We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Salam to your Saves list
Dar Salam
Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #727 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Marrakesh and were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in their tent room on the roof. It was beautifully decorated and very unique! We loved sipping our mint teas on the roof terrace when we arrived and had a lovely breakfast their as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I see other reviews say that it is very noisy, but I challenge you to find a place that isn't loud when staying in the city walls. We slept great! I recommend booking in advance, we tried staying here again when we returned to Marrakesh after hiking in the High Atlas, and we weren't sure if they were full for the night, or just couldn't help us without an advanced booking. I have to say for the level of hospitality and the wonderful room you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: The Tent rooms on the roof are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    11
    11
    14
See reviews for
6
42
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

the riad was beautiful and the staff really friendly and nice. Breakfast delicious.
The place itself short walk from the main square.
The key was to be left in the main hall while going out and it felt unconfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in the "Chez les nomades" tents. There are two of these, one blue and one red, both in the style of berber tents. Unfortunately they are really tents placed on the top of the building. The inside is fine, no problems there. But it gives effectively no sound insulation and it was incredibly loud hence very little sleep. Even wind against the tent makes a good deal of sound.

On the positive side, the owner was very nice as was the staff. And for the price it surely was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dar Salaam is hardly 5 minutes walk from Bab Doukala (Taxi from Airport to Bab Doukala ~ 80 MAD per person). The Riad is relatively easy to find, however, we were misled by the local boys. Having a map was handy though. Best to ask a shopkeeper even if the local boys approach you. We found the boys tend to take a longer route so they can claim higher tips. At the riad, we were in the Reine de Saba room and it is spacious for 2. There was a problem with the air conditioner and when we raised it, Ilham and the owner were profusely apologetic and immediately showed us other rooms to select and stay-in for the night. We moved into a larger room for 1 night as the guests allocated that room were due to arrive the following day. The air-con was fixed in Saba room and we found our luggage moved in our room as discussed with Ilham. Everything at this riad is convenient. There are local grocery shops so bottles of water, late-night pasteries, etc was convenient. Djemma el Fna and the local souks is only about 20 mins away (leisure walking), Mythic Oriental Spa is about 10 mins away, Marrakech Station / Gueliz area can be reached via bus/taxi but we preferred to walk and it took us about 35 / 45 mins. There are a few museums about 20 mins away as well. Overall, we found the location central and safe. the Riad servers authentic Moroccan breakfast and we enjoyed it everyday. In general it was a very plesant 5-day stay at this riad. Ilham, Sobha and all the staff at this Riad are very welcoming, considerate, warm, friendly and were eager to ensure our stay was comfortable at all times.

Room Tip: We got the opportunity to try 2 rooms and found Reine de Saba perfect for a couple - spacious and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lajeado, Rio Grande do Sul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed two night on Dar Salam. The owner, Nicole, made all efforts to provide everythings to us. From airport transfer to car rental confirmation. We feel like we were at home! The room are very cozy and confy. The breakfast are quite delicious!!!
It is located about 8 minutes walk from the main square. But there's no way to get lost, since Nicole provide a "unique" tecnique of orientation!!!
I totally recomend!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently stayed here for a romantic getaway and we couldn't fault it. It is based in the old Medina and is a lovely small house with a friendly and welcoming owner and house manager. Arranged us day trips with no hassle at all. Great brekkie up on the roof terrace looking out to the medina. It is a 15minute walk to the main square and yes it is through the souks and small streets, but this is what Marrakech is all about. We went to experience culture and real life and this is what we got, no hassle at all. Overall a great stay, close to a taxi rank, great street food, restaurants close by, amazing value for money and our room was red and romantic!! Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Book the red room - the rooms are all quirky and in true Morocco style!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I found hotel neighbourhood quite rough and dengerous.It's far away from the main square and you can easly get lost. My advice: when it gets dark go out only if you are in a big group. We had lots of trouble. Local people were constantly asking for money. When we were ignoring them they were shouting, swearing and even trying to pull us in some dark, little streets. I felt threaten and seriously scared. If I new I would have booked something closer to the main square. During the day it was fine, no problems at all. Owner of the place was very nice and helpful, she speaks very good english and you can trust her with organising trips and transfer. Rooms are very small and dark as there is no window but were cleaned every day and towels were changed. A little bit too gloomy, cold and damp for me. We ordered 2 sets of menu for dinner and we got far too much food. Shame they didn't inform us that 1 set is enough for 2 people as it wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#411 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layla Rouge
Riad Layla Rouge
#233 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kasbah Chwiter
Kasbah Chwiter
#701 of 1,135 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Picolina
Riad Picolina
#577 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Naya
Riad Naya
#457 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad du Bonheur
Riad du Bonheur
#559 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #727 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.