We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad, shame about it's location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Save Saved
You added Le jardin d'Abdou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le jardin d'Abdou
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #402 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Surrey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad, shame about it's location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

What a beautiful Riad, very authentic, calming, clean and served fantastic food (I definitely recommend upgrading to half board for the minimum 3 days as we did). The staff were welcoming and friendly but their English was not great and perhaps they were a little laid back for my liking at times (for example, I arranged an excursion with them prior to my arrival but despite having emailed responses, no one seemed to know an awful lot about it but it was sorted in the end - perhaps I need to chill more lol).

It's location for me was not great. Despite its obvious beauty, it's not situated in the nicest part of the Medina; the area is very run down and a bit intimidating, we were a little alarmed when our transfer dropped us off, we were like "really, are you sure this is the right place?" but our fears vanished when the doors opened to reveal the splendour inside .

It's probably a good 10 minute taxi ride from the main souks at Djemaa el-Fna, but the taxi drivers we used coming back late from the souks often could not find it which proved a stressful experience when going around in circles with a driver who speaks no English. We could have walked but to be honest we didn't really feel safe doing so.

Saying that though, the Riad is 20 mins from the airport and as long as you get taxi's everywhere it is truly a beautiful Riad with lovely staff.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room not adjoining the court yard - Our room was lovely but we would have pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    30
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
56
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Here is a chic structure in every corner! The customer care is visible not only in the choice of linen, in the color combinations, but also in the attention that is paid to every single guest.
In short, a real gem of hospitality, perfumes, and atmosphere...
Pretty close to the city center and the Jamal Square.

Room Tip: Best to book a room on the top floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed here upon arriving back from a desert tour.

It was a nice riad but I would say that it is quite expensive for what you get.

Nevertheless, I should mention that it is a beautiful riad and the rooms were very nice with well equipped bathrooms.

The location isn't the problem that others make it out to be as it is in a fairly peaceful part of town but only a 15 minute walk to the centre which is not nearly as daunting to negotiate at night as walking around some parts of the UK at night.

The staff were pleasant and hospitable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and absolutely loved this riad. It is a bit far out of the medina, and therefore quite a walk, but once you're in you'll love it! The service was excellent, the room outstanding and very clean. The swimmingpool is not worth mentioning; really small. The rooftop terrace was wonderful, we could even get our breakfast served there. We very much enjoyed our stay, thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The rooms have very high standards, as is the personnel, at a very reasonable price for a hotel in the center of the Medina.
The fact that the Hotel is slightly on the side of the busy Place makes it a very relaxing place

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is absolutely truth, i went to check in with my girl friend , but they refused to let us check in same room and asked us to show Proof of Marriage. I couldn't believe my years , they offered us to pay for one more room and want to force us to sleep in two separate rooms.In the end we had to move to a different Hotel. My advice to all married couples is ..stay away from this Hotel. They wont let us spend 10mins together in same room alone, i thought i am in Afghanistan. It has very very very strict and conservative management.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Le Jardin d'Abdou for three nights during our visit to Marrakech. The riad is both beautiful and totally relaxing. On arrival we were given a tour of the riad, shown where we could relax and sunbath and was given some traditional mint tea on the roof terrace whilst we waited for our room to be prepared.

Once we had settled into our room we decided to head into the main square Jemma Le Fna and was given great directions and advice from Abdel, who mostly served us during our stay. The walk into the square is about 20 minutes, but along the way there are shops to browse and you get a taste for the more day-to-day living in Marrakech.

Dinner at the riad is a MUST! We ate here on our second night and were totally amazed by the food. We had the briwates for starters, a lamb tagine which fell apart in the mouth and poached pears for dessert. After dinner we drunk Casablanca beers by the pool (all drinks come served with warm popcorn and olives, which is a lovely addition) and chatted with the other riad guests. No ask was too much for staff, even when another guest dropped a CD in the pool after a few drinks, they were very helpful in getting out and laughing along.

Our room was lovely and well equipped, especially the air conditioning after a long day walking around Marrakech. The bed was very large and comfortable and the noise from the street wasn't too much, which we would imagine it to be if we had stayed closer to the square.

Overall, this was an amazing place to stay and a total oasis from the busy streets of Marrakech. The staff were incredibly helpful, especially Abdel who helped us navigate around the city and taught us about the local culture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le jardin d'Abdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.