We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douarskoll

Save Saved
You added Douarskoll to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Douarskoll
Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our home away from home in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

Very tranquille vibe and laid-back yet stylish interior in this small and quiet riad. Moreover, Mohammed the host with the most, is fantastically helpful, knowledgeable and cheerful. Highly recommendable for most travellers...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
18
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Very close to the main Square Jemaa el-Fnaa yet peaceful and quiet, hidden in the heart of the old Medina, Douraskoll was a great choice. The hotel has a family atmospehere and thanks to Mohhamed, who was always kind and smiling, we felt welcome at all the time. The room we stayed at was super cosy, decorated in local style and had its own bathroom (it was the room for 3 so we also had a little "living room" area with an extra bed and small coffee table) The bed was super comfortable, rooms clean and we had an extra little heating so it never got cold (although we came in January). The best part of the hotel is the roof top terrace where you can relax, enjoy the sun and a great view of the roofs of Marrakech (and the mountains!). Breakfast was composed of the best mint the we had in Marrakech and local bread & butter & jam. The hotel is a bit difficult to find in the medina at first but locals will be happy to show you the way (be careful with that - they will guide you but expect you to pay them and all the other people THEY ask for directions.)
In genereal we had great time in Duarskoll and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The best room is the one with a big baldachin bed so I would definitely choose that one next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

The first day was great, the room is small and the toilet is outside but it has a shower and a sink and it was generally clean. The manager was initially very friendly but when I mentioned that some money was taken from my wallet which was inside the room he got very agitated saying that the room me and my mother stayed was the only room which they had only one key. When I asked where was the police he said they would laugh due to the fact that only 150 dirhams was missing (about £15). That despite being a small figure was enough for us to have a lovely lunch next day before leaving Marrakech. When I went to the police they took very seriously despite being a small amount. When I came back home the manager kept talking to the other guests about my complaint and how many wonderful reviews he has etc. We could hear the conversation from our room and it was very uncomfortable for us both. I went to the police and recommend any future guests that notice any amount of money missing from their wallet no matter how small to report it! To make matters worst I have been receiving messages from the manager on a daily basis. Even suggesting that maybe I did not had enough money to pay the room when I paid upfront when we arrived!!!! This is now borderline harassment. Needless to say his email is now on my spam folder!!! I do not recommend Douarskoll to anyone.

Room Tip: dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Douarskoll is a nice, nice place. Located just in the heart of the old city, it's a charming moroccan house, with friendly and helpful staff, a great terrace and a peaceful mood. Besides, it's not expensive and with some more Dirham you can get the wonderful big room on the third floor: ask for it! Maybe breakfast could be a little bit more satisfactory, anyway for us it was quite ok, it depends by you....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Just returned from Marrakech after staying in Douarskoll, had a lovely experience... It's a charming riad but pretty basic so don't expect tv's and hairdryers etc which was fine considering it's very good value! Excellent location, just 5 minutes walk to the main square, it is through lots of alleys but it is very safe and once you've done it a few times quite easy to remember.

The guesthouse sends you an email before you arrive to arrange a taxi for you for 15 Euros per cab one way, recommend this as it saves you the hassle of dealing with the taxis and getting ripped off! They will also have a guy whom will carry your luggage to the riad for a small charge, You can only access the riad on foot and from the taxi is under a 10 minute walk.

You will also receive an email for dinner for 12 Euros each which will be a home made meal cooked by Mohammed. You have to have this as it was the most aunthtic meal we had and the nicest tagine. Wasl really good food and you wont find anything like it outside.

Breakfast was different breads and Jam with tea/coffee... did the job.

Riads were comfy with amazing showers. Had a roof top terrace which was nice. Great if your just staying for a few days and just need a place to stay. It's small with only 4 rooms so quite in the day.. no reception etc. So if you need any info, make sure you speak to mohammed and catch him when you can,

Mohammed is lovely and helpful and the life and soul of the guesthouse. Nothing is ever to much trouble and it really makes your stay personal :-)

Lovely place to stay but quite basic :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Mohammed immediately made us welcome by showing us around and cooking an absolutely delicious meal for when we arrived. He gave us invaluable advice on the best things to do and see in Marrakech and made us feel perfectly at home. Throughout our stay he was always friendly and accommodating. This riad is stylishly designed and great value for money! We were in one of the two smaller rooms and quite honestly could not have asked for anything more from the room- good shower, warm at night, bedside lamp and comfy bed and pillows! The location is great- right in the middle of things but easy to find your way because its very close to one of the main souk streets- Rue Mouassine-which leads down to the main square. The view over Marrakech from the plant filled and relaxing terrace was spectacular-especially at sunset.
We had a truly amazing stay and I cannot fault the place. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you're looking for somewhere only a few minutes from the heart of the action in Marrakech that provides a tranquil base at a very reasonable price, I'd highly recommend Douarskoll. Mohammed, your host, will meet you from the taxi from the airport (best way of finding this Riad in the maze that is the Souk). He's very friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are a good size, breakfast was reasonable. Overall I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Douarskoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douarskoll

Address: Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Budget Places and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Douarskoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douarskoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.