We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Carina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Carina to your Saves list
Riad Carina
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   76 Rue Berrima, Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #116 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Couldn't have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our stay in this riad could not have been better. The location is perfect - away from the noise and hustle and bustle, but also located about 6 mins from the main square, it is a hidden gem that I am glad we found. We had the room on the terrace, which was wonderfully equipped with a comfy, big bed and a great bathroom. It was very relaxing and we were well looked after with all our questions answered by the very helpful staff. Breakfast is simply delicious and a great start to the day. Our only regret is that we did not eat at the riad, which, if breakfast is anything to go by, would have been great. It's a very friendly, welcoming place to stay and immediately made us feel welcome in Morocco. I would recommend it to anyone and would stay there again myself immeidately.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    89
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
256
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very good staff and management (Majid, Sayed, Sakina, Azizaand Etc),quiet and peaceful with plenty of mint tea to drink.
Excellent breakfast, if you are a bird lover, they are all around you.
If you lay back on roof trace you can see all king fishers nest on top of old palace wall which is very interesting, get your toiletry with spare bigger towel, remember you trawling to africa and its restricted for luxury.
Allowed 5 minets for water heater to recover itself for next person ,this hotel got two sister hotel and you may use the swimming facility on very small pool (9m2)
Bath and massage is really good, you are better of for hotel transfer at least to get into hotel, but its cheeper if you chose yours on the way back to airport

Room Tip: They got additional building with two rooms next to Riad which is brighter and its good as the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is a real familiy. It was super relaxing, comfortable, lovely, romantic, super clean, wc in amazing (architecture, hot water and clean), the bed is wonderful, the room are just in the right size to be relaxed alone or to be in love in two. You can take siesta everytime because the silence is a must and also once woked up, you can enjoy the lovely arabic sons that the hotel plays with mint tea or coffee (always free in this hotel). I'll be back as soon as possible. Best romantic- family hotel ever.Thank you so much!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely! it is so paceful to sleep in this riad. big and lovely windows. typical wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

After our driver dropped us off we thankfully got a "barrow boy" to kart our luggage to the hotel, without him we'd never have found it. Hidden away down a small street is this lovely little hotel. Beautifully decorated inside and a million miles away from the big international chain type hotels, precisely what you want. Good location and very nice, quirky rooms

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having stayed at Riad Carina on two separate occasions now, initially in November 2010 and then in March 2012, I've come to the conclusion that it is quite possibly the perfect accommodation. From the moment I first stepped inside, I felt like I was worlds away from the bustle, noise and constant activity of the Marrakech medina. The riad is like a tranquil haven – with only a handful of rooms it never feels crowded, and between the comfortable rooms, the courtyard seating, and the rooftop lounge, there's no shortage of places to relax and unwind from a long day of browsing the souks.

Besides the standard praise – the rooms were spotless, the value for the price was excellent, and the location couldn't be any better – I want to emphasize how incredibly warm and welcoming Riad Carina felt. The staff were genuinely friendly and eager to please, from offering pots of mint tea to accommodating my departure time with an extra-early breakfast, and as I solo traveller I felt very comfortable staying at the riad.

Finally, I want to mention how excellent the food is: The breakfasts were quite possibly my favourite part of the day (the selection of jams and honey they serve to go with the bread are insanely delicious), and the dinners, which include a selection of vegetable side dishes, a main course and dessert, were without a doubt the best food I ate while in Marrakech.

I will definitely be back to Riad Carina again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The riad is perfectly located for everything you could want to visit within the medina. The staff are very warm and attentive, they made us feel as if nothing was too much trouble and there was always a mint tea or fresh juice on the go! The room was tastefully decorated and very calming, we were in the annexe just next door and had access to our own roof terrace - perfect for a sundowner before heading out to eat! We did the cooking lesson which was a lot of fun and the candlelit meal afterwards was a surprise and a delight. Overall, Riad Carina is a pleasure to stay in and if we could give them any more than five stars we would. Definitely one to recommend!

Room Tip: Berber room was excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Was presently surprised by the Riad Carina. Wonderful location on the outskirt of Medina, making it easier to access whilst being close to the Souks and several Historical sites. Very calm and tranquil environment where the staff are friendly and helpful, we were given tea on our early arrival. Staff were accommodating of us arriving early and leaving the city late. Nice roof terrace although the view is nearly non-existent. Very nice breakfast and attractive rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Carina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Carina

Address: 76 Rue Berrima, Derb Touareg, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Carina 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Carina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Carina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Carina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.