We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Saba

Save Saved
You added Riad Saba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Saba
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off until October 1st
Ranked #36 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Family stay in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

New Years this year was an extraordinary event. Myself, my husband and our two sons (8 and 5 years old) spent it at the delightful Riad Saba together with the other guests, mostly families with older children, and the hosts Maria and Jabrane as well as the Moroccon staff living and or working there. A perfect end to our 5 day stay in Marrakech after Christmas. I would recommend Riad Saba to anyone who wants to explore the old city of Marrakech and possibly combine it with a bit of adventure as Maria Sebnat, the host, is also very helpful in tailor making your trip to your interests and needs. She had arranged for us to be picked up from the airport and taken to the desert camp Scarabeo, less than an our from Marrakech, where we spent one night in a fairy tale landscape far away from the bustling market of Jma el Fna. The tents were certainly de luxe style and the tagines that our Morrockan hosts made for us to die for. A great experience for the whole family. Maria had also organised a day trip to the highlands of the Atlas Mountains with lots of climbing and play for the kids. Marrakech and Riad Saba was the perfect place for us to get some sun and rest in the middle of winter.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you for you kind words!
It was such a pleasure having you and your family over new year!

We wish you a wonderful year and happy travelling!
Best regards
Riad Saba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
97
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Riad Saba is located quite centrally to the old town. We found it an easy walk to both the main square (Fna) and the Bahia palace. There are also a few neat museums nearby.

As I guess is the point of a riad, as you enter the guesthouse you step out of dusty, noisy chaos of the city and into a place of tranquility. It was always an extreme relief to pass through the doors!

The rooms are larger than I expected, and all have an en suite (shower only, as water is in short supply in Marrakech). A small roof terrace offers a pleasant place to sit in the warm and read a book, and if it gets too hot there's a good sized living room on the ground floor too. I couldn't fault the accommodation.

Breakfast is a fruit salad, yogurt, a selection of breads, apricot jams, some chive and garlic cream cheese and (on most days) some fried egg. This was just what we needed to set us up for the day, but might become rather repetitive had we stayed a whole week. Coffee comes on demand, which is ideal! We took breakfast on the roof terrace when it was dry, and in the courtyard when raining.

We also tried dining in the riad one evening, and it was actually the best food we had in the whole holiday (beating Tobsil and Pepenero for taste and atmosphere). It was also really relaxing to dine in the charming courtyard, and the gentleman serving us had a great sense of humour and warmth even if we could not speak with him in English.

The remainder of the staff were also all friendly and eager to please, and Maria and Jabrane in particular were sure to come at breakfast time to check we were happy and all was in order, which it almost always was. They also arranged taxis for us to and from the airport (all of which was just added to our room bill), which made haggling with the drivers a non-issue.

If we ever went back to Marrakech (which I don't think we would...) I would definitely stay here again, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere with great rooms and friendly service but which is a bit more relaxed than the larger hotels.

In terms of local spots, note that Pepe Nero is a highly rate Italian/Moroccan restaurant about 2 minutes walk further down the alley from Riad Saba, while heading towards the main square it's about four minutes' walk to 'Dejeuner de Marrakech', a cafe with a nice roof terrace and great snack dishes (sandwiches, salads, soup, etc.)

Room Tip: You may wish to ask not to be in 'Room Chocolate' as it looks out over the main square. On o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review!

I was slightly surprised to hear that you didnt like the big square of Marrakech ( Jemaa el Fna) But after I read you review I saw it with new eyes anda agree that it can be an exhausting place...

The first night you stayed at Riad Saba it was the Achora fest that occurs once a year, when every single child gets a drum....the result is quite noisy. I suppose it is a way to keep the drumming tradition alive.

It was such a pleasue to have you at Riad Saba, I hope you filled you sun batteries with some energy.

Live and travel well!
Kind regards
Riad Saba team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is my third visit to the Riad Saba and subsequent fourth for my travelling friend. As always the hospitality and personal attention we receive from Maria and Jabrane, the owners, and of their wonderful friendly and welcoming staff is second to none.

The Riad is beautifully comfortable and tranquil and perfectly located within the medina, five minutes from place jemma el efna where the you can join the relative mayhem of this exciting and frantic city.

