaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Abaka
21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Essex
1 review
“Oasis of calm in a crazy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very quiet, clean, close to La Place, close to the souks, very friendly staff

This is a lovely, clean and comfortable riad, about 7 minutes walk from the main square (triangle!) Jemaa el Fna, and even closer to the souks, but once inside you would think you were in the middle of nowhere. My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in February, and although we were extremely unlucky with the weather, the staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly - the friendliest people we met in Marrakech in fact. The room was spacious, comfortable and beautiful, although if you like your privacy beware that the en-suite toilet is - although hidden round a corner - not separated from the rest of the room by a door or even curtain.

The hotel is quite difficult to find; the nearest the taxi could drop us off was a good 10 minute walk through the maze of alleys around the medina, so I'd probably organise with the riad someone to collect at the airport if you want to avoid this problem. When you have your suitcase it's very difficult to look for a hotel while looking like you know what you're doing, but I think most riads would be tricky to locate for the first time.

I certainly recommend this place and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I recently stayed at Riad Abaka and would really love to express my sincere gratitude toward the lovely people who worked there. They really made this an exceptional stay for me. I was staying on the second level of the riad in a quiet, peaceful room that was always kept immaculately clean. After spending a busy day in Djemaa el Fna, it was the perfect place to come back to. I should also mention that Djemaa el Fna is really close by, infact it would be less than a five minute walk for those who aren't hopeless with directions :) The roof terrace is lovely and relaxing, especially after a long day in the souks. The tajines we for dinner were so flavoursome that my stomach is demanding for one now! There was never a shortage of moroccan tea and/or coffee.
The breakfast was very enjoyable and plentiful!
In regards to the riad as a hotel, I was pretty blown away by how beautiful it was...especially at night when the pool area was illuminated.
Thanks so much guys for looking after me and for the exceptional service you provided me with. Inchallah i will see you all again soon.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room on the second floor of the riad and really enjoyed it. It was very private and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Abaka for 2 nights at the beginning of our Morocco vacation. We had a very good stay, but with hundreds of riads to choose from in Marrakech (and many of them cheaper), I'm not sure this is the "perfect" place to stay.

ROOM: We booked the cheapest room at Riad Abaka and due to it being low season during our stay, were upgraded to a larger room, which was quite comfortable. We had plenty of space with a double bed and large closet. There was a heater in the room which worked great, but was quite loud so unfortunately we had to sleep with the heat off. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and basic soaps.

REST: The bed was comfortable, but do be aware that as with other riads with inner courtyards, sound can carry. It was not busy and the other guests were respectful, so this was not really an issue.

CLEANLINESS: Our room was very clean, which we appreciated!

SERVICE: Everyone was accommodating at this riad, which I truly am grateful for. We had everything we needed, though we did not receive some of the personalized hospitality which other reviews have mentioned. Also, while many staff members spoke English, we did have one time when no one on location spoke English. We did okay communicating with my broken French, but it is something to keep in mind.

LOCATION: The hotel is in a wonderful location, about a 3-minute walk to the tourist souks and just further to the Djemaa el Fna square, but you'll never find it on your own. Pay for someone to pick you up upon arrival - it's worth it! You'll have no problem finding restaurants, banks, or shopping within a 5-10 minute walk and if you are up for a bit farther walk, you can also walk to most of the attractions and historical sites in the historical part of town. You will need to be able to walk from your taxi to the riad, as cars are not permitted to drive all the way to the riad.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is included, and was a standard Moroccan spread of breads with butter and jams as well as yogurt, delicious fresh orange juice, and a hot beverage. Moroccan mint tea is widely available. If you ask for coffee, expect instant/Nescafe style and if you ask for a British tea, you may find yourself with a selection of decaffeinated herbal infusions instead.

WI-FI: The riad does have wi-fi available: be sure to ask for the password.

POOLS: The inner garden is beautiful and peaceful, and a lovely place to relax. There is also a small plunge pool for cooling off, but it isn't large enough for swimming.

PAYMENT: Our room payment was accepted in dirham or euros (your choice, at a fair exchange rate). Credit card payments incurred a surcharge (3%, if I recall correctly).

BOTTOM LINE: This riad was a nice place to stay and we had only minor complaints that in reality didn't really affect our stay. However, at the price we paid, we expected slightly better than adequacy. I'd give it a 3 out of 5.

How I rate my stays:
5 = Amazing hotel and would go out of my way to return
4 = Great hotel and recommended
3 = Average stay, no complaints but not special
2 = Would not recommend
1 = So bad we left early!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the riad Abaka, not knowing quite what to expect, as this was our first trip to Morocco. Philippe had arranged for us to be picked up at the airport, and we were charmed by the place the moment we stepped in and saw its quaint little courtyard and pool. Our room was on the first floor, up a winding staircase, and done up in Moroccan style, but with an air-conditioner tucked away discreetly. That night, we had the most delicious dinner we 've had in Morocco, whipped up by Younis, who does the night shifts.

We spent quite a bit of time in the riad, relaxing in the courtyard or the open terrace over cups of mint tea, but the riad was very close (2 - 3 minutes walk) from the souks and the Jemaa el Fnaa at the heart of the old city. In spite of this, it was quiet and peaceful, and we slept well in the comfortable room.

The best thing about the riad, however, are the staff - Younis, Adil and the girls, Muna and Scheherazade - always smiling and cheerful, ready to help with advice or things like arranging trips to the hammam, or a pot of mint tea (I love the stuff!). A big thank you to all of them, and we would definitely recommend the Abaka to anyone visiting Marrakech.

Arpi and Suvo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Excellent location and very friendly hosts. Lovely little riad close to all the sites. Good breakfast and nice roof terrace away from the bustle of Marrakech. We had the two ground floor rooms which meant we also could use the entire groundfloor as a bit of an extension to them. Early waking guests meant there was a bit of noise in the morning but that is probably always the case when the rooms are around a central courtyard.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms excellent for families - you have the whole courtyard to use as an extension. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

riad abaka rocks!!!!A true oasis in the middle of the action of Marrakech....quiet and tranquil with the best staff on the planet....staff super helpful and accommodating....rooms large and well appointed but the gem is the rooftop in the evening for reflection of the days events....when in doubt, eat in as the food and service is awesome and great value...p.s. ask for driver P/U at the airport as it can be hard to find for the uninitiated...

Room Tip: room 6 & 7 good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay in this delightful riad. Staff were so pleasant and helpful, everything comfortable and clean. Beautiful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, and we had a evening meal out there as well which was amazing. So convenient for the square and the souk, where we eat several times. Would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Abaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaka

Address: 21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Abaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abaka Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.