We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Saba

Save Saved
You added Riad Saba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Saba
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
35% off until October 1st
Ranked #38 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This was a second visit for myself and a third for my travelling companion. Another fabulous stay. Nothing is too much trouble for Maria and Jebrane, who are exquisite hosts and the lovely friendly and helpful staff. Our transfer to and from the airport was organised and we were met at the Riad the inhouse staff with mint tea and home made pastries.

Maria and Jebrane ensure that your experience is smooth and relaxing and their knowledge and advice is most helpful for the contrasting bustle of the city. Rashida, the housekeeper, accompanied us to buy spices and she took us the markets where the moroccans shop and showed us the fish & meat markets and the bakery where the local pastilla is made.

Riad Saba is beautifully furnished; stylish and the rooms all of a good size, light and airy and all have aircon. The roof top terrace is a great place to have breakfast and sun loungers and sunhats are provided if you want to do nothing but relax. The location is central and is within a five minute walk of the Place Jemme El Efna; local restaurants and souks. We stayed on each trip for four or five days but you come away feeling like you have known each other for years!

We would highly recommend it to anyone travelling to Marrakech and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Loved it!

Room Tip: First floor rooms are a little lighter. All are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    14
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
97
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Staying in a Riad while in Marrakech is a fantastic way to visit, and Riad Saba is the only one you'll want to stay at. The streets and alleys of Marakech were often hectic and confusing and the weather was unseasonably hot - which often made for exhausting days of explorations. After a busy day of moving through the city, coming back to an oasis like Riad Saba was a relief. It's beautiful inside. The atmosphere was total relaxation and Maria, Jabrane and the staff were superb hosts. The rooms were the cool, quiet, clean accomodations we expected but much more beautiful than we had hoped. The meals they provided us were delicious and served with local wines that were a revelation. Others have written about how helpful Jabrane and Maria are and I whole-heartedly agree with what I've read. Their love for their city and the culture is enlightening and infectious. Their advice helped us save money, time and made our explorations more meaningful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Riad Saba was an oasis of peace and quiet in the frenetic medina of Marrakech. Jebrane and Maria were incredible hosts -- We felt like we were staying with friends. Jebrane gave us essential tips to avoid getting scammed and great advice in general for our first visit to Marrakech. All the staff were so accommodating -- When we needed breakfast at 500am to make a tour, when we wanted wine at 1000pm, the staff catered to us with a smile. Our room, "Ocean," was lovely and most importantly, had air conditioning! Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was plentiful (coffee, tea, orange juice, hard-boiled eggs, bread, yogurt, fruit, and more), and our one dinner at the Riad was excellent (Moroccan salads, chicken tagine for my partner and veggie tagine for me, and fresh melon for dessert). The only negative we can think of is our cold shower on the last day (The Riad had run out of gas on Sunday and couldn't get more delivered until Monday.); however, Jebrane handled the issue graciously by apologizing and explaining the situation without our even having to bring it up. We would, without hesitation, recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech. And we thank Jebrane, Maria, and their entire staff for making our stay such a good one.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellinge, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at Riad Saba over a fortnight during a total of 8 nights in the middle of June 2011. The owners are really helpful and have loads of information to give, if you so require. They truly do their best in trying to make the guest feel just like home. You get an insight in Marroccan family life with Friday couscous and hints on the best hammam. They can also help arranging trips, from the odd cabdrive to trips to the Atlas. We got the impression that the trips they arrange is more on the sustainable side and they truly care for the impact tourism is making on the secluded villages in the Atlas.
The Riad itself is a true oasis and a getaway from the intense life in the Medina. The whole Riad is beautifully decorated and a real pleasure to stay in. The staff is very friendly and make excellent meals on request. (Do request them!) When we come back to Marrakech Riad Saba is the place for us.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We had an excellent stay here, for several reasons.

The hosts, Jebrane and Maria are incredibly helpful, friendly and professional. They assisted us in getting guides and taxis for our side trips, and offered useful tips about travel to other parts of Morocco. Jebrane very kindly helped us even locate an English-speaking driver and guide in Casablanca! Their staff, particularly the Spanish-speaking young lady, is incredibly helpful and very attentive, making sure we were well supplied with warm tea and a cookie or two, and giving us helpful hints around the city. We speak Spanish, luckily, and Maria and Jebrane speak perfect English.

Riad Saba is an easy walk to many of the old city attractions, yet it is located in a quieter area of the city, so you can get a good night's rest. It's very clean and safe, very comfortable. It's also close to little shops where you can pick up bottles of water or small things you might need. We travelled around Morocco and returned to Marrakech before flying home, and we actually changed our plans to return back to Riad Saba, rather than go to another place in Marrakech, we were so comfortable and felt it was so reliable.

Breakfast is pleasant, either up on the roof when the weather is good, or if rainy or cool, then in a bright, covered atrium. It's coffee, tea, juice, cheese, different types of breads, jams, and yogurts. They'll make you a "to-go" bag if you're headed for the airport or leave on a countryside excursion very early with a taxi. You can order dinner, and though a touch pricey, it's wonderful food, and when we arrived on a late flight, it was really nice to have a hot meal when it would have been rather late to go looking for a restaurant.

The building is a rebuilt old mansion, which means it has lots of modern convenience combined with a traditional charm. I am allergic to feather bedding, and the remembered to make up the room without the feather bedding the first time, and the second time we stayed, I just pulled up the feather blanket myself. The riad also has wireless internet, and so I could email friends and check on the weather. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Riad Saba. Maria and Jabrane are two warm and gentle people that are really interesting in makeing your stay as memorable as possible. Both of them know Marrakech well and are more than willing to help you find your dream spots och goods to buy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Nice and calm hotel. Perfect location. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Saba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Saba

Address: 2 derb Cherkaoui | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Saba 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm hospitality, great breakfast and central location are some our key words. Riad Saba is run by a Swedish-Moroccan couple and is very centrally located in the old town. Just off the big square and 5 minutes to museums and restaurants. Guarded parking just outside the riad. The guestrooms are very spacious and comfortable with heating, a/c, ensuite bathrooms and free wifi.The basic premise of Riad Saba is hospitality of a more individual kind. We want our guests to feel that they have been invited into a home. A home away from home in an exotic yet relaxing oasis. We are happy to help you with insider tips, transfers and activities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Saba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Saba Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Saba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.