We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Porte Royale
Save
You added Riad Porte Royale to your Saves list
Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed, as a family of four, in June 2011, for one week. The Riad is a cool, calm oasis, and situated in a quiet part of the Medina. Yet fantastic restaurants, beautiful gardens and the maze of souks are all within walking distance. You can allow yourself the luxury of getting a bit lost as help is only a mobile call away. Our teenagers weren't well while we were there, but we were able to leave them at the Riad, knowing that they were perfectly safe, while we explored the Medina. The breakfasts were amazing, leaving us too full to eat anything else until the evening. Mohammed and Nagiba's warm hospitality made our stay so very pleasurable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We just returned from a mini holiday in Marrakech.
What an interesting and vibrant place to visit - you get to look into a way of life and culture completely different to anywhere in Europe.
We stayed at the Riad Porte Royal, an ideal vantage-point for discoveries into the Medina an other parts of Marrakech.
The Riad, situated in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the Medina, is like an calm oasis you can retreat to, enjoy and relax in, and plan new adventures.
Make sure that you that you take time to get the "heartbeat" of the Riad, and to enjoy the sounds of everyday life from the surrounding houses.
This is not like a hotel, just for accommodation, staying in the Riad, and enjoying the place, added an extra dimension to our holiday.
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Really enjoyed staying here. Mohammed, Hagiba and the owner Philip were all very friendly and welcoming. The riad itself has been beautifully renovated, simple and elegant. It is north of the medina but we found to be a good location. Walkable to Marjorelle Gardens, 20 mins to Square , less to souks and with some fabulous restaurants minutes away. Thought the poor recent review (susang) to be inaccurate. Mohammed availed us of his mobile so any problems he came back right away to sort out. One negative is the taxi trip they arranged for us at 600 dhms ended with an uninvited guide jumping in our taxi and pressurising us to go into certain restaurants and shops on our trip to the atlas mountains at Setti Fatma. Though this isn't the fault of the riad, do make sure if you arrange a taxi, if you will be having to pay additional costs for a guide (200drms for us) before you go.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice as philip gave me a tour although don't think Africa room has aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth,United kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Having never been to Morocco before and not knowing what to expect,it was really great to be in such a calm place with no noise from the outside world able to enter through the very thick walls. The Riad has been really beautifully adapted and without any request we were upgraded to a lovely room. We were there for the first three days of our stay and the final one before returning home.The staff could not have been more helpful even taking us to our first restaurant (Riad des Mer) on the first night.The meal cooked for us and eaten at the Riad,by Hagiba was delicious.We cannot praise the Riad enough. Comfort was paramount and we felt very at ease. We ate in other restaurants nearby -e.g. Dar Yacout,which was extraordinary.If you want a quite oasis in the "sea" known as Marrakesh,DO book to stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: They are all good and individually decorated.I do not think that there would be any noise in any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This Riad was a disaster. After a perfect peaceful stay in Essaouira we booked one night prior to our flight home at Porte Royale. Depressing location- no restaurants in the area.
One has to take a taxi as it is just too far away from everything. The room was small and the pillows so hard I am still ,5 days later, suffering from a stiff neck. The acoustics are dreadful. We were unable to sleep as one hears when guests enter,leave or just talk.
The Manager promised to be there for breakfast as we had a very early flight. We suggested he leave us a prepared breakfast and order a taxi. But he insisted he would be there. Not only did he not turn up but neither did the taxi he had supposedly booked.
In a mad rush we had to hurry with lots of luggage through this dismal part of town at 5.45 in the morning and flag a taxi from the main road. We had a fabulous stay at Riad de la Mer in Essaouira but forget this place. I don't know who wrote the other reviews but for us it was just awful.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTMAROC, Owner at Riad Porte Royale, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We always welcome criticism if it is helpful. The couple in question arrived late in the afternoon for one night, with an early departure the following morning. Our manager, at their request, directed them towards the Place, Djemma El Fna. As anyone familiar with Morocco will know, Marrakech is several times the size of Essaouira and more of a maze of lanes and mysterious buildings, so trying to navigate any part of the historic medina or indeed the city, takes time, let alone at night. Instead, the guests could have requested dinner at Riad Porte Royale, or chosen to eat at one of four famous restaurants, Dar Zellij, Dar Fez, Dar Yacout or Palais Suleimen all around a five minute walk away, or even closer, at the very popular Riad des Mers restaurant. Our manager mentioned this and offered to collect them at the end of dinner as they were unfamiliar with Marrakech, and gave them his mobile number. However, the couple decided to be more intrepid and from their description, I can only speculate as to how or where they spent their last evening in North Africa.
As most guests have found our anti-allergic pillows very comfortable, I can only presume that the clients were not used to a quilted pillow protector beneath the pillowcase, and were unaware that the two pillows per person we provide were not obligatory, but an option. For some reason the couple panicked about their early flight and left before dawn, leaving us to pay for the unwanted taxi. Just to add, the acoustics of the riad are such that nobody heard them go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Staying in a Riad is all about getting an insider's glimpse to what lays behind the 30' dirt/brick walls and secretive doors that create an aura of mystery and intrigue in this community . At Porte Royale, one steps from a dusty and narrow path into Shangri-la. The photos on the site -- as stunning as they are -- don't do it proper justice. And then there's Mohammed and Hajiba. If there was a way to increase my rating to Superlative I would and it's because of these two people. Mohammed runs the operations side - -always available and accommodating. Hajiba -- an amazing chef! Were she to open a restaurant anywhere, you'd probably have to book months in advance. Fresh squeezed OJ and homemade yogurt and eggs and more every morning? Oh yes, she's as gracious as she is talented. Only regret is we only spent one week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My friends and I just returned from a magical stay at Riad Porte Royale. The Riad is beautiful, the decor just lovely and Mohamed, Hajiba and Najet were so accomodating. We had a fantastic week there, two delicious dinners and lovely breakfasts. Thank you to Mohamed and Hajiba for making us feel so welcomed. You are delightful! And thank you to Philip for creating such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Address: Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in Marrakech, Riad Porte Royale dates from 1750. Lovingly renovated, it has a plunge pool in the courtyard. Rugs, textiles and objets d'art from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia accent the white rooms. Sleeping 10 to 12, it is perfect for the discerning traveller, families looking for a home from home, or a group booking a special occasion. Excursions and meals can be arranged, and airport pick-up is complementary ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Porte Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.