We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true taste of Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Salam to your Saves list
Dar Salam
Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #780 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A true taste of Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Recently stayed here for a romantic getaway and we couldn't fault it. It is based in the old Medina and is a lovely small house with a friendly and welcoming owner and house manager. Arranged us day trips with no hassle at all. Great brekkie up on the roof terrace looking out to the medina. It is a 15minute walk to the main square and yes it is through the souks and small streets, but this is what Marrakech is all about. We went to experience culture and real life and this is what we got, no hassle at all. Overall a great stay, close to a taxi rank, great street food, restaurants close by, amazing value for money and our room was red and romantic!! Would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: Book the red room - the rooms are all quirky and in true Morocco style!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    9
    10
    14
See reviews for
6
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I found hotel neighbourhood quite rough and dengerous.It's far away from the main square and you can easly get lost. My advice: when it gets dark go out only if you are in a big group. We had lots of trouble. Local people were constantly asking for money. When we were ignoring them they were shouting, swearing and even trying to pull us in some dark, little streets. I felt threaten and seriously scared. If I new I would have booked something closer to the main square. During the day it was fine, no problems at all. Owner of the place was very nice and helpful, she speaks very good english and you can trust her with organising trips and transfer. Rooms are very small and dark as there is no window but were cleaned every day and towels were changed. A little bit too gloomy, cold and damp for me. We ordered 2 sets of menu for dinner and we got far too much food. Shame they didn't inform us that 1 set is enough for 2 people as it wasn't cheap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Having booked on the strength of the reviews I was disappointed with my stay.
The welcome was very friendly and I was given tea on the terrace.
However my room didn't live up to expectations' it was dark and gloomy, the bed was very hard. There was no extractor in the adjoining bathroom making the bedroom smelling musty.
The Riad is in a very chaotic area of town and was a bit bewildering at first.
I left early before breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Dar Salam is a sanctuary of comfort and security. You couldn't ask for a warmer welcome or a more attentive and gracious hostess. Her cooking is excellent and she presents the meal with a great deal of pride and care. She will go out of her way to help you. The place is very quiet. The beds are very comfortable and warm and the shower has good water pressure. Wifi signal is very good. The location is good - you can easily walk everywhere, only 10 minutes to the souks, and 15 to Jemaa al Fna.
Some Hot Tips:
- have some small change on you when you arrive at the airport for the toilet 'attendant'
- the transfer from the airport is paid for by the hotel so don't give the driver any money, even if he asks for it (which he probably will)
- in December the contrast in temperature between night and day is quite big, so have extra layers to put on in the evening, or in the cool of the building interiors, but be prepared for strong heat out in the open
- get hold of some small change as soon as you can (e.g. buy water at the shop with a large note) so that you have more flexibility when it comes to toilets (1dh) and touts (10 dh), and to placate the many, many outstretched hands you will encounter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

a very nice riad. we stayed for 1 night because the owner helped us out with problems we had in the riad jddi. we had a very dirty room and she let us stay without any charges been made until the roomin the other riad was clean enough to stay in.
as soon as you come in, you feel like coming home. the staff is very polite and friendly. the room and the rest of the riad is very clean. the smell of fresh baked bread in the morning when you have your breakfast on their terrace. we will come back to marrakech and we will stay in this riad. what a different start we would have if we started our holidays in dar salam.
thanks for all your kindness and help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Considering the low price we had a good stay, nothing was dirty or broken and that's rare in Morocco. The lady of the house was nice and helpful, breakfast was okay, no different then I've seen across Morocco. We liked our room, nicely decorated and had a good night sleep, no noisy things. Water was hot most days, one time it was not that hot because we went last i guess.. no problem though.

The neighborhood was okay, had no troubles whatsoever but it is a poor area i think.

We had a good stay and if your a budget traveler like me i would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meiringen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have spent 4 nights in Dar Salam 2 (next to Dar Salam, belongs to same owner). As it was already written, the rooms on the roof aren't real rooms, but some kind of tents. It was pretty cold in january, the small heating wasn't really a big help. The only great thing was beautiful terrace, what a pity, I couldn't share it with my friends, because the owner wasn't OK with that (I really would love to point out, that we weren't loud at all, the owner had just problems with my friends, local girls, what's in my opinion pretty racist; the european tourists (even guys) would be welcomed)!!
My room wasn't cleaned all those 4 days. The reasons given were that the second key of my room was lost. Location is really in a very poor part of Medina, by walking to my place I was asked many times to buy some drugs, etc. Anyway, it's about 20 minutes walking from Djema el-Fna.
The most disappointing thing was, that I forgot my shoes on this place. I had travelled 2 weeks in Morocco, so I emailed the owner to get my shoes back. She answered that she lets me know after asking the housekeeping, but it didn't happen anymore. I went to this place, but somehow I've got the feeling, that I am no more welcomed and that noone really wants talking to me about it.
I have seen many places in Morocco, stayed in many Rijads or Hotels and believe me, for this price you can surely can something much better!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #780 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.