We will be back next year and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We love the chocolate room, but they are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Andi & Sandra,

The nicest compliment we can have is that of a guest returning.
Your home in Marrakech is waiting for you whenever you feel like it!
We look forward to see you again!
All the best from all at Riad Saba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Many mails were sent, between Riad Saba and myself, before we arrived, to check everything. We had many questions and Maria had an answer on everything. Felt a bit lost when we stood outside the Riad, but when the door was opened it was magic. Our first time in Marrakech was a success and we will come back. And a lot of this was because of the Riad Saba, Maria and Jabran, and their staff. Splendid service and very very nice people. The guided tour in Marrakech as well as the tour to the Atlas mountains was wounderful. The location of the Riad Saba is really a hit, you are in the middle of the Medina and within walking distance to a lot of interesting things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, General Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bengta,

It was so nice to have you and your friends in Riad Saba. Being a former home for an extended family, the riad always comes especially alive when a group of family or friends fill the spacious livingroom or have dinners all toghether.
We enjoyed the days with you very much and hope to see you again.
We hope that you have filled your sunbatteries for afewmonths....or else you know where to go.

Warm regards
from all of us to all of you
Maria, Jabrane, Rachida, Idrissia, Youssef, Lahceen & Milouda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We heard that Marrakech could be quite exhausting (hassling, heavy unorthodox traffic) for the average tourist but thanks to Maria's and Jabrane's good advice and service we could enjoy the city fully.

We stayed at Grandmas place and were upgraded with no extra charge to a bigger room. The room was everything we could have hoped for with cosy interior design. We had breakfast (and evening beer) at Riad Saba and the service  from the entire staff were excellent. We got engaged during our visit and Jabrane & Maria helped us making it a special evening by preparing a cosy room for us where we could have dinner and asking a staff member to assist us if we needed anything.

We really felt that Maria & Jabrane and the staff genuinely cared about us having a good experience of Marrakech and we surely did! We would be glad to return to Marrakech and Riad Saba!

Elin and Jonas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jonas,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Grandma's House ( or White House as we sometimes call it)
We wish you a good continuation of your long trip... and of your life together!
Warm regards from all at Riad Saba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a group of 11 women making the most of our 4 days in Marrakech we researched carefully to find our ideal riad and we were not disappointed. Maria and Jabrane take great pride in their beautifully restored riad and throughout our stay they, and their wonderful staff, went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Particularly good for us was the facility to be able to convert all the double rooms to twins and triples. All the rooms are large and comfortable with generous sized bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The only sleeping disadvantage to non-muslims is the very loud call to prayer at sunrise. Ear plugs are a good idea! The location is excellent being only a short and pleasant walk to the main square and easily accessible by taxi. Breakfasts were plentiful and of good quality including coffee, fresh fruits, yogurt, eggs and honey as well as a range of fresh bread and pancakes. The highlight of our stay was a birthday party on the last night with local musicians, a beautiful cake, flowers, dancing and the best meal of our stay. Some of us opted for a cookery lesson in the riad and the morning trip to the local market with Maria was fascinating. In the afternoon we helped to prepare some of the food for the birthday dinner and learnt a few secrets of traditional Moroccan cuisine. We arrived as guests, but left as friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a similar generous size. The rooms on the first floor probably give more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure having you all!
We hope to see you again sometime!
Best regards
Team of Riad Saba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This riad is a delight; all the staff were friendly and the owners spoke good english and were very helpful. It is very clean and well looked after and the food was good. Rashida cooked us a wonderful meal one evening (the best tagines we had in Marrakesh) and it was served with a huge smile by Larson and Youssef, who joined in wonderfully with the spirit of the evening (especially Larson's dancing!) A memorable stay

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, would have been happy in any of them on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lesley,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and Riad Saba.
It was a pleasure having your group of friends over.
Warm regards
Team of Riad Saba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saba

Address: 2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Saba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, great breakfast and central location are some our key words. Riad Saba is run by a Swedish-Moroccan couple and is very centrally located in the old town. Just off the big square and 5 minutes to museums and restaurants. Guarded parking just outside the riad. The guestrooms are very spacious and comfortable with heating, a/c, ensuite bathrooms and free wifi.The basic premise of Riad Saba is hospitality of a more individual kind. We want our guests to feel that they have been invited into a home. A home away from home in an exotic yet relaxing oasis. We are happy to help you with insider tips, transfers and activities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Saba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.