We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely quiet intimate hotel away from the hustle of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amin

Save Saved
You added Riad Amin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Amin
42 Place My Yazid Boutouil Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lovely quiet intimate hotel away from the hustle of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed a few nights in this lovely little hotel where the rooms are set around a Moroccan courtyard. It is only a few minutes walk from the souks. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and clean (if a little cramped). We enjoyed the sumptuous breakfasts. You can get a massage here and there is a small rooftop pool. So nice to come home to after a day of touring in the busy city.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
44
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Yes, I second all of the comments made from the review above. Would definitely recommend the Riad Amin for your stay in Marrackech, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Myself and 5 friends recently enjoyed 4 days at the Riad Amin June 2012 and we really couldn't fault it or the staff. Location wise it is in the Medina (Kasbah district) and around a 10-15 minute walk to the main square Djemma el Fna, which we found fine. Our suite's were beautiful and spacious and the Riad itself was really lovely throughout. Breakfast each morning with pancakes and orange juice was a wonderful start to the day. The Riad is so peaceful - it really is an oasis of calm when you walk in through the front door . There is a small plunge pool which was idlyllic after the stresses of shopping and sight seeing.The staff were all so helpful and friendly especially Simon would made our stay wonderful. We would not hesitate to recommend the Rhiad Amin to any traveller thinking of visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Staff were extremely helpful, particularly Salah, Nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful authentic atmosphere. Rooms lovely and clean, if you wanted to eat in the riad 24 hours notice but the evening meal was one of the best we had all week cooked by Aisha. Breakfast was pancakes fresh orange juice tea coffee, yogart and if requested boiled eggs. Served on the roof terrace.

Would certainly return, and recommend Well done Bernard

Comment by elysiumssssssss ,he must be a very grumpy hard to please person

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed in Riad Amin and what a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Night Staff Salah was a diamond his English was very good and he knows the place very well. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated very comfortable beds Sleep quality was good but when your not use to being woken by birds it's all very strange LOL
..... The location outside would put you off as you think it's so busy and manic that you would think the noise would keep you up but once you enter and close the door behind you it was an oasis of peace and quiet.... the pool is not large but it is adequate to just chill, the roof terrace is nice and good for those who like to sit in the sun and those that do not. Breakfast is not really what you would expect very basic (tea, coffee, juice, pancakes) so if you have a diet requirement I recommend you sort that out on the first day. I do not eat any carb's etc. and they were able to do me eggs daily very accommodating. Lunch and dinner has to be pre booked the day before in the Riad so organise yourself, otherwise there are a few nice places directly outside. I do however recommend you brush up on your French as it is the second language out there although some people do speak English you will find it a bit frustrating as us British can be bad that way not knowing any other languages so bring a phase book to help if you can. Walking around is like being in one big busy market hustle and bustle everywhere in old Medina and the square by the souks but New Medina is more like being in London regent street but less people. Begging is very high out there so be prepared to be asked for money where ever you go, they will either ask outright (but that's mostly kids) or they will ask if you need help finding somewhere and offer to take you which will then incur a cost per person at the end so be sure you know where you’re going. Taxis are all over also but again be sure you tell them where you would like to go without showing them a map from experience we were taken to the complete wrong place by doing this, also make sure you agree the price before you get in otherwise you will pay over the odds. Walking around is well mad and crossing the road is even worse you just have to be bold and put your hand out and cross like playing dodge ball (LOL)... Tips are expected in all places add about 10 – 15% to your bill (they say it’s optional but they will ask if you do not put it)….

Highly recommend the following:-

http://www.lesbainsdemarrakech.com/ - great spa worth the money
Pacha night club - cool bar (rose bar)and night club worth a visit if you like to party drinks can be pricy as they serve you doubles so remember to ask for single same as some places in London.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g293734-d1070587-Reviews-Cafe_Arabe-Marrakech.html - excellent food lovely inside but you have to go through the souks to get to it and it's a bit of the beaten track but well worth it.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g293734-d477277-r121323332-Majorelle_Garden_Jardin_Majorelle-Marrakech.html - only because everyone goes there but not really my thing...

If you like shopping no matter where you are make sure you go to Gullies (new Medina) shops like Zara, Mango, great local shops and lots of cafe's restaurants. 16 Cafe was cool for the young and hip and lots of nice cakes and food for lunch....

Final points… No iron in the Riad but they have a service to do it for you and charge per item (didn’t bother to use that), no hair dryer in room so bring your own… No TV or Radio in your room but you don’t need it as you should be out enjoying the sunshine but there is a lounge area to watch TV if you want…. Oh and smoking is allowed almost everywhere was had to get use to that again after London no longer allows it….

Oh and to all Females remember you are in a Muslin country and dress appropriately if you do not want unwanted attention, it would be more respectful and highly recommended. Coming home remember to spend all your currency i.e Dirhams before you get through to duty free as you can only use it on magazines, sweets and Moroccan wines and spirits…. Euros however are accepted in most places.

Enjoy your trip…

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Amin for 4 nights in March 2012 and we really couldn't fault it or the staff. Location wise it is in the Medina (Kasbah district) and around a 10-15 minute walk to the main square Djemma el Fna, which we found fine.

Our suite was beautiful and spacious and the Riad itself was really lovely throughout. Breakfast each morning on the roof terrace with Morrocan pancakes and organ juice was a wonderful start to the day. The Riad is so peaceful - it really is an oasis of calm when you walk in through the front door after a day amidst the hectic and vibrant pace of life in Marrakech. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend Riad Amin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The staff, especially the Manager, Wahiba, are exceptionally friendly & helpful. Although we arrived late in the evening, they prepared us a lovely light Morroccan evening meal, which we enjoyed in front of a roaring log fire, with a lovely glass of Morroccan red wine. Our large spacious Morroccan designed bedroom suite, came with a huge en-suite bathroom and deliciously hot invigorating shower. It also had an effective heating/cooling system in both the bedroom and bathroom. Our B&B accommodation inculded sumptuous breakfasts on the roof terrace, of fruits, flatbreads, pancakes, yoghurt, honey, omelettes (if requested), together with coffee/Morroccan tea. The hotel chef was excellent, and we ate lunch & evening meals there on a number of occassions, and found it good value for money. The general aura, atmosphere and decor of the hotel, with it's indoor waterfalls & pools, African art and music, felt very relaxing and therapetic. The excellent nearby hammam massage spas also added to this magical experience. Situated in the old city it's location makes it ideal for short walks to many of the major tourist attractions. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amin

Address: 42 Place My Yazid Boutouil Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Marrakek, in the historical district of the Kasbah, near to the Royal Palate, vis-a-vis the Saadiens Tombs, at a few minutes of the Place Jeema El Fna, directly accessible in car or barouche, Riad Amin combines tradition and modernism. After the hubbub of Medina, as of the crossed door, you will be in an oasis of serenity where you will appreciate softness marrakchi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Amin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.