We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Saba

Save Saved
You added Riad Saba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Saba
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Göteborg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“First time in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Many mails were sent, between Riad Saba and myself, before we arrived, to check everything. We had many questions and Maria had an answer on everything. Felt a bit lost when we stood outside the Riad, but when the door was opened it was magic. Our first time in Marrakech was a success and we will come back. And a lot of this was because of the Riad Saba, Maria and Jabran, and their staff. Splendid service and very very nice people. The guided tour in Marrakech as well as the tour to the Atlas mountains was wounderful. The location of the Riad Saba is really a hit, you are in the middle of the Medina and within walking distance to a lot of interesting things.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, General Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Bengta,

It was so nice to have you and your friends in Riad Saba. Being a former home for an extended family, the riad always comes especially alive when a group of family or friends fill the spacious livingroom or have dinners all toghether.
We enjoyed the days with you very much and hope to see you again.
We hope that you have filled your sunbatteries for afewmonths....or else you know where to go.

Warm regards
from all of us to all of you
Maria, Jabrane, Rachida, Idrissia, Youssef, Lahceen & Milouda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    17
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
96
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We heard that Marrakech could be quite exhausting (hassling, heavy unorthodox traffic) for the average tourist but thanks to Maria's and Jabrane's good advice and service we could enjoy the city fully.

We stayed at Grandmas place and were upgraded with no extra charge to a bigger room. The room was everything we could have hoped for with cosy interior design. We had breakfast (and evening beer) at Riad Saba and the service  from the entire staff were excellent. We got engaged during our visit and Jabrane & Maria helped us making it a special evening by preparing a cosy room for us where we could have dinner and asking a staff member to assist us if we needed anything.

We really felt that Maria & Jabrane and the staff genuinely cared about us having a good experience of Marrakech and we surely did! We would be glad to return to Marrakech and Riad Saba!

Elin and Jonas

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jonas,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Grandma's House ( or White House as we sometimes call it)
We wish you a good continuation of your long trip... and of your life together!
Warm regards from all at Riad Saba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a group of 11 women making the most of our 4 days in Marrakech we researched carefully to find our ideal riad and we were not disappointed. Maria and Jabrane take great pride in their beautifully restored riad and throughout our stay they, and their wonderful staff, went out of their way to make us welcome and comfortable. Particularly good for us was the facility to be able to convert all the double rooms to twins and triples. All the rooms are large and comfortable with generous sized bathrooms and very comfortable beds. The only sleeping disadvantage to non-muslims is the very loud call to prayer at sunrise. Ear plugs are a good idea! The location is excellent being only a short and pleasant walk to the main square and easily accessible by taxi. Breakfasts were plentiful and of good quality including coffee, fresh fruits, yogurt, eggs and honey as well as a range of fresh bread and pancakes. The highlight of our stay was a birthday party on the last night with local musicians, a beautiful cake, flowers, dancing and the best meal of our stay. Some of us opted for a cookery lesson in the riad and the morning trip to the local market with Maria was fascinating. In the afternoon we helped to prepare some of the food for the birthday dinner and learnt a few secrets of traditional Moroccan cuisine. We arrived as guests, but left as friends.

Room Tip: All the rooms are of a similar generous size. The rooms on the first floor probably give more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words.
It was a pleasure having you all!
We hope to see you again sometime!
Best regards
Team of Riad Saba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This riad is a delight; all the staff were friendly and the owners spoke good english and were very helpful. It is very clean and well looked after and the food was good. Rashida cooked us a wonderful meal one evening (the best tagines we had in Marrakesh) and it was served with a huge smile by Larson and Youssef, who joined in wonderfully with the spirit of the evening (especially Larson's dancing!) A memorable stay

Room Tip: All the rooms were great, would have been happy in any of them on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lesley,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and Riad Saba.
It was a pleasure having your group of friends over.
Warm regards
Team of Riad Saba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gais, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We visited Riad Saba the second time. These time with some friends and we were all very happy to stay there. We were very pleased with the location (easily accessible from Jemaa el-Fnaa), cleanliness and friendly staff. Breakfast on the roof terrace is excellent! We can really recommend Riad Saba. The owners, Maria and Jabrane, are very helpful. We will come back again!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanof, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Silvia & Friends

Thank you very much for you kind words. It was very nice to see you in Marrakech again.
We really hope to see you again in Marrakech!

Warm regards
Maria & Jabrane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Jabrane and Maria, the two owners were wonderful. They arranged activities for us while we were visiting. The riad is beautifully decorated and very clean. Thank you for a great visit to Marrakech!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanof, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Kanch,

We are very happy that you Morocco trip and your stay at Riad Saba was to your satisfaction!
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Tripadvisor!

Warm regards
Jabrane & Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is such a beautiful place. The rooms are magnificent. The roof terrace is a tranquil place to relax if you want to get some rest after visiting the medina. Breakfast is also served there. We stayed here for 3 nights, in two adjacent rooms. Our children had a room for themselves and absolutely loved it. We also had a nice dinner on the roof. We were at the time the only guests which made it a bit quiet. The staff is ever so friendly and the place is immaculate, however we found with the owner around, things were run better and more efficiently. We would definitely recommend staying in riad Saba!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
babouche99, Manager at Riad Saba, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Elsa,
.
Thank you your review.
Yes, june this year was a bit quiet....
Thank you for taking up the question about the quality of service without our presence. We have worked alot on that issue and now the general feedback is that the quality remains with or without our presence.

We hope to see you again in Riad Saba.

Kind regards
Team of Riad Saba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saba

Also Known As:
Riad Saba Hotel Marrakech
Riad Saba Hotel
Address: 2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Saba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, great breakfast and central location are some our key words. Riad Saba is run by a Swedish-Moroccan couple and is very centrally located in the old town. Just off the big square and 5 minutes to museums and restaurants. Guarded parking just outside the riad. The guestrooms are very spacious and comfortable with heating, a/c, ensuite bathrooms and free wifi.The basic premise of Riad Saba is hospitality of a more individual kind. We want our guests to feel that they have been invited into a home. A home away from home in an exotic yet relaxing oasis. We are happy to help you with insider tips, transfers and activities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, Prestigia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.