We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bab Janna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bab Janna
17 Derb El Kouri Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

after a failed airbnb we found the bab janna from coffee shop wifi. Needless to say it was awesome. The staff was amazing, always making tea, making great dinner reservations, taking us by scooter to the store..just really accommodating and friendly. The rooms were traditionally decorated, linens were clean, and food good.

overally we were STOKED on the bab janna!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
93
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Saturday morning. Wake up in Paris. And we already miss you guys !! Fantastic and fabulous holidays. Marrakech is amazing and your kindness and hospitality make it even more wonderful ! Thank you Mouss, Rhalid, Fatima and all the girls (and also the tortles :). We loved the cook, the coktails, the massages, the mint tea, the ganoua music, the bedroom, the breakfast, the terrasse, the tortles.... Thankkkk you, hope we will come back, inchala :)

Delphine & Thibaut (Zagora)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in November and could not have been more pleased. The food was outstanding, and the service was very friendly and accommodating. The Riad itself was beautiful, tastefully decorated, and spacious. Each morning you can hear the call to prayer from the local mosque… it is beautiful (we usually went back to bed for a couple of hours after it).

The owner and the staff of this riad speak very little English, and my wife I spoke even less French, so that sometimes made it hard to communicate, however, they all went out of their way to make us comfortable, and to deliver exceptional service despite the language barrier. Simply outstanding all around. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Lovely Riad, georgous room, but no proper bath : (
The employees are lovely, but the Riad is badly located, one has to cross the Medina and the Souks to get to it, and every single seller (all men, evidently) harasses you on your way to Jama El Fna.
There is no way for the clienst to enjoy the TV room or the Library as the owner of the Riad spends all her days and most of her nights smoking and watching French TV.
Also, I got woken up at 5.00 am every morning thanks to the local Mosque!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marquiselight, Propriétaire at Riad Bab Janna, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Google Translation
Je suis désolée et surprise de vos appréciations, surtout qu'en + de 3 ans d'existence sur Tripadvisor c'est la 1ère mauvaise critique.
Bien sur on ne peut plaire à tout le monde, bien que je fasse toujours le maximum pour le bien être de mes hôtes.
Note maximum pour les chambres, propreté et service, note minimum pour le prix, la localisation et la literie (changée en sept 2010)
Ca méritait peut-être la moyenne??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This riad has 6 wonderful rooms a nice terrace on the top and the typical patio. The riad is run by Eliette and her team (languages spoken are French, Arab and some English). We have stayed at the riad for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment of this wonderful laid-back and relaxing atmosphere. The riad is a truly a place to "come home to" after a full day strolling through the medina, markets, dust and heat of Marrakech. Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

The owner and her staff were wonderful! We really enjoyed our stay at the Riad Bab Janna, and the staff were always willing to help with anything we needed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bab Janna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Janna

Address: 17 Derb El Kouri Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #282 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bab Janna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Bab Janna to your Saves list