We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kalila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Kalila to your Saves list
Riad Kalila
Derb Snane no 65 et 66 | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #450 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Although we were supposed to be picked up at the airoport, nobody showed up. We had to organise our own taxi to get to the riad within the medina, where actually no car has access to in the evening.... We finally made it to the riad late in the night, thank god i had writen the phone nr. with me... The owner of the riad told me that she had no received my reservation per mail. I was then double so surprised to find out, as I asked to get the bill the day before departure, that she had already debited my credit card BEFORE OUR ARRIVAL, for the 7 nights we had reserved, even though she had mentioned that she thought we were going to come at all. I was not supposed to pay for the bill myself, and she never ever mentionned that she had already charged it for the full amount before our arrival. Guess my parents have to pay me back now! Fairly unprofessional, I was shocked!
The riad is well located, at night it can be loud though. Everything is rather dirty and unkept, the coffee pot needs a scrub, the towels are not washed if you leave them on the bathroom floor, but simply dried out on the roof and set back in the bathroom.
No access to any TV room, no coffee or tea during the day. If you want a second coffee for breakfast, you have to ask for it. Breakfast is fairly poor, no fruit or yogourt. Just bread, one piece each.
I can only recommend this Riad for tourists who want to stay at a well located hotel, and who have low expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the Riad Kalila for 3 nights to celebrate my mother's 80th birthday and thought it was absolutely wonderful. Centrally located, quiet, clean, plenty of hot water, a lovely rooftop terrace and Joelle who owns and runs the Riad couldn't have been more genial or gracious. She arranged taxis for us and even a cake and champagne for my mother - and the meals we had at the Riad were superb. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: The double room at the end of the balcony on the 1st floor has one side of the bed against the wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Just a few minutes away from the madly busy Jemaa el-Fna square and within the old medina, Riad Kalila was truly a little haven of peace and tranquillity, with clean, comfortable rooms and a lovely top terrace from which we could see the town while hearing the bird song. The proprietor Joelle was very accomodating and helpful, ensuring our stay was pleasant and relaxing as well as giving us practical advice on where to go and how best to get there - she even gave us some interesting historical insight of the city! We stayed there two nights while visiting the souks and negotiating our purchases by day. We then went on a desert tour for four days and returned for one more day of relaxation at a little oasis in Marrakech - Kalila- before returning home J & F (UK).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pavia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We spent four nights here, which was really well located both for the medina and for access to Gueliz. On arrival we had organised to have lunch and on our last night also booked a dinner at the riad, which I would totally recommend as being both good value and delicious! The rooms were clean and very comfortable, the bathrooms were great, especially the hot showers after walking around the souk for hours!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Riad Kalila is a great place to stay in Marrakech. We stayed here in July 2008, the Riad is in a great location within the Medina, a residential area that is nice and quite and is only 5 mins walk to the main square. We stayed in the Croix du Sud room which was located just off the roof terrace. The room was really lovely and clean with air conditioning which you really need in Marrakech in July where average temperature are 35-40oC! The breakfast given in the mornings was very tasty and a great start to the day which was served up on the lovely roof terrace that has great views over the Medina. We also had dinner at the Riad which was beautifully prepared by Joelle, the owner and was very tasty. Joelle was also very accommodating when we had to leave early for a tour to the Sahara, she got up to give us breakfast and let us leave our bags when we were away for 3 days. She also organised us an early taxi to the airport on the day of our departure which was a great help. All in all we highly recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Riad Kalila is a quiet and beautifully-adorned oasis set amidst the chaos and bustle of the Red City. My friend and I stayed at the terrace room (croix de sud, one night) and the two twin-beds room (chant de dune, four nights), and found both rooms to be comfortable and cozy (note: no bathroom doors!). Joelle, the owner/host, goes above and beyond in making sure that your stay in Marrakech and in Riad Kalila is a happy and memorable one. From arranging a private taxi to Essaouira, preparing our earlier-than-usual breakfasts (usually at 9 AM but because of our travel itinerary, we had to take our meals by 8-8:15), to providing us with two authentic homecooked Moroccan meals (dinner on request), she was definitely our go-to-person for the five days we were there. The Riad is set in a quiet street (no cars allowed) and is about five-minute walk to Djemma El Fna and the souks. From the terrace, you can see the Koutoubia mosque and take a peek on surrounding properties to see how the locals live. Should you need information about the nearby sights, there's plenty of travel literature provided for guests in the entrance hall. Please note that there are no elevators, so pack lightly or just be prepared to tackle a narrow, winding staircase.

  • Liked — The atmosphere, location, and the staff
  • Disliked — Tricky to find at first, stairs (because of our heavy bags)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2007

I've never posted a review on a web site before, but we recently returned from a 5 day trip to Morocco, where we stayed at Riad Kalila in Marrakesh - the place was so fantastic I thought it was worth jumping on line and sharing the secret!
Very good value, great location, gorgeous decor and the owner Joelle is a lovely French lady who made us feel right at home.
We were a little nervous before we got there as there was not much information on the web to read, but soon realised that's because the Riad has only been open for less than a year - no doubt as word spreads around this will be known as the place to stay!

  • Liked — Location, staff and atmosphere
  • Disliked — No door to bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kalila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalila

Address: Derb Snane no 65 et 66 | Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kalila guests House offers the opportunity to pass from europe into the north African word in an atmosphere of tranquil confort and refinement. Upon entering through the door of the riad Kalila, visitors find themselves without a light ans spacious garden and couryard complete wiyh fountain, a feature typical of many of the finest traditional arab and north african homes and palaces. Visitors will quickly find that those features lend the interior an atmosphere so calm and peaceful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kalila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kalila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.