We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sanctuary right beside the Jemaa El Fna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dar Ganou

Save Saved
You added Ryad Dar Ganou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad Dar Ganou
3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A sanctuary right beside the Jemaa El Fna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Arriving in Marrakesh at dusk can feel a little overwhelming, but not if you are guided every step of the way. Our welcome by the Riad Dar Ganou and its owners, Véronique and Jean-Marc, began at the airport. A driver was there to meet us with a sign, even though our flight was early. He drove us into town and Véronique was waiting for us in the street with a baggage handler for our suitcases. She saw us safely through the winding streets to the riad. This place is right next to the Jemaa El Fna, and once you are shown the way in, it is very easy to find.

Dar Ganou is a beautiful, quiet, sanctuary complete with a turquoise reflecting pool and a huge healthy tree in the middle of the ground floor living area. It has a hip, laid-back style that is relaxing and reflects the overall ease of this riad and its owners. Our room was pretty, well appointed, immaculate and comfortable. The staff members were gentle, competent and welcoming. I had asked for extra pillows and they were there, I didn’t have to ask again. We were greeted by smiles and tea and almonds when we arrived. My friend, who had not eaten that day, was offered a tray of tempting snacks brought to our room without having been requested, nor were we charged for this food. I have never experienced this kind of service in a small hotel. It was outstanding.

We had been told to buy our Supra Tour bus tickets to Essaouira a day in advance but had problems ordering them on the internet before we left England, and Véronique offered to buy them for us, which she did. After a few days in Essaouira we decided to leave a day early to spend an extra night in Marrakesh. Although Dar Ganou was full-up for the night we wanted, Véronique found us a lovely room for the same price in a riad that was right next door. The following morning we moved with no trouble back to Dar Ganou for our last night. Véronique gave us tips and suggestions on what to pay the caleche drivers for our tour around town, what to see, and where to eat. She also helped me with my French which I greatly appreciated.

Because we had a morning flight on our last day, Véronique and Jean-Marc served us an early breakfast on the terrace where I looked out over the Jemaa El Fna, and hated to leave. The breakfasts at Dar Ganou are generous, delicious and varied compared to the simple one we had four mornings in a row in the Essaouira riad.

Dar Ganou is a charming riad that can be highly recommended. What makes this place so very special is the quality of hospitality, kindness and generosity extended so full-heartedly by Véronique and Jean-Marc, and the gentle people who work for them. This kind of hospitality and authenticity are rare and I could not have asked for more. These are the kind of folk you would want to call friends. Thank you so much for everything Véronique et Jean-Marc! I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The ryad is located just 3 minutes walk away from the main plaza, and 2 minutes away from where taxis can drop you off. The owner Véronique will come with her dog Shwya to pick you up and bring you to the ryad.

The service is excellent. Véronique can help you in your every need while in Marrakech, and most often she will bring you to where you want to go, just to make sure you find your way!

There is a family atmosphere. Guests can sit together and chat next to the small "pool", while the hosts join you. There is a roof top balcony with great views.

Breakfast is great! Lots of varieties and very generous quantity. The staff are very friendly.

Great place to stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in the room Remla (sable), located on the ground floor. The windows can't open and ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My stay at Ryad Dar Ganou was in honour of my hen party, 6 of us (from the UK) travelled and stayed there together. We had the entire Ryad to ourselves and we were blown away by the service, friendliness and extra mile Veronique, Marc, Mohammed and Noel were prepared to go to in order to ensure our comfort. No request for help or information was too big or small.

Veronique organised reasonably priced activities for us that we were keen to experience and took us into the Medina on our first day to show us the square, souks, cash machines, bureau de change, good places to eat in the square and the way back to the Ryad.

Marc took us off the beaten track to a village that makes many of the items you can find in the souks, he looked after us all well and had a brilliant sense of humour.

Mohammed was always willing to help and offer his service with a friendly smile and gave us information about places to visit in Gueliz when we fancied a night out.

