We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“riad abaka” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaka

Save Saved
You added Riad Abaka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Abaka
21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Grand Forks, Canada
1 review
“riad abaka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

riad abaka rocks!!!!A true oasis in the middle of the action of Marrakech....quiet and tranquil with the best staff on the planet....staff super helpful and accommodating....rooms large and well appointed but the gem is the rooftop in the evening for reflection of the days events....when in doubt, eat in as the food and service is awesome and great value...p.s. ask for driver P/U at the airport as it can be hard to find for the uninitiated...

Room Tip: room 6 & 7 good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay in this delightful riad. Staff were so pleasant and helpful, everything comfortable and clean. Beautiful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, and we had a evening meal out there as well which was amazing. So convenient for the square and the souk, where we eat several times. Would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It is rare when a property combines affordability and the necessary sensibilities to accommodate business travelers. Riad Abaka has it all -- from free wifi and breakfast to tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms and a great location. The staff was nothing short of amazing. My only regret was in not staying longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glan-Münchweiler, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was an oasis of tranqulity within the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina and the nearby (2 minutes walk) Djemaa el-Fna square. It is well appointed with a knowledgable, caring and gracious staff. They even arranged reasonably priced personal day trips for us.

We chose to dine in several times while staying. It was well worth it. Their cooking talent is a point that that they should advertise more. The tajines presented by the Riad far exceeded any offerings we found while we were out and about.

The room we stayed in was sized just right for my family and was well decorated and cheery. The bath offered hot water with good pressure. The bed was beyond comfortable and was, quite possibly, one of the best I've ever slept in - this is not an overstatement.

All in all our stay in Marrakech was enhanced by staying at the Riad Abaka. I would reccomend this locale to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

When we arrived in Marrakech, we were off to a good start in the first 30 minutes with a whole bucket-full of scams and touts, sprinkled with some harrowing driving. We didn't have a lot of patience left, but forced ourselves to check out three riads before deciding. This was the best one.

Riad Abaka's courtyard is cool and beautiful, with flowering vines and live birds swooping in and singing. There's also a plunge pool and a private (no views) rootop terrace. Since this was the last stop on our trip, our bartering skills were in fine form. We got ourselves a nice suite for less than the usual room price (it was off-season, too, which helped).

The staff is super friendly. Breakfast (included) was excellent. I really can't think of any cons for this place.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Marrakech. This was literally steps away from the souks, and about a 1 minute walk from the Djemma el Fna. That meant that, when we needed to use the restroom, cool off, or take a break for any reason, we could just stop by our room. We could get some lamb (cut off the beast right before us) and olives, bring them back and eat on the terrace. Or, when I inevitably got overheated wearing my westernized hijab, we could sit with our legs in the pool and take a three-hour siesta before bracing for the Djemma el-fna circus.

Believe me, I love adventure and down-and-dirty backpacking, but Marrakech - as amazing as it is - goes down best with a spoonful of sugar. And the sugar is Riad Abaka.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Riad Abaka i is absolutely beautiful and the perfect way to see Marrakech. The location is fabulous - in the heart of the old city (with shops and restaurants a few minutes walk away and the main square a lovely 10 minute stroll) but it is so peaceful and quiet, you relax the moment you step through the door. The staff Adil the manager and his team are fantastic, taking care of everything for you and making you feel absolutely welcome and at home.

The most special thing about Riad Abaka though it's style and beauty. The courtyard takes your breath away with its tranquil whites and mature plants. Our room was just gorgeous with beautiful and thoughtful touches that made us feel like we were being really looked after.

We had a really lovely week here and I can't recommend it highly enough - truly special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in canelle room. First trip to Marrakech to attend a friend's 40th birthday. The rest of our group were staying in a nearby riad, but think we got the best deal staying at Riad Abaka . A taxi was organised from the airport to the riad, and the driver helped us with our bags to the door of the riad (which was good as it would be hard to find otherwise). Adil the manager greeted us, then showed us to our room to freshen up before checking in. A chat over mint tea and goodies was one of the nicest check ins i've done!

Riad Abaka is quite compact but that is part of it's charm as it is like a home from home. Everything is immaculately clean, and it is quiet, calm, stylish and comfortable. What makes it stand out from the crowd is that nothing is too much trouble. Adil and his staff were on hand to arrange taxis, tours and guides. They will help with restaurant and spa reservations, recommend shops and excursions and generally give you the benefit of their knowledge of Marrakech.

Breakfast was lovely and I wish we had more time available to us to just chill in the riad.

The riad is about a 10 minute walk from the main square and close to places to eat and hammams if you want them.Adill makes sure you know the main landmarks to find your way back to the riad.

Free WIFI available.

No doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Abaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaka

Address: 21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Abaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abaka Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.