We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Very cosy-feels like home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le jardin d'Abdou to your Saves list
Le jardin d'Abdou
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing! Very cosy-feels like home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was amazing, outstanding, magnificent! The staff is is very friendly and the riad is very clean.

We enjoyed breakfast whenever we wanted and the staff was keen to offer tea and biscuits whenever we wanted,

It literally feels like home since it only has 8 rooms, a "living room" and an indoor garden. Beautiful place that is 15 min away from the main square of the city (Fna) !

On the downside, the wifi was not very good and the hot water runs out after half an hour.

Generally speaking it is great value for money.

Room Tip: You will have a better chance to access the wifi if you get a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    35
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
69
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we went there for a couple of nights, in 12/2012
we really appreciated and will come back there in further trips in Marrakech.

positive points
- the hotel is very charming, the “post-oriental” design with the little pool and tall palm trees let you feel in a special atmosphere, it is interesting to take time to discover the hotel for 30 minutes before to go in your room.
- the rooms are large, comfortable, also well designed, and that same post-oriental style makes the bathroom in tadelakt being a piece of art (Morocco is known for a typical bathroom style with wall in “tadelakt” a kind of waterproof lime plaster).
- breakfast is delicious, you got all what you need, orange juice is fresh made, bread and marmalade are also self made, all is very delicious.
We didn’t take lunch in this hotel, and we didn’t tried the sauna or massage, so we could say nothing about it.
- the people in the reception are very sympathic and helpful.
- this Riad is easily accessible by car and behind of there is a little dead-end street in which you can leave your car, which is a very interesting, seeing that majority of other Riads in Marrakech especially those fully central in the Medina are impossibly reachable by car without forgetting that parking is hard to find in Marrakech.

negative things
- there is a particular feature in this hotel, which may bother some customers : the fact that the main doors of the dozen rooms does not close with a key. In fact, according to the typical design of the hotel, doors are wood made in oriental style, and they close only by a simple rod : one from inside when you are in the room, and one from outside when you leave the room.
That mean that every customer of the hotel, can possibly go in your room when it is free … So, better not go there with something that is precious to you …
However, the rooms got little safe deposit-box with a customized code, and all customers we met there look charming and trustful people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire Uk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at Le Jardin Abdou for three nights in January. We found the place peaceful, quiet, clean, friendly, with fantastic food, at a good value too, we tried the local wine here, it was exceptional. we had a comfortable bed and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day. We will go back again for certain.
The reason I gave 4 instead of 5 , because the location is slightly out of the centre of the medina about 20min walk. But on reflection this was not a bad thing, as it meant a taxi can take you to the door of the riad, instead of dragging your luggage across narrow lanes to your riad. Also we never felt unsafe or threatened at any time even walking back late in the evening. There was no problem at all. Really What a Gem of a Find !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Raid is a haven of tranquility located 10 minutes from the medina. The staff were friendly and gave us local information to enable us to navigate to the beach. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We stay for 1 week and spend time in the indoor pool. The food was lovely and full of flavour and portions were large. I will definately return again.

Room Tip: choose a room with windows away from the outside walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

When you walk into the Riad, you feel like you just stepped out of the heat and hustle-bustle of Marrakech and stepped into a calm oasis. The rooms are well appointed and unique.The staff is very corteous and efficient. The manager Mr. Abdel is a soft spoken and welcoming gentleman. He helped us with reservations at Al Fassia (Gueliz) - if you have one night to eat fantastic food, this is it!

We had out first night dinner at the Riad, which actually was pretty good as well - we had lamb tagine with prunes and almonds..yummy!

The one thing to consider about this Riad is that it is takes about a 20 minute walk to the main square in Marrakech, but cabs are readily available on demand and inexpensive. We actually preferred staying away from the masses!

Finally, on our last day (one of us - my wife would not like me pointing fingers) caused a glass shelf to fall off the ledges and break. The Jardin D'Abdou team did not flinch and were quick to get a replacement ordered. We appreciated that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everything is perfect and as you can see in the pictures! Extremelly quiet and so well treated. The staff is super attentive and nice. Definitely my choice if I go back to Marrakech.

It is normal to be a bit worried about the neighborhood, I think it is part of the initial shock, in fact as you will feel in the whole city .Despite the almost 2km walk until the city center (Jamaa El Fna Square) we didnt have any problems. The neighborhood turned out to be very calm and safe

Room Tip: I think the 1st floor rooms are better than the ground ones. The ones in the ground are too exposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just finished our "mini holidays" in Marakech and have to admit that staying at Le Jardin d'Abdou has contributed a lot to our satisfaction. We have been very much enjoying our stay there - staff is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was very nice with traditional touch (french style), location is very good & close to Jeema. This hotel gives you a feeling you belong to Marakech. If you want stay at Medina area we do recomend this hotel - you can very easily walk everywhere if you wish.... enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le jardin d'Abdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.