Noel took special care when cleaning and tidying our rooms, each day the bed was laid in a new refreshing yet ornate style.

Veronique and Marc's little dog was really cute and friendly.

The Ryad location is perfect as we were right in the centre of the Medina so very close to the souks, the square, the Marrakesh Koutoubia Mosque, taxi ranks, bureau de change, cash machines and a 20 - 30min walk from Gueliz where you get to see the Medina wall from the other side. Yet when you close the door to the Ryad you are in a tranquil peaceful environment - just perfect after a day in the vibrant souks and intense Medina.

When we left Marc took all our bags to the taxi rank for us and both Veronique and Marc came to wave us off as we left to return home. It was such a lovely touch and felt so sad to say goodbye to them.

I will definitely go back to Marrakesh and for me there will only ever be one place to stay here - Ryad Dar Ganou.

Thank you again Veronique, Marc, Mohammed and Noel and bless you all!

Room Tip: All the rooms at this Ryad had their own quirky styles, were equally furnished, peaceful, comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I recently stayed with Veronique and Jean-Marc at this Ryad and found them to be the most accommodating hosts I have ever experienced. No request or task was too much trouble. They had a wealth of information about where to get the best deals and also had no problem booking trips for us and taking us to out of the way places that we would never have seen had it not been for them. The terrace provided a beautiful retreat from the madness of the main square and souks and it was like an oasis in the heart of Marrakech. We were waited on hand and foot and Mohammed was there to make sure we had all we needed.

The ryad is very centrally located which allows easy access to the main shopping area and very close proximity to the taxis and transport to other places. The standard within the ryad is very high, clean and comfortable rooms, comfortable living room where the fire was lit for us in the evenings and any drink we required was sought and provided......truly excellent.......!! We ate in on 2 out of our 4 nights there and the food was really amazing and beautifully presented. It represented very good value for money at £15 per head for a 3 course meal.

Thank you Veronique and Jean-marc for making this trip to Marrakech a wonderful experience, you guys are truly the hosts with the most.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

After coming through the front door, the hustle and bustle of the main square is left behind, and a tranquil courtyard awaits. The rooms are beautifully decorated, and comfortable. Our hosts were amazing - from Veronique calling ahead to arrange us a traditional hammam, and Jean Marc walking with us there - so we didn't get lost. We felt completely taken care of, Mohammed was always at hand with drinks on the terrace and nuts and olives to nibble on. Noel made up the rooms every morning - and even arranged my pajamas into a butterfly! We stayed in one evening to eat at the Ryad, and the food was amazing, so we planned another night of eating in! Nothing was too much trouble. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The location was perfect, very close to the center, and where we wanted to be, for shopping and exploring.
Thank you again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

This Ryad was a tranquil haven to come back to after the madness of the souks. The owners and staff are amazingly friendly, going out of their way to make sure you feel at home and your every need is taken care of.

The service and cleanliness is brilliant and the food was so good.

Easy to get to the main square and to taxis if you want to go further a field.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Veronique and Jean Marc are perfect hosts. Myself and six friends recently had the pleasure of staying at Ryad Dar Ganou. We were waited on hand and foot with such care and attention. I would highly recommend this Ryad, and will be doing my best to arrange repeat visits.

I have travelled far and wide and stayed in many fancy 5 star hotels right down to beach shacks, and have never experienced such a warm welcome atmosphere and such dedicated hosts.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Dar Ganou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Ganou

Address: 3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true guest house ideally located in Médina !At 2 minutes of the famous Jemâa-el-Fna place and Minaret of Koutoubia.It's in the district El ksour (ksour plural of ksar which wants to say palace) that this charming ryad.Its ideal site with 2 mn with feet of the place Jemaa el fna and Koutoubia, will enable you to benefit from l' environment of the souks and l' agitation of the place, but also of l' attraction of the European district of Guéliz (10 mn with feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Ryad Dar Ganou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Dar Ganou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.