We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Porte Royale

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Porte Royale
Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We booked this lovely riad directly via the website and the owner Philip was incredibly helpful even before we arrived helping sort bits out. They arranged a taxi to pick up at the airport which was really great. Indeed Mohamed, arranges transport and trips if you want during you stay which is a great way of taking the stress out of things. We had a few days in the mountains and managed to climb touebkal! There are some posh gorgeous restaurants near the riad that are a super treat (again Mohamed can organise and will walk you there and back!). Although equally divine, one night we stayed in the riad and Hajiba cooked an awesome tagine for us to eat under the stars.

Overall the Riad Porte Royale is a great oasis of tranquillity that you so need when visiting this wonderful city. Its clean, and beautiful, the attention to detail in the furnishings is wonderful. It is in the North of the medina which has the advantage of getting you away from the hustle and bustle and also you get to see some local life on the fun walk back (although you can pick up a taxi easily from most places very easily). It took a few attempts to find the riad but that was half the fun and Mohamed was only ever a phone call away!...a compass would have been useful.

It is very safe and the dark alley ways situated around the souks, which confront you on the first day are very safe and I didn't feel uncomfortable like I would in London. Local children are enterprising in the town and near souks and will gladly help you get from A-B if you are lost, although they will expect a tip that is sometimes more that the cost of a taxi. Moreover, get used to them telling you that the road ahead is closed when its not!

Now I am home i am missing the mint tea and the great fresh orange juice. Mohamed and Hajiba are superb hosts and so kind and helpful, they make this Riad work. I would recommend this riad to anyone, but then again maybe its a secrete gem we should keep to our selves!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

Booked this through hipmarrakech.com and found the riad to be a lovely place to stay, away from the hubbub of the souks and Jemaa el Fna.

We were picked up from the airport in a taxi and taken personally to the riad where we met with Mohammed the manager. Hajiba had cooked us a meal for our arrival which was excellent.

The walk down to the Jemaa el Fna is about 20 minutes through the souks and easy to find the way after a couple of trial runs. Coming back after dark we preferred to get a taxi to nearby Bab Taghazout and walk the last 300m or so. Very easy. If we'd been in trouble we could have always phoned Mohammed!

The Riad was clean, well decorated, and (we stayed on the ground floor) NOT DAMP!!!

All in all a brilliant stay - assuming I return to Marrakech in teh future I'll happily stay here again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff and superb decor.
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2007

This was a nice place to stay - well, if you can actually find it again after leaving! It's in the North Medina, a good 20 minutes walk from the Square - make sure you leave a trail of breadcrumbs when you leave. However, being away from the main tourist drag meant that it felt like a refuge when you went back there from the madness that is the souk!

The riad itself was fine - the courtyard is quite small and often in shadow, terrace was a little shabby etc but breakfast up there was great and the staff were lovely, arranging massages and evening meals. The decor was very white and minimalist - the occasional burst of colour wouldn't have gone amiss...

Avoid the rooms on the ground floor off the courtyard they are extremely damp and uncomfortable (the owner says this is being sorted out). The rooms upstairs are far, far nicer and only about £5 more per night.

Final note of caution - no credit cards accepted, which is fine but there wasn't any notice given which meant that the morning we flew home we had to rush about and visit several banks to draw out enough cash to pay the bill. This would have been so easy to avoid...

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipbrebner, Owner at Riad Porte Royale, responded to this review, August 23, 2007
Riad Porte Royale has only been open for six months and we welcome comments from clients.
Our priority has been good service and I am glad this was appreciated. Although we are legally registered I apologize for not taking credit cards as yet and we now advise clients of this upon booking. Besides, it keeps prices competitive!
At 56sq metres the courtyard is larger than the the average found in midrange riads in Marrakech. Indeed, the previous owner used to rent it out for weddings as it was so spacious! And like all courtyards it cannot be sunny the entire day, which can be a relief between May and October.
Damp is a problem with the majority of very old riads in the medina. However, this summer we stripped back the walls in the downstairs rooms, rebuilt them and applied a sealer to remedy this. We have also put special one-way glass in the windows of the courtyard bedrooms and bathrooms to maximize light during the day and enhance the privacy of the clients in these rooms, as many clients kept the shutters almost always closed.
The rate for the upstairs bedrooms is actually 20% higher. These ensuite rooms have reversible a/c and one features a four poster bed and a private staircase.
This summer we have also revamped the split-level terrace, supplementing the tent with marble topped tables, teak sunbeds, more plants, more cushions, and a couple of African objets d'art.
We closed the riad for a month to complete all this work, and it is gratifying that when we reopen tomorrow our first clients are a group coming for the second time as they enjoyed staying at RPR so much in the spring1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

We have stayed in this recently opened riad for three days.
The riad itself is very beautiful and visually pleasing after a busy day in the medina. The interior is quite spartan to some other riads, but this was exactly why we liked it so much. All the mod cons are there off course, just in case you were wondering (spartan anybody....).

What sets it apart from the other hotels and riads we stayed in while we were in Morocco is the service. Both the manager Mohamed and the housekeeper Haajiba are extremely nice people and very willing to please.

Meals can be arranged in advance and the one meal we had upon arrival was very good and it felt (quite literally it was) like a private restaurant. It is perfect to get your bearings back after a long day of travel. There are other restaurants in the vicinity as well. The restaurant of the Riad des Mers which is almost around the corner is especially recommended.

The riad is located in the northern part of the Medina, at a good distance from the more touristed parts of the medina, which has it pros and cons. We felt very safe during the whole day and night when walking to and from the sights. Actually we felt very safe and welcome in the whole of Morocco.

It is quite hard to find if you have not been there before, so we used the complimentary airport pick up. You can use their internet connection to check your mail if you ask.

There are only 5 rooms, so book early!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

This newly renovated Riad (opened in November 2006) was a great place to stay.... it's in the North of the Medina and, although you are met on arrival at Marrakech, finding it subsequently can prove a little tricky!!
Breakfast on the terrace is the best relaxing start to the day and the staff in the Riad are so helpful and really make the place feel like a home from home. We booked through "hip marrakech" website and found this to be one of the best available at its price which was below overage compared with other Riads of its type.

thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly staff who would do anything they could to help
  • Disliked — location was great for us but perhaps a bit hard to find late at night for some....
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Porte Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Porte Royale

Address: Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#199 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis of calm in Marrakech, Riad Porte Royale dates from 1750. Lovingly renovated, it has a plunge pool in the courtyard. Rugs, textiles and objets d'art from the caravan routes of Africa and Asia accent the white rooms. Sleeping 10 to 12, it is perfect for the discerning traveller, families looking for a home from home, or a group booking a special occasion. Excursions and meals can be arranged, and airport pick-up is complementary ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Porte Royale Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Porte Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Porte Royale to your Saves list