We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Ababka - C'est Bon! No Doubt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Abaka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Abaka to your Saves list
Riad Abaka
21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Germany
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Riad Ababka - C'est Bon! No Doubt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was an oasis of tranqulity within the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina and the nearby (2 minutes walk) Djemaa el-Fna square. It is well appointed with a knowledgable, caring and gracious staff. They even arranged reasonably priced personal day trips for us.

We chose to dine in several times while staying. It was well worth it. Their cooking talent is a point that that they should advertise more. The tajines presented by the Riad far exceeded any offerings we found while we were out and about.

The room we stayed in was sized just right for my family and was well decorated and cheery. The bath offered hot water with good pressure. The bed was beyond comfortable and was, quite possibly, one of the best I've ever slept in - this is not an overstatement.

All in all our stay in Marrakech was enhanced by staying at the Riad Abaka. I would reccomend this locale to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
16
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

When we arrived in Marrakech, we were off to a good start in the first 30 minutes with a whole bucket-full of scams and touts, sprinkled with some harrowing driving. We didn't have a lot of patience left, but forced ourselves to check out three riads before deciding. This was the best one.

Riad Abaka's courtyard is cool and beautiful, with flowering vines and live birds swooping in and singing. There's also a plunge pool and a private (no views) rootop terrace. Since this was the last stop on our trip, our bartering skills were in fine form. We got ourselves a nice suite for less than the usual room price (it was off-season, too, which helped).

The staff is super friendly. Breakfast (included) was excellent. I really can't think of any cons for this place.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Marrakech. This was literally steps away from the souks, and about a 1 minute walk from the Djemma el Fna. That meant that, when we needed to use the restroom, cool off, or take a break for any reason, we could just stop by our room. We could get some lamb (cut off the beast right before us) and olives, bring them back and eat on the terrace. Or, when I inevitably got overheated wearing my westernized hijab, we could sit with our legs in the pool and take a three-hour siesta before bracing for the Djemma el-fna circus.

Believe me, I love adventure and down-and-dirty backpacking, but Marrakech - as amazing as it is - goes down best with a spoonful of sugar. And the sugar is Riad Abaka.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Riad Abaka i is absolutely beautiful and the perfect way to see Marrakech. The location is fabulous - in the heart of the old city (with shops and restaurants a few minutes walk away and the main square a lovely 10 minute stroll) but it is so peaceful and quiet, you relax the moment you step through the door. The staff Adil the manager and his team are fantastic, taking care of everything for you and making you feel absolutely welcome and at home.

The most special thing about Riad Abaka though it's style and beauty. The courtyard takes your breath away with its tranquil whites and mature plants. Our room was just gorgeous with beautiful and thoughtful touches that made us feel like we were being really looked after.

We had a really lovely week here and I can't recommend it highly enough - truly special.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in canelle room. First trip to Marrakech to attend a friend's 40th birthday. The rest of our group were staying in a nearby riad, but think we got the best deal staying at Riad Abaka . A taxi was organised from the airport to the riad, and the driver helped us with our bags to the door of the riad (which was good as it would be hard to find otherwise). Adil the manager greeted us, then showed us to our room to freshen up before checking in. A chat over mint tea and goodies was one of the nicest check ins i've done!

Riad Abaka is quite compact but that is part of it's charm as it is like a home from home. Everything is immaculately clean, and it is quiet, calm, stylish and comfortable. What makes it stand out from the crowd is that nothing is too much trouble. Adil and his staff were on hand to arrange taxis, tours and guides. They will help with restaurant and spa reservations, recommend shops and excursions and generally give you the benefit of their knowledge of Marrakech.

Breakfast was lovely and I wish we had more time available to us to just chill in the riad.

The riad is about a 10 minute walk from the main square and close to places to eat and hammams if you want them.Adill makes sure you know the main landmarks to find your way back to the riad.

Free WIFI available.

No doubt we will be back.

Room Tip: rooms on the first floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

What a fabulous place, can't fault it. Perfect position in the middle of this amazing, crazy city, but once through the doors of the Riad you're transported to another time and place. It's calm and peaceful, with rooms built around beautiful courtyards . It's well hidden so you must arrange pick up at the airport by the Riad minibus/taxi, hassle free, reasonable price. Have dinner at the Riad on the rooftop terrace where breakfast is also served, it's the best food in town. Try some of the restaurants recommended by Adil the manager, and a guide will take you and bring you home again. And it does feel like home - wonderful. If the restaurant is too far to walk, the Riad taxi or minibus will take you. The Riad will also arrange trips to the mountains far cheaper than tour operators, and provide a lovely personal service.

Room Tip: the canelle room is so lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

I cannot fault our stay at Riad Abaka. Top marks on all counts. Organising a trip for a group of 18 could have been a nightmare, but the support of the Abaka staff made it so much easier. Our group hired the entire riad. From the very start, their kind response to our various demands and their helpful suggestions ensured that everything went smoothly – and this extended to a range of services beyond the accommodation, from arranging taxis in advance to advising us on nightlife and being flexible with payment methods, not to mention prompt and patient answers to our constant stream of emailed questions.
They met us, as promised, at the airport and welcomed us to the riad with sweet mint tea and biscuits – a nice touch.
The riad is simple and stylish, authentic but sufficiently up-to-date with enough plug points, internet access, good plumbing etc! There are a range of rooms, all the same quality, just differing in size, all en suite. I found the firm bed really comfortable and slept very well while I was there. Everything was perfectly clean and beautifully presented; you can never have too many scattered rose petals..... They also have an extremely pleasant roof terrace where you can eat, catch some sun or just generally lounge about.
The atmosphere is very friendly and informal, although I suspect that the staff adapts according to the nature of the guests. The manager, Adil , invited us to treat it as our home, which we clearly did (including raiding their kitchen for wrong o’clock munchies!) and they genuinely didn’t seem to mind.
It was with regret and fond goodbyes that we left. I would love to go back to Marrakech and would not consider staying anywhere else but Riad Abaka.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We spent five(5) nights at this riad in two in tranches. The riad was in a very good location for the medina, only a couple minutes from the main square(Djemaa el-fina) , souks and close to some nice restaurants & bars (Villa Flores, Cafe Araba).

The riad itself was very clean and peaceful. There were two inside breakfast areas and a large roof top terrace. Breakfast was provided when we wanted it and was even waiting for us at 6.30am before leaving for a desert trip. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms which was still a good size with a large comfortable bed. Breakfast consisted of freshly orange juice, coffee, yogurt, bread rolls and jam as well as something else which changed each day (pancakes, pan au chocolat etc).

The main negative was that they did not organise our transfer from the airport to the riad and unbeknown to us the address on the website was not complete so the taxi drivers at the airport were not able to take us. So we had a lot of difficulty trying to get the full address and then trying to find the riad once we got to the medina.

All the employees were friendly and welcoming, especially the main manager.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Abaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaka

Address: 21, Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Abaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abaka Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Abaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.