We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Porte Royale
Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights (2 + 2) in January.

Had arranged pick up from Marrakech airport and taxi was there with sign for hotel (100 MAD).
Met at hotel by staff and meal had been requested due to late arrival. Excellent food, tangine, salads, veg, almost too much and all important bottle of wine.

Staff sourced us a decent map of the city and we realised that without our pick up we would have struggled to find this riad independently with info sourced at airport or from guide book.

Riad is located inside the northern corner of the walled city in what appears a largely residential area. Access to it is through a warren of initially daunting lanes and sometimes poorly lit passages.
However once having seen the "touristy" part of town this is seen to be the norm for small street layout.
Final access to the Riad is by foot with maybe 200 yards or so of walking from the small pedestrian gate into the walled city.

Rooms simple and elegent. Due to chilly winter nights extra blankets and heater made use of.
Breakfast provided was v good and continental in style. (bread fresh cofee/ tea, yoghurt juice spread, jams, honey). Additions varied with fried eggs, pancakes drop scones.

We walked everywhere within the walled city and found no problem or ever felt threatened while doing so even on the dark streets at night. You have children playing old men and women stood outside chatting the streets are their common area so they're used.
It is NOT in the main tourist centre so as such all the fancy restaraunts and tourist tat etc is NOT on your doorstep. It is only 10-15 minutes meander away.

Due to the riad being quiet and not all rooms occupied when we left for a couple of days, in between stays, we were able to leave some luggage and took the front door key with us to allow us to return without the staff being called out to greet us.

The Riad Porte Royale was an oasis of calm within a potentially hectic city. Simple, elgegent quiet, helpful, ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed in this Riad between Christmas and New Year with family members ranging from 4 years to 70 and we all had a ball. The Riad has charm , interesting rooms , great sun terrace to breakfast or 'chill out' with a book. The food is excellent and the staff are pleasant and helpfull .
A hidden gem in a lively exhillerating City . A Big thanks for a holiday that will provided us with fond memories on cold damp days .

Room Tip: The rooms on ground floor offer a unique experience of Africa and Asia . Light and Airy as the they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had a lovely stay at the Riad Porte Royale in Marrakech. It is located in one of the quieter neighborhoods in the medina but only 10 minutes away from the busier areas and sights. It is very close to one of the gates to the medina so very easy to get back to after a day of wandering. The decoration is basically white with gorgeous pieces of artwork and furniture. The courtyard is cool and relaxing. The manager Mohammed was informative and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a little further away from the communal areas and therefore more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked the whole riad for a week in May. We were two families with three children between us (aged, 5, 4 and 2). It was everything that was promised, although possibly even more lovely, than the website suggests. Everything was thoroughly scrubbed by Najet each morning, the rooms were cool and spacious, the breakfasts each day were a highlight and the attention and assistance from Mohammad, Hagiba and Najet was outstanding. They were a delight. There was an added attraction of two resident tortoises on the roof terrace that the kids loved to 'play with' (they survived the week). The pool was freezing, but that didn't deter the children from getting in at every opportunity.

The only downside to the trip was that the temperature exceeded May averages by 10-15 degrees! The riad really was an oasis on those hot 40+ days (as we still felt compelled to sight-see each morning) and the rooms remained cool. We only needed the AC on the final night and only in the upstairs rooms. Philip had suggested that we spend a day at the very beautiful boutique hotel called Jnane Tamsna. It was truly relaxing (and comparatively cool) lounging around their beautiful pool and enjoying a fantastic French lunch. We returned for a second afternoon and stayed for dinner this time which was also wonderful.

We indulged in a hamman and massage at Les Bains Des Marrakech which was truly divine and highly recommend. You need to book well in advance and Mohammad arranged this for us.

We celebrated my husband's birthday whilst in Marrakech and Mohammad arranged a great restaurant meal for us whilst Najet babysat (only took us about the first 5 mins of meeting her and Hagiba to feel comfortable leaving our children). However, we only took advantage of the babysitting that one night as the food at the riad was superb so we stayed in a lot, feeding children early and then adults eating after the kids were in bed - very civilised.

It was a truly wonderful and memorable trip and we loved Riad Porte Royale.

Room Tip: I have to say that it took us 5 nights before we were able to sleep through the Call To Prayer and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed, as a family of four, in June 2011, for one week. The Riad is a cool, calm oasis, and situated in a quiet part of the Medina. Yet fantastic restaurants, beautiful gardens and the maze of souks are all within walking distance. You can allow yourself the luxury of getting a bit lost as help is only a mobile call away. Our teenagers weren't well while we were there, but we were able to leave them at the Riad, knowing that they were perfectly safe, while we explored the Medina. The breakfasts were amazing, leaving us too full to eat anything else until the evening. Mohammed and Nagiba's warm hospitality made our stay so very pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from a mini holiday in Marrakech.
What an interesting and vibrant place to visit - you get to look into a way of life and culture completely different to anywhere in Europe.
We stayed at the Riad Porte Royal, an ideal vantage-point for discoveries into the Medina an other parts of Marrakech.
The Riad, situated in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina, is like an calm oasis you can retreat to, enjoy and relax in, and plan new adventures.
Make sure that you that you take time to get the "heartbeat" of the Riad, and to enjoy the sounds of everyday life from the surrounding houses.
This is not like a hotel, just for accommodation, staying in the Riad, and enjoying the place, added an extra dimension to our holiday.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. Mohammed, Hagiba and the owner Philip were all very friendly and welcoming. The riad itself has been beautifully renovated, simple and elegant. It is north of the medina but we found to be a good location. Walkable to Marjorelle Gardens, 20 mins to Square , less to souks and with some fabulous restaurants minutes away. Thought the poor recent review (susang) to be inaccurate. Mohammed availed us of his mobile so any problems he came back right away to sort out. One negative is the taxi trip they arranged for us at 600 dhms ended with an uninvited guide jumping in our taxi and pressurising us to go into certain restaurants and shops on our trip to the atlas mountains at Setti Fatma. Though this isn't the fault of the riad, do make sure if you arrange a taxi, if you will be having to pay additional costs for a guide (200drms for us) before you go.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice as philip gave me a tour although don't think Africa room has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Hotel
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech
Address: Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#186 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in Marrakech, Riad Porte Royale dates from 1750. Lovingly renovated, it has a plunge pool in the courtyard. Rugs, textiles and objets d'art from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia accent the white rooms. Sleeping 10 to 12, it is perfect for the discerning traveller, families looking for a home from home, or a group booking a special occasion. Excursions and meals can be arranged, and airport pick-up is complementary ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Porte Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Porte Royale to your Saves list