We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed - don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Riad Porte Royale
Save Saved
You added Riad Porte Royale to your Saves list
Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #151 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Toulouse
1 review
“Very disappointed - don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

This Riad was a disaster. After a perfect peaceful stay in Essaouira we booked one night prior to our flight home at Porte Royale. Depressing location- no restaurants in the area.
One has to take a taxi as it is just too far away from everything. The room was small and the pillows so hard I am still ,5 days later, suffering from a stiff neck. The acoustics are dreadful. We were unable to sleep as one hears when guests enter,leave or just talk.
The Manager promised to be there for breakfast as we had a very early flight. We suggested he leave us a prepared breakfast and order a taxi. But he insisted he would be there. Not only did he not turn up but neither did the taxi he had supposedly booked.
In a mad rush we had to hurry with lots of luggage through this dismal part of town at 5.45 in the morning and flag a taxi from the main road. We had a fabulous stay at Riad de la Mer in Essaouira but forget this place. I don't know who wrote the other reviews but for us it was just awful.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTMAROC, Owner at Riad Porte Royale, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We always welcome criticism if it is helpful. The couple in question arrived late in the afternoon for one night, with an early departure the following morning. Our manager, at their request, directed them towards the Place, Djemma El Fna. As anyone familiar with Morocco will know, Marrakech is several times the size of Essaouira and more of a maze of lanes and mysterious buildings, so trying to navigate any part of the historic medina or indeed the city, takes time, let alone at night. Instead, the guests could have requested dinner at Riad Porte Royale, or chosen to eat at one of four famous restaurants, Dar Zellij, Dar Fez, Dar Yacout or Palais Suleimen all around a five minute walk away, or even closer, at the very popular Riad des Mers restaurant. Our manager mentioned this and offered to collect them at the end of dinner as they were unfamiliar with Marrakech, and gave them his mobile number. However, the couple decided to be more intrepid and from their description, I can only speculate as to how or where they spent their last evening in North Africa.
As most guests have found our anti-allergic pillows very comfortable, I can only presume that the clients were not used to a quilted pillow protector beneath the pillowcase, and were unaware that the two pillows per person we provide were not obligatory, but an option. For some reason the couple panicked about their early flight and left before dawn, leaving us to pay for the unwanted taxi. Just to add, the acoustics of the riad are such that nobody heard them go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Staying in a Riad is all about getting an insider's glimpse to what lays behind the 30' dirt/brick walls and secretive doors that create an aura of mystery and intrigue in this community . At Porte Royale, one steps from a dusty and narrow path into Shangri-la. The photos on the site -- as stunning as they are -- don't do it proper justice. And then there's Mohammed and Hajiba. If there was a way to increase my rating to Superlative I would and it's because of these two people. Mohammed runs the operations side - -always available and accommodating. Hajiba -- an amazing chef! Were she to open a restaurant anywhere, you'd probably have to book months in advance. Fresh squeezed OJ and homemade yogurt and eggs and more every morning? Oh yes, she's as gracious as she is talented. Only regret is we only spent one week.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My friends and I just returned from a magical stay at Riad Porte Royale. The Riad is beautiful, the decor just lovely and Mohamed, Hajiba and Najet were so accomodating. We had a fantastic week there, two delicious dinners and lovely breakfasts. Thank you to Mohamed and Hajiba for making us feel so welcomed. You are delightful! And thank you to Philip for creating such a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

The riad was calm and peaceful, with a cool pool in the courtyard where we sat and dangled our feet after a walk back from the souk. It is about 20 minutes from the main square which brings the benefits of quiet (other friends staying in Marrakech were woken by loud calls to prayer in the early hours) and also means you get to know the geography of the souk fast. The service is very friendly and pleasant, breakfast delicious and the rooms clean and characterful. We added another person to our party at the last minute and the riad was very accommodating on price. Beware that not all the rooms have aircon. Our stay at Riad Porte Royale was delightful, highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

A group of 6 friends decided on a week in Marrakesh for a break. By luck we found the Porte Royale website as we needed 2 twin rooms and a double. Philip was very helpful with advice and then Mohamed and Hajiba took over. We were met at the airport and taken to a great welcome at the riad where lunch was served. The riad is perfect, traditional, simple, uncluttered. Mohamed helped us with a great guide, Jamal, to the souk and day trips to Essaouira and the Ourika Valley. He also recommended the lovely nearby Riad des Mers for dining. After the first day we got or bearings and as the riad is near the Bab el Yakout we had no difficulty finding it on our own from then on. We loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed for one week in this beautiful Riad. Mohammed, Hagiba and Najet were really great hosts and thanks to the owner Philip for his patience answering all our questions via email. The Riad is well located in a quiet non-touristic area, which is a good contrast to the other buzzling quarters of Marrakesch. Thanks for all your efforts, it was very interesting to get an idea of Marrakesch. I hope we will come back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

There are many riads in Marrakech to choose from - in fact a bewildering array. We decided on Riad Porte Royal because it seemed to have a very restful, tasteful aesthetic and we were seeking a sanctuary from which to make forays into the full-on madness of central Marrakech. And so it proved. The riad itself is very tranquil and beautifully presented in an architecturally- restrained way (more to an English person's taste, I think than some of the garish interiors that can be seen in other riads). However, this never felt cold or unwelcoming - on the contrary, for our stay of 5 days it always felt like home. This was due in no small part to the discreet but attentive service offered by the couple who look after the house, both of whom speak excellent English. Breakfasts are really good - plenty of variety - and we thought the accommodation represented excellent value for money. Overall, a brilliant package and an outstanding riad!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Address: Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in Marrakech, Riad Porte Royale dates from 1750. Lovingly renovated, it has a plunge pool in the courtyard. Rugs, textiles and objets d'art from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia accent the white rooms. Sleeping 10 to 12, it is perfect for the discerning traveller, families looking for a home from home, or a group booking a special occasion. Excursions and meals can be arranged, and airport pick-up is complementary ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Porte Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;