We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Maryam

Dar Maryam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Maryam
Save
You added Dar Maryam to your Saves list
138, boutouil Bab Ailen, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #431 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Theft”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We booked this in advance, based upon the good rate and location.
First of all, it is impossible to find this riad, not with a gps, not even with a detailed map. We had a taxi driver drop us 'nearby' and asked a local who showed us the way (not nearby!) and then asked for a lot of money, which almost ended up in a fight.
We were welcomed by the owner, Thierry, a French guy who showed us our very small room, not at all what we booked. We booked the largest room, for 4 people, but it was 'not available'. The riad's common areas were nicely decorated,

I would like to emphasize the fact that the rooms' wooden doors have no keys, so you cannot lock them. There is no safe either. Needles to say, our money was stolen when we went for a hike and we especially stored it in the owner's office!
There was no hot water in the room.
Breakfast was just basic: coffee, , butter, juice, bread and jam.

The hotel is not too far from the main square of the medina, approx 10 minutes walk.
A lot of atmosphere and dinner options there, we were satisfied.

When we checked out, we were asked to pay more, even if everything was prepaid, we had a smaller room and no hot water and our money stolen!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

We pre-booked into this Riad. When we arived we were shown a room at the top of the terrace. It was nicely apointed. However after dragging our cases up the 3 steep flights of stairs there was no electricity and the room was freezing. The manager promised to get the heating fixed. This did not happen. He moved us to another room, this room had heating but no hot water. The room was so small that you could not get into the bed from the side you had to crawl over the bed from the bottom to get in. As it was freezing we decided to take the very small room with heating but with no hot water and climb the 2 flights to the top room to shower - this room had hot water but no heating. We stated we wished to move out - they promised to fix the problem--- this never happened.

The riad is not in the main area and it is quite a walk to the main atractions. For the money we paid you can stay at a much better place closer to the atractions, this is very expensive accomodation for mediocre value. By the third night we had enough and booked out early. Overvalued and NOT worth the money.

The owner (based in France) confirmed when we booked that we could pay via mastercard. When we booked out they insisted we pay cash.

The stay was a great disapointment.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — lack of comfort - overpaying
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2008

It´s been the first of 3 riads in marrakesch medina we got to know and it´s been the most personal and helpful one. While we´ve been there, it was Ramadan and we´ve been the only guests in this house.
It was very calm inside (except of the mosques, but those you will hear everywhere in the medina) and clean. Our room (Zaina) was pretty small (enough space for a double-bed and two big bags) and they offered us to change our reservation if we want to. The other rooms are bigger but we kept our.

The first evening we had dinner there and it was very delicious and more than enough! Even I had my best the a la menthe there at all!
The Patio is partly covered, so that we ate outside even while it was raining.

But there is one hint I have to give you: it´s pretty difficult to find if you search the riad for the first time and on your own. Then call the owner or ask an taxi driver.
We asked a guy on the street and he showed us, where we have to go but afterwards he wanted much more money then it was fair and wanted to guide us through the medina. He was really annoying and that can happen to you everywhere in Marocco!

This riad is very good, when you have an own car, because in a very short walk you have a parkingplace there.

  • Liked — helpfulness and friendlyness, food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

Dar Maryam is a fantastic riad for a very reasonable price.
Less than 60 euros per night on May 2007.
It is only ten minutes walk from Djemma al fna.
The hosts Arnelle and Thierry are very helpful and welcoming.
You will not find a better riad in the medina of Marrakech.

  • Liked — The beautiful bedrooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Maryam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Maryam

Address: 138, boutouil Bab Ailen, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Maryam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.