We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better go to another place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Save Saved
You added Dar Salam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Salam
Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #767 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Meiringen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better go to another place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I have spent 4 nights in Dar Salam 2 (next to Dar Salam, belongs to same owner). As it was already written, the rooms on the roof aren't real rooms, but some kind of tents. It was pretty cold in january, the small heating wasn't really a big help. The only great thing was beautiful terrace, what a pity, I couldn't share it with my friends, because the owner wasn't OK with that (I really would love to point out, that we weren't loud at all, the owner had just problems with my friends, local girls, what's in my opinion pretty racist; the european tourists (even guys) would be welcomed)!!
My room wasn't cleaned all those 4 days. The reasons given were that the second key of my room was lost. Location is really in a very poor part of Medina, by walking to my place I was asked many times to buy some drugs, etc. Anyway, it's about 20 minutes walking from Djema el-Fna.
The most disappointing thing was, that I forgot my shoes on this place. I had travelled 2 weeks in Morocco, so I emailed the owner to get my shoes back. She answered that she lets me know after asking the housekeeping, but it didn't happen anymore. I went to this place, but somehow I've got the feeling, that I am no more welcomed and that noone really wants talking to me about it.
I have seen many places in Morocco, stayed in many Rijads or Hotels and believe me, for this price you can surely can something much better!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    9
    9
    14
See reviews for
6
34
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

The owner is very friendly and helpful (by far the best we met in Morocco). We had two rooms that just were built on the roof with a nice terrace, although chilly without the heater switched on. About 20 min from the central square and 10 from the main souks through varied Medina area. At one of the main streets. This is noisy during the day, but didn't affect our sleep during the night. You clearly hear the call for prayers and the roosters in the early morning, but that adds to the atmosphere (and probably is heard anywhere in the Medina). Average breakfast. Can be reached by car for baggage dropoff. The nearest good parking is 700m away.

Room Tip: Just check them out. The new rooms on the roof may be hot in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were so lucky, it's a nice place ! .
The staff are very freindly ,efficient and pleasant in particularly the owner and manager Sobha . The rooms are very warm and clean .
Sobha is a great cooker so if you have never tried the moroccan gastronomie it's the time !!!
You won't be disappointed .
Very helpful, always available 24/24 hours .
If you are looking for authenticity, charm, kindness and good food, then go to the Dar Salam....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espagne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

this is not a real riad only a housse 30 mn walking to the square and not save, the owner is a woman who lives there, she is not bad but her childrens are very rud to peaple and not polite, i have never heard hello from them during my stay one of them keep looking terribly foward me ,the room i have had was small and durty ,poor breakfast...... DONT GO THERE,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

With Familiar Owner Sobha - very competent, soooo may languages She speaking! spanish, italian, enlglish, franse - Mamma Mia!
Very Friendly hose small, family riad :)
Will come probably to the End of time if thay still will have a place for me :)!
See you in March !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed in this riad for 5days, and i found the welcome very warm. the room was decorated in the traditional colours of morocco, and was clean . I have read other reviews about bed bugs and didnt encounter this at all. The staff were very helpful and nothing i asked or wanted was any trouble to them. I found my stay at Dar Salam very comfortable and pleasant. Also i would just like to add; this is a desert country and dust is in the air at all times , so if your room gets cleaned in the morning as it does, by the evening it will appear dusty, this is something that cannot be helped. Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as i did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Got bitten all over and although poilte and apologetic, one member of staff tried to claim that it was mosquitos. When I told the owner he barely registered any reaction.

Breakfast consisted of stale bread and watered down jam (v difficult in marrakech as there is fresh bread in every shop!). Eating in the morning was like being in a doctor's waiting room, silent and sullen.

Very disappointed as I had high hopes from the website and photos.

(I'm the kind of person who reads tripadvisor and ignores one or two bad reviews if they are outweighed by more good ones - I wish I hadn't done this this time, especially the review that warned me about bed bugs!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #767 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.