We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An adorable oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amin

Save Saved
You added Riad Amin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Amin
42 Place My Yazid Boutouil Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington, D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An adorable oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I had a fairly average experience in Marrakesh, but it was made much better by Riad Amin. The hotel is very well located, only 5 walk from the center of town, meaning everything is in walking distance. It is set back down a small alleyway, meaning that it is very tranquil. Indeed, the interior has a very oasis feel to it. (Marrakesh can be quite overwhelming, so the oasis nature of Riad Amin is *even more* welcome.)

The rooms are beautifully appointed (one might even say adorable) and the common area downstairs is simply gorgeous. It was exceptionally comfortable. The Riad also has a lovely roofdeck, and the staff are happy to serve you breakfast up there. It is a pleasant place to sit and hang out. The staff are very friendly (and are keen for everyone to join them in watching football).

The only problem was that my room safe malfunctioned, and so it required a manager to bring a master key from Casablanca, meaning that I was separated from my valuables for longer than a neurotic individual like myself is comfortable with. It took about 36 hours to resolve the problem, and in retrospect the staff handled it as well as could be expected and I learned a valuable lesson. But that experience, though nerve-wracking, did not subtract from my overall experience at Riad Amin. I would *definitely* return there again ... though maybe I might eschew using the room safe next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    13
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
43
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The rooms are small but thats because the beds are huge and also equipped with egyptian cotton sheets. A very nice touch.
There is a little plunge pool in the courtyard, however it was too chilly as we were quite early in the season.

We had a lovely Tagine for lunch provided by the riad, which was huge and could probably have fed twice the amount of people.

I stayed in a room on the roof, so unless you are feeling strong, do get the staff to help you will your bags, which they are more than happy to do so.

The only faults are its a little further from the main square than other riads and is you are staying on a weekend the credit card machines dont really work some bring some cash to pay for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel was great . Very good location . The staff was amazing . Only one problem the hot water for the shower ran out to quickly we were a family of four . The owners of the riad were very nice. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

With traditional architecture the interior Is nicely decorated. The bathroom is nicely fitted with brass fittings. I liked the style. However, the room I stayed was bit small fitted with a bed that has large metal frame at the bottom. I stumbled with the frame and got hurt several times. The wooden doors seemed not enough to give a feeling of security. We had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It was now for the second time I stayed in this adorable little Riad Amin near the Royal Palace and opposite the Sahadian Tombs. The location is ideal as it's a bit set off the full buzz but still only a five to ten minute walk to Djemaa-El-Fna. The Sahadian Tombs are across the street.
The Staff super friendly, competent and very attentive. Anything you ask them gets taken care of straight away.
Upon arrival one receives a warm welcome with a pot of famous peppermint tee and Moroccan biscuits. From that moment onward the rush we come from ceases.
The rooms and suits are all tastefully and individually decorated. The roof terrace is spacious and offers a wonderful view over Marrakech and beautiful sunsets.There's not a too much or too little. There are the odd small appliances that might need a little bit of fixing and adjusting but in the end one has to bare in mind that this is Morocco and a part of Africa...Things take more time to be done and that sense of more time is what we visitors appreciate, no?!

Room Tip: Some rooms are smaller than others. Depending on the length of stay you might want to chose a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend went to Marrakech in Summer 2012 and we trawled trip advisor for a riad to stay while we were. The city itself was beautiful and often sapped you of your energy and it was a delight to return to the riad amin in Kasbah, a perfect distance from the hustle and bustle of the Djaama El Fna. The staff could not do enough for you and were always on hand when you required any assistance. Breakfast was served as and when you arose and it was fresh and served with a smile. The room was fantastic and a typical riad sized room with a bathroom that was a pleasure to shower in. The riad did have it's own pool but we opted to venture elsewhere as it didn't receive a huge amount of sunshine. The location of the Riad is perfect if you want to be just that perfect distance from the centre, a 5 - 10 minute walk and safe at all times of the day. Fantastic views from the roof of the Kasbah Mosque and sun loungers on the roof which catches the sun all day. Would definitely recommend and a big thank you to the staff there.

Room Tip: stating the obvious but room quality increases in price, contact the riad directly for discounts as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this lovely little hotel where the rooms are set around a Moroccan courtyard. It is only a few minutes walk from the souks. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean (if a little cramped). We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfasts. You can get a massage here and there is a small rooftop pool. So nice to come home to after a day of touring in the busy city.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amin

Address: 42 Place My Yazid Boutouil Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Marrakek, in the historical district of the Kasbah, near to the Royal Palate, vis-a-vis the Saadiens Tombs, at a few minutes of the Place Jeema El Fna, directly accessible in car or barouche, Riad Amin combines tradition and modernism. After the hubbub of Medina, as of the crossed door, you will be in an oasis of serenity where you will appreciate softness marrakchi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.