We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect oasis with the perfect Hosts!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Dar Ganou

Save Saved
You added Ryad Dar Ganou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ryad Dar Ganou
3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
gold coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a perfect oasis with the perfect Hosts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Well what an experience!! When you arrive at the airport the heat hits you and confusion reigns!!! Everybody wants to take you somewhere?? We luckily contacted the beautiful Veronique our hostess before our arrival, and organised for a transfer. The was the "sign" and into an air conditioned cab we went and made our way to the outskirts of the El F'nar square. Chaos rules here. A cart appeared out of nowhere and our luggage was loaded in and on and into the square we proceeded, through the alleys, past the multitudes of cats and camels and donkeys and eventually reaching the door of our Ryad. Once entering we enjoyed an oasis of peace and tranquility. We were in the traditional cool and shady courtyard beside the ample plunge pool and before long were sipping mint tea and getting to know our hosts. A lovely french couple that we loved straight away. Though there was slight language barrier a glass of wine can solve everything and soon we were chattering. The rooms were in classic Marrakesh style, immaculately clean (trust me I am fussy) full of beautiful pictures and traditional Moroccan arts and crafts Veronique and Jean Marc could not have been more helpful and considerate. Sorting our washing issues, taking us shopping, arranging tours and even a local Ham-man experience for my husband and my daughter and myself. All together?? You have to be a close family!! They even cooked us a beautiful meal one night and joined us. A night we thoroughly enjoyed!! The market bustled and there was ever an assortment of people selling you something from shoes to spices to copious amounts of dubious food. Sometimes a little pushy we felt sometimes that as tourists they only saw us as "wallets on legs" I still managed to take home a rug and assortment of beautiful dishes and textiles. Jean Marc and Veronique and their beautiful little dog made our stay in Marrakesh truly something to remember and if you are interested in a taste of the true Marrakesh with a lots of comfort and good service this is the place to go. I cannot recommend it more!!!
We will be back not because we want to see Marrakesh but because we want another taste of what Veronique and Jean Marc offer!!!

Room Tip: They are all lovely and have a balcony to sit on and enjoy the peace!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
82
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very cozy small place with amazing location in Medina. Service is excellent, if you want, can ask to prepare breakfast or dinner and this gives feeling as you are home, what is fantastic. Best balance between quality and price. Owners is so friendly that you have feeling that they are your best friends already long time

Room Tip: Limoune for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a 8 days trip through Morroco and stayed in many places but Dar Ganou was by far the most enjoyable place to stay - very clean and well decorated, great hosts, wi-fi, breakfast at its best - and not forget the pool which complete our days. Highly recommended from all point of views!

Thank you Veronique and Jean Marque and congratulations for such a lovely place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Three of my friends and I stayed at Dar Ganou during July 2013 and I just had to confess that we loved this place from the first moment. The conditions are excellent there, and here I refer to hosts, rooms, food, location (very close to center - Jemaa el Fna square - 150 m) and the general atmosphere. We enjoyed a lot the interior courtyard with pool and we also could listen music at night (the living room is directly connected with interior courtyard), even it was the Ramadan at that time. The ryad consists of two stories and there is also a terrace on the roof, where we could enjoyed the urban environment at night.
The rooms are impeccable, decorated in arabic style (air-conditioning, bathroom, they are opened to the interior courtyard). The breakfast is in the same style (a loot of tea, milk, coffee, fruits, cakes), all of the food in very nice arabic tableware (you will not forget it :D).
I also want to thank Veronique and Jean-Marque (the hosts), because they helped us a lot in difficult moments (we found out from them the right prices for market - because in Marroco, generally, you have to negociate everything :D, they helped us to go to desert by an organised trip). Veronique also has a very cute dog that will make your holiday a complete one :D.
I just want to mention that, if you're for the frist time in Marroco, it will be a little difficult to find the ryad (at least, this was our situation), because it is placed, as all the ryads and hotels in Marroco, in the very narrow streets, that's why it is better to contact the host before coming.

Have a nice holiday at Dar Ganou!

PS: Kind regards from Romania (Andra, George, Ion & Raluca). Mersi beaucoup pour tout Veronique and Jean-Marque!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Dar Ganou during July 2013 and couldn't have asked for a better spot. The Riad itself is boutique beautiful and run by two wonderful and very accommodating hosts. We were less than 2mins from Jemaa el Fna square which hosts amazing markets and food stalls. The beauty of the location is not only the quick walk and being inside the medina but also the fact that the Riad is very peaceful and quiet, great to have a break from the busy atmosphere of the markets.

Breakfast was delicious and the opportunity to have it on the rooftop looking out to various mosques was a treat. Our room was clean, air conditioned and Moroccan authentic.

Thank you to Veronique and her wonderful staff, we had an amazing time all thanks to your team!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I spent a week in Marrakech staying at Ryad Dar Ganou with occasional day trips to nearby attractions.

The moment we stepped inside the riad we felt like finding an oasis of tranquility in the bustling city – everything was quiet and peaceful. Its interior courtyard and roof terrace were the perfect places for spending some relaxing time reading a book while sipping some tea or coffee. The riad also has a small swimming pool where one can cool off during the hot Moroccan afternoons.

But what we liked most about Dar Ganou was the friendly atmosphere surrounding both the hosts and other travelers at the riad. If you are the social type, you may always join some interesting conversation, share stories and travel advice and maybe have some drinks with other people in the courtyard. Also, the hosts helped us gain some insights of Marrakech and they were even available to show us around a bit on our first day and teach us how to negotiate with taxi drivers. :-)

All in all, our experience at Ryad Dar Ganou was what we believe travelling is all about - exploring new places and cultures while also meeting interesting people and maybe even make some new friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Honda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This ryad was clean, beautiful, and provided tranquility from the bustle of the square and the medina. The service was fantastic and there was obviously a lot of thought and care put into every detail. We were greeted with the traditional tea and sweets, and every breakfast we had on the terrace tasted fresh and absolutely delicious. Veronique, JMarc, and their staff were very sweet, helpful, and welcoming. They treated us like family, it felt like we were staying in a friend's lovely home. We only wish that we spoke more French, so that we could better converse with the owners and staff. If we are ever back in Marrakech, we are definitely coming back to Dar Ganou.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ryad Dar Ganou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Ganou

Address: 3, derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true guest house ideally located in Médina !At 2 minutes of the famous Jemâa-el-Fna place and Minaret of Koutoubia.It's in the district El ksour (ksour plural of ksar which wants to say palace) that this charming ryad.Its ideal site with 2 mn with feet of the place Jemaa el fna and Koutoubia, will enable you to benefit from l' environment of the souks and l' agitation of the place, but also of l' attraction of the European district of Guéliz (10 mn with feet). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Ryad Dar Ganou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Dar Ganou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.