We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Salam

Save Saved
You added Dar Salam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Salam
Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #766 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very lovely riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We were so lucky, it's a nice place ! .
The staff are very freindly ,efficient and pleasant in particularly the owner and manager Sobha . The rooms are very warm and clean .
Sobha is a great cooker so if you have never tried the moroccan gastronomie it's the time !!!
You won't be disappointed .
Very helpful, always available 24/24 hours .
If you are looking for authenticity, charm, kindness and good food, then go to the Dar Salam....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    8
    9
    13
See reviews for
5
32
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
espagne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

this is not a real riad only a housse 30 mn walking to the square and not save, the owner is a woman who lives there, she is not bad but her childrens are very rud to peaple and not polite, i have never heard hello from them during my stay one of them keep looking terribly foward me ,the room i have had was small and durty ,poor breakfast...... DONT GO THERE,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

With Familiar Owner Sobha - very competent, soooo may languages She speaking! spanish, italian, enlglish, franse - Mamma Mia!
Very Friendly hose small, family riad :)
Will come probably to the End of time if thay still will have a place for me :)!
See you in March !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I stayed in this riad for 5days, and i found the welcome very warm. the room was decorated in the traditional colours of morocco, and was clean . I have read other reviews about bed bugs and didnt encounter this at all. The staff were very helpful and nothing i asked or wanted was any trouble to them. I found my stay at Dar Salam very comfortable and pleasant. Also i would just like to add; this is a desert country and dust is in the air at all times , so if your room gets cleaned in the morning as it does, by the evening it will appear dusty, this is something that cannot be helped. Hope you enjoy your stay there as much as i did.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Got bitten all over and although poilte and apologetic, one member of staff tried to claim that it was mosquitos. When I told the owner he barely registered any reaction.

Breakfast consisted of stale bread and watered down jam (v difficult in marrakech as there is fresh bread in every shop!). Eating in the morning was like being in a doctor's waiting room, silent and sullen.

Very disappointed as I had high hopes from the website and photos.

(I'm the kind of person who reads tripadvisor and ignores one or two bad reviews if they are outweighed by more good ones - I wish I hadn't done this this time, especially the review that warned me about bed bugs!)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We stayed there for 2 days, staff and manager are freindly, but the rooms are so dusty and wet and unclean, it seems that nobody looking after them(poor management), it is also in the rough side of the Medine, which is noisy and far away from city center(jemal-el Fena Squre). Beds had insect that did bite my sister very badly that for the whole week she was scraching herself (ichy) and it ruined her holiday. Even in our bed, it was black bits of something like Rat or insects.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Most important is the Family who is holding this friandly Riad. Traditional style But Modern - Very Good Marrakshy B&B Solotion. For me it is imposible to stay in big, romoros buildings - I love this place And I love this Family and Chear Man Mohamad who is allways on place! Safe and Easy

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sobha the mistress of the places and her team will accommodate you with the ryad and they are has your provision to satisfy your needs and to offer the best service to youIts Seven rooms make a privileged place of it and family......The mistress of the lieux.marocaine will make you discover the culture, the traditions and especially the kitchen of her country (it is a cordon bleu truth!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.