We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Salam to your Saves list
Dar Salam
Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #727 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Dar Salam is a sanctuary of comfort and security. You couldn't ask for a warmer welcome or a more attentive and gracious hostess. Her cooking is excellent and she presents the meal with a great deal of pride and care. She will go out of her way to help you. The place is very quiet. The beds are very comfortable and warm and the shower has good water pressure. Wifi signal is very good. The location is good - you can easily walk everywhere, only 10 minutes to the souks, and 15 to Jemaa al Fna.
Some Hot Tips:
- have some small change on you when you arrive at the airport for the toilet 'attendant'
- the transfer from the airport is paid for by the hotel so don't give the driver any money, even if he asks for it (which he probably will)
- in December the contrast in temperature between night and day is quite big, so have extra layers to put on in the evening, or in the cool of the building interiors, but be prepared for strong heat out in the open
- get hold of some small change as soon as you can (e.g. buy water at the shop with a large note) so that you have more flexibility when it comes to toilets (1dh) and touts (10 dh), and to placate the many, many outstretched hands you will encounter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    11
    11
    14
See reviews for
6
42
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altea, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

a very nice riad. we stayed for 1 night because the owner helped us out with problems we had in the riad jddi. we had a very dirty room and she let us stay without any charges been made until the roomin the other riad was clean enough to stay in.
as soon as you come in, you feel like coming home. the staff is very polite and friendly. the room and the rest of the riad is very clean. the smell of fresh baked bread in the morning when you have your breakfast on their terrace. we will come back to marrakech and we will stay in this riad. what a different start we would have if we started our holidays in dar salam.
thanks for all your kindness and help

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Considering the low price we had a good stay, nothing was dirty or broken and that's rare in Morocco. The lady of the house was nice and helpful, breakfast was okay, no different then I've seen across Morocco. We liked our room, nicely decorated and had a good night sleep, no noisy things. Water was hot most days, one time it was not that hot because we went last i guess.. no problem though.

The neighborhood was okay, had no troubles whatsoever but it is a poor area i think.

We had a good stay and if your a budget traveler like me i would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meiringen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have spent 4 nights in Dar Salam 2 (next to Dar Salam, belongs to same owner). As it was already written, the rooms on the roof aren't real rooms, but some kind of tents. It was pretty cold in january, the small heating wasn't really a big help. The only great thing was beautiful terrace, what a pity, I couldn't share it with my friends, because the owner wasn't OK with that (I really would love to point out, that we weren't loud at all, the owner had just problems with my friends, local girls, what's in my opinion pretty racist; the european tourists (even guys) would be welcomed)!!
My room wasn't cleaned all those 4 days. The reasons given were that the second key of my room was lost. Location is really in a very poor part of Medina, by walking to my place I was asked many times to buy some drugs, etc. Anyway, it's about 20 minutes walking from Djema el-Fna.
The most disappointing thing was, that I forgot my shoes on this place. I had travelled 2 weeks in Morocco, so I emailed the owner to get my shoes back. She answered that she lets me know after asking the housekeeping, but it didn't happen anymore. I went to this place, but somehow I've got the feeling, that I am no more welcomed and that noone really wants talking to me about it.
I have seen many places in Morocco, stayed in many Rijads or Hotels and believe me, for this price you can surely can something much better!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The owner is very friendly and helpful (by far the best we met in Morocco). We had two rooms that just were built on the roof with a nice terrace, although chilly without the heater switched on. About 20 min from the central square and 10 from the main souks through varied Medina area. At one of the main streets. This is noisy during the day, but didn't affect our sleep during the night. You clearly hear the call for prayers and the roosters in the early morning, but that adds to the atmosphere (and probably is heard anywhere in the Medina). Average breakfast. Can be reached by car for baggage dropoff. The nearest good parking is 700m away.

Room Tip: Just check them out. The new rooms on the roof may be hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were so lucky, it's a nice place ! .
The staff are very freindly ,efficient and pleasant in particularly the owner and manager Sobha . The rooms are very warm and clean .
Sobha is a great cooker so if you have never tried the moroccan gastronomie it's the time !!!
You won't be disappointed .
Very helpful, always available 24/24 hours .
If you are looking for authenticity, charm, kindness and good food, then go to the Dar Salam....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espagne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

this is not a real riad only a housse 30 mn walking to the square and not save, the owner is a woman who lives there, she is not bad but her childrens are very rud to peaple and not polite, i have never heard hello from them during my stay one of them keep looking terribly foward me ,the room i have had was small and durty ,poor breakfast...... DONT GO THERE,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #727 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.