We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Wo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Wo to your Saves list
Riad Wo
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Derb Boutouil - no41 | Kennraria Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I couldn't recommend this place higher. Elsa was a great hostess - she was warm, welcoming, and informative, but wasn't overbearing (I find often B&B owners tend to hover). She was extremely accommodating when we asked if we could add an extra day to our stay.
She's done a beautiful job on the design of the place. Its 'modern minimal moroccan', if you catch my drift. The lines are clean, color palette calming, and furniture sleek yet comfortable. The Riad feels like a little oasis in the middle of a very crowded, hectic little city. I don't know how it stayed so quiet within those four walls, but I'm definitely not complaining. As it's so small it's rather no-frills, but there is a roof terrace and a little wading pool in the foyer, and though we didn't get a chance to use either, it's a very nice touch for the hotter summer months.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
43
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a full week and we couldn't have been happier! Elza is a charming host, the riad is pretty, cosy yet very pure and uncluttered, a wonderfull patio and two dreamy rooftop terraces, a sanctuary amidst of all the hustle and bustle of the city. Breakfast is simple but perfect and the dinners we had here were delicious. Service is impecable, rooms are spotless and very pretty and spatious, everything makes you feel at home, relaxed atmosphere...would book it again in a heartbeat! This place made our stay in the medina just perfect!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Yes, we continually got lost trying to find our way in (but that's part of the 'fun' of staying in the Medina). But once in Riad Wo, tranquility reigned. We had two rooms upstairs that shared a small terrace and gave us real privacy. We could even sleep with the windows open and were not awakened by noise (and I am a notoriously light sleeper). We had the dining room to ourselves the two evenings we ate at the Riad, and really enjoyed the meals as well as the very thoughtful service (they will serve wine). The decor -- the owner prefers the label "simple" to "minimalist" -- was lovely and added to the sense of calm.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simmozheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our stay at Riad Wo was wonderful. It is tucked away in a narrow pedestrian street about five minutes walking distance to the main square, Jemaa el-Fnaa, at the heart of the Medina. Despite being in the middle of all the action, the Riad was very quiet which we really appreciated after a crazy day in the markets. We enjoyed hanging out in the interior patio and on the roof terrace which has a nice view over the rooftops of Marrakech. Breakfast was included (loved the coffee!) and a couple nights we ordered couscous from the riad kitchen -- delicious! Elsa, the owner, always provided great tips on what to do - day trip to visit the Berber people in the Atlas Mountains is a must. I highly recommend this Riad to anyone who wishes to experience the real Marrakech. Rooms were very clean, comfortable, spacious and keeping with traditional Moroccan style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are going to Marrakech and unsure where to stay pick Riad Wo. Only there for a few days, could easily have stayed a week or more. All 5 rooms have their own charm. Ideal place for a house party. A little haven in the midst of the noise & excitement of the Medina. Agree with all the positive comments & especially the warmth and hospitality shown by Elsa and her staff. Highly receommend. jem

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The riad W has a modern, streamlined decoration with morroccan craft accents that helps its inhabitants relax after long, fun days exploring the bustling city all around it.
Because make no mistake, you will feel like it's your house for the time you stay. Elsa and her staff are great, always present and very discreet, taking care of even the smallest thing very quickly. The rooms are simple and beautiful, and the 2 terraces and patios all make for great places to relax. At times, it was almost difficult to head out of W and back into the city. And yet, it's located right next to everything, while still being wonderfully quiet inside.
The riad is spotless and the rooms very comfortable. Definitely a place we heartily recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece, Athens
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This small riad is in an exceptional oasias of alm yet next to the chaotic bustling medina. Its authentic and local and right in the midst of where i personally think you want to be. The room was spacious, lovely designed and very clean. It was quiet and calming and the breakfast was simple and delicious. Elsa was a gem, she helped us with everything and was super gracious. We were travelling two girls alone and she was like our mother. I would definitely stay there again. For me there is no other place other than the W.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#17 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#83 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Al Jazira
Riad Al Jazira
#171 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Wo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Wo

Address: Derb Boutouil - no41 | Kennraria Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Wo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Wo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad w Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Wo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.