We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the Medina, but away from the business of Marrakech.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le jardin d'Abdou

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le jardin d'Abdou to your Saves list
Le jardin d'Abdou
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value in the Medina, but away from the business of Marrakech.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

When you walk into the Riad, you feel like you just stepped out of the heat and hustle-bustle of Marrakech and stepped into a calm oasis. The rooms are well appointed and unique.The staff is very corteous and efficient. The manager Mr. Abdel is a soft spoken and welcoming gentleman. He helped us with reservations at Al Fassia (Gueliz) - if you have one night to eat fantastic food, this is it!

We had out first night dinner at the Riad, which actually was pretty good as well - we had lamb tagine with prunes and almonds..yummy!

The one thing to consider about this Riad is that it is takes about a 20 minute walk to the main square in Marrakech, but cabs are readily available on demand and inexpensive. We actually preferred staying away from the masses!

Finally, on our last day (one of us - my wife would not like me pointing fingers) caused a glass shelf to fall off the ledges and break. The Jardin D'Abdou team did not flinch and were quick to get a replacement ordered. We appreciated that.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    33
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
62
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Everything is perfect and as you can see in the pictures! Extremelly quiet and so well treated. The staff is super attentive and nice. Definitely my choice if I go back to Marrakech.

It is normal to be a bit worried about the neighborhood, I think it is part of the initial shock, in fact as you will feel in the whole city .Despite the almost 2km walk until the city center (Jamaa El Fna Square) we didnt have any problems. The neighborhood turned out to be very calm and safe

Room Tip: I think the 1st floor rooms are better than the ground ones. The ones in the ground are too exposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We have just finished our "mini holidays" in Marakech and have to admit that staying at Le Jardin d'Abdou has contributed a lot to our satisfaction. We have been very much enjoying our stay there - staff is very friendly and helpfull, the breakfast was very nice with traditional touch (french style), location is very good & close to Jeema. This hotel gives you a feeling you belong to Marakech. If you want stay at Medina area we do recomend this hotel - you can very easily walk everywhere if you wish.... enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just finished a 5 night stay and we are delighted that we chose it. Once you enter the door to the Riad all the hustle and bustle of the Medina disappears you enter a cool traqil atmosphere. The rooms are charming and the beds vey comfortable. Excellent air conditioning. Staff extremely helpful. It is located on the edge of the Medina which leaves either a 20 min walk into the centre, quite a challege in the heat or a taxi ride. Which depending on your negotiating skills can range from 20-100 Dirhams.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Excelent Riad...very nice staff in a 15min walking from the center! Not expensive and the food is marvelous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We (two girlfriends) stayed in this riad at the outskirts of the medina. It is no doubt the cleanest, calmest, friendliest place we've ever stayed in. The staff and the driver who picked us up from the airport were extremely friendly. Breakfast was very basic: sweet pancakes with jam every day (with heavenly freshly-squeezed orange juice). Having said that, outside of this little haven, we felt constantly harrassed, cheated, pushed, insulted by the people of this beautiful and clean city. Temperatures were around 35° Celsius in mid May 2012 and we got so tired of constantly having to "fight" our way through the heat of this crazy city. I guess Marrakech could have been nice if we had taken a local (real!) guide as protection. As it was, we were happy to leave after 4 days and we will not be back. Everything seems to be geared to trap the "wealthy" tourist: henna tattoos last 2 days (instead of the promissed 2 weeks), food is expensive and very average (I've eaten much tastier Moroccan food in Antwerp), people ask money for everything (pointing 1 finger: "there's place Jemaa al Fna; give me money, I showed you the way" and insult you when you refuse to buy "you are a bad lady; you don't buy bracelet) etc etc. As a goodbye gift we got an hour-long queue with unfriendly staff at Marrakech airport and when we arrived at Eindhoven airport all the locks of our suitcases appeared to have been forced open/broken (although they had a special international safety lock which allows customs and police to open them without damage). It's the first time in 30 years of traveling that anything like this happened to us. And it is a real shame because Marrakech is a beautiful city; it's just a pity it is full of people trying to cheat you.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor may be a bit noisier since you may hear guests chatting on the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Riad Le Jardin D'Abdou was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. Marrakech itself was perhaps not the romantic gem we had read about from some accounts but was a great place to experience. Its main feature is the large, manic Place Jemma Al Fna, packed with tourists, and locals vying for their money. It, and the maze of surrounding souks, is hot, noisy and crammed, but the Riad reflects none of this.
Whilst its location is not ideal (it is a 20min walk to the Place), this makes it a cool, near-silent haven, just what you need after a day of wandering. The small pool is lovely and cleaned daily.
The room was beautiful, laid out with rose petals everywhere on our arrival, spotless and cleaned daily. Finally, although we did not meet the owners, Abdel and Zacharia looked after us extremely well and there is nothing they wouldn't help with!
Merci beaucoup

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le jardin d'Abdou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le jardin d'Abdou

Address: 2 et 3 Derb Makina Arset Bel Baraka Medina, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #396 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Le jardin d'Abdou 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le jardin d'Abdou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le jardin d'Abdou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;