We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and hospitable Riad in the heart of the 'kech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Wo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Wo to your Saves list
Riad Wo
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb Boutouil - no41 | Kennraria Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming and hospitable Riad in the heart of the 'kech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Our short one-night stay was memorable as we were treated with Elsa's lovely hospitality. Our room was big, clean and very beautifully decorated. Elsa's breakfast (which she cooked herself) was fresh and delicious. Of her riads we stayed at, we enjoyed the Riad WO the best.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
38
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our family of four (two girls 9 and 6 who loved the plunge pool) stayed 3 nights. Ever-smiling manageress Hayet bent over backwards to ensure our stay was perfect - escorting us through the streets when necessary, double-checking our children's food allergies etc. Welcoming, clean, funky and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The "streets" of Marrakech can be a bit confusing, what with the mix of motorbikes, donkey carts, vendors and alleys. So the only real complaint I had about the riad was the fact that it has multiple names, is in different places according to different online maps, etc.

So here's the deal: if you get driven there, there's a short alley walk to the riad from a "main" road. That road is pretty easy to find, particularly since there's a lot of signs around Marrakech that will guide you to "Pepe Nero", an Italian restaurant that's 300 feet from the riad, but just off that road. (If you are reading this, you probably can't read a lot of Marrakech street signs). Why riad W doesn't offer you a map with this advice is beyond me, perhaps they think it's an essential learning experience.

But the shorter way to the main souks, etc involves multiple turns on twisty alleys and streets, and this is what the hostess showed us. I'm sure her heart was in the right place, but I was dreading the return without her guidance. We lucked out and actually ran into her in an alley on the way back, and got the last few turns.

Inside the riad's 4 by 5 foot door is a remarkable oasis from the dusty streets, and bustle. A courtyard, dinning room, sitting space are available. The rooms are nicely sized, the WIFI works, and the food is competent, either for the included breakfast or they will do dinner if you want. Our dinner was appetizers and the ubiquitous tangine. Satisfying. Wine available.

So if you are going to Marrakech, this is a great place to stay. And it's much more fun to get lost in the alleys and souks if you know you can get unlost, or it least it was for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely riad

Interior: clean aesthetic, white washed walls, modern finish whilst maintaining traditional/rustic features. Have stayed in 3 different rooms-all great.

Communal areas: spacious courtyard w plungepool, cool living/dining area, awesome roof terrace with views of medina

Food: cute, healthy breakfast which is especially good as you can have it whenever you like, literally 1pm is fine.

Dinner is just brilliant-Fati is an excellent cook and the 3 course meals are a treat-I literally ate there everyday for the past week

Location: less than 10 mins walk from the square and importantly for me, near a taxi drop off point (less than a minute) which is nice after a night out when you know you won't need to traipse around the medina to get home. Good for those with limited mobility too.

Elsa: the owner is so lovely and is unbelievably helpful and kind.
Example - I first came here 5 years ago with my dad. He had an eye emergency and she got us into a taxi and sent us to a reputable ophthalmologist ASAP. She is trustworthy and helps with the little things which make all the difference (calling around spas, organising cars/taxis, showing you around etc)


Safety: I felt safe here as a solo female traveller;
-Elsa and her two female staff are lovely.
-The riad is near a taxi drop off point.
-The area is good.


Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed for a weekend at the Riad. What an amazing beautiful place. I was staying with a friend but we had separate rooms joined by our own little terrace. Our welcome from Elsa was fabulous, the staff were all lovely and very helpful. The rooms were stunning and the breakfasts on the roof were perfect. It's a great location, close to everything.

I highly recommend staying here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just spent 10 days at Riad W and loved it.

The place is 3 mn walk for Jemma El Fna and is extremely quiet, modern contemporary style with a Moroccan twist of the best taste.

Elsa the owner will make you feel home and recommend you the best place to visit and try.
Thus Fatty, Hyatt & fatima the three ladies of the house are top notch chef, we had 5 dinner in the private dining room . . . You tell them what you like and there you go

THE VERY GOOD
Elsa and her Team
Tootsie the friendly Purring Cat
the location
the Food
breakfast changing daily
the ambiance
the amenities shampoo & body wash from Les Sens de Marrakesh
the orange flower scented soap

THE GOOD
Internet ~ could be slow sometimes

THINGS TO DO WHILE THERE
Shop at Ward La Mouche for funky designer clothes ~ Ladies & Gents
At nature home you will find some great affordable argan oil, orange flower spray ... everywhere else its is much more $$$
Go for Lunch on the terrace at Foundouk
Get out of town one day and relax at Le Beldy country club
Wake up at 5 am and see the sunrise from a balloon

I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I couldn't recommend this place higher. Elsa was a great hostess - she was warm, welcoming, and informative, but wasn't overbearing (I find often B&B owners tend to hover). She was extremely accommodating when we asked if we could add an extra day to our stay.
She's done a beautiful job on the design of the place. Its 'modern minimal moroccan', if you catch my drift. The lines are clean, color palette calming, and furniture sleek yet comfortable. The Riad feels like a little oasis in the middle of a very crowded, hectic little city. I don't know how it stayed so quiet within those four walls, but I'm definitely not complaining. As it's so small it's rather no-frills, but there is a roof terrace and a little wading pool in the foyer, and though we didn't get a chance to use either, it's a very nice touch for the hotter summer months.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Wo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Wo

Address: Derb Boutouil - no41 | Kennraria Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Wo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Wo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad w Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Wo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.