We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"In Morocco, we give our guests somewhere to stay, feed them and wash them"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Douarskoll

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Douarskoll to your Saves list
Douarskoll
Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"In Morocco, we give our guests somewhere to stay, feed them and wash them"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

If you're looking for a riad that doesn't break the bank, this is easily the best choice. Rooms were large, clean and comfortable, and the roof terrace on top was a fantastic place to spend an evening. It was surprisingly quiet, even the local call to prayer at 6am didn't penetrate the Riad's walls. The location can't be beaten. Mohammad - the best host I've ever encountered - cooked us a great dinner on the first night, and also took us to the local hammam, which was a great experience!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
26
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Booked at short notice but I couldn't have made a better choice. ideal location, in the middle of the souqs and a few minutes away from the main square. The roof terrace is a fantastic place to relax. Mohammed is very helpful and hospitable. The evening meal cooked at the hotel was delicious. NB I would recommend taking up the hotel,s offer to arrange a taxi from the airport, as otherwise the hotel would be difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Our trip to Marrakesh was excelent, and amazing city and Douarskoll. This riad is the best, Mohamed was the best host we could have, he help us in a lot and share with us a lot of the culture of the place, he made our experience there best than we were expecting. He prepared a tipycal dinner for us for a small extra charge wich was the best morocco food he taste.
The location is also great because you are inside the medina close to everything and also you are in a quiet place to rest by night. If you want to enjoy the city stay here, is the best option, you will feel like home and very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Douarskoll was a wonderful way to begin our trip to Morocco. It is a charmingly decorated traditional-style Moroccan riad, located on a quiet residential alley right in the middle of the medina - just a few minutes' walk to the main square. The staff, particularly Mohammed, were very friendly and helpful. There was a great view from the rooftop terrace, which was a lovely place to relax in the evenings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked this guesthouse at the last minute, and were lucky and grateful we selected Douarskoll. Upgraded for our entire stay, Mohammed was fantastic from start to finish. We didnt have any language problems - Mohammed was fluent in English as well as French and Arabic. He also prepared a fantastic Moroccan dinner for us, and took us to the local baths for a Hamman, which is a must do in Morocco.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Planned on staying 2 days, we ended up staying 5. The staff are so helpful and friendly, they truly get you involved in the local culture. The riad was stunning and really enjoyed the roof top terrace.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We could not have chosen a better place to stay! Mohammed has been so helpful and we had interesting chats with the friendly French lady owning the hostel. The food was amazing, it was great to rest on colourful cushions on the roof tops, we just loved our rooms and to stay in a Riad. Beautiful memories of breakfast served with delicious mint tea planning the day ahead.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Douarskoll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douarskoll

Address: Derb el Hammam, 66, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Douarskoll reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Douarskoll, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.