We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Atlas to your Saves list
Hotel Atlas
50 Rue Sidi Bouloukate Riad Zitoun lakdim | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel online so I had a place to stay on arrival.

Rooms were good. Cleaning staff were polite and worked hard to keep the hotel clean.

Reception staff were helpful and friendly and genuinely cared that I enjoyed my stay and booked me a taxi when I moved on.

Great location on the square.

I'd definitely stay here again.

If getting a taxi here from the airport beware, the drivers will take you to the Hotel Atlas Medina which is a different hotel and then charge you again to get you here. Make it crystal clear and show them the address on your booking sheet

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    29
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
33
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited Hotel Atlas between 10th and 17th April 2014 with our 8 year old son, we can definitely recommend this hotel, the staff are very welcoming and really tried to go out of their way to help, particularly Abdullah and Zahra and our son was treated really well and he loved it there. Really close to the main square and other attractions and restaurants. Only negative point would be difficult to find as the hotel is not directly accessible by road, the taxi drops you off about 5 minutes walk away, but locals are very friendly and immediately offered assistance. No soap at the hotel, but we knew that so took our own. Breakfast was excellent and we didn't feel hungry until the evening. We would definitely book at this Hotel again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

And service isnt that important to me I guess.
Some would wonder why I even stayed here, considering I emailed the place twice to try and reserve and got no response. Then when I got to marrakech, I tried to find it using google map and asking around, to no avail. I guess I felt challenged, because I got the receptionist at another hotel to call the hotel to ask for directions. The guy on the other line stated he was going to stand in the square (djemaa el fna--10 steps away from the hotel) and look for me. He was not there when I got there. I started walking and found it myself.

I was very happy with my room, which was a double room on the first or second floor in the new section of the hotel-with bathroom en suite. The bed was comfortable, it was quiet and clean. The shower did not spray well, but was fine. One of the hosts is not very hospitable. Polite, but not helpful or welcoming. Moreover, I stayed 5 days and did not get much of a discount and when on the fifth day I was joined by a friend, they charged me extra. I asked that they not change the sheets or towels while I was there, just to not be wasteful and they took that as a signal to not come and clean at all while I was there. So even more reason they should have been a little flexible with the price.

The location is great, it is clean and comfortable. Even the cheaper rooms with the shared bathroom arent so bad. The breakfast is extra and not worth it-in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Shaky wifi, no soap, toilet paper rare, permanently damp/moist rooms in January. But rooms were clean, shower often hot. Our door could be locked, but keys were occasionally left unguarded 1 meter from the hotel's entrance. A bit difficult to find: One of our sleeping bags was stolen in the 20 minutes it took to find the hotel. But staff were very pleasant, and they recommended us a tour to Merzouga (Erg Chebbi) with Hilali Tours for 950 MAD ($110) per person, a trip that became the highlight of our tour in Morocco.

Room Tip: Check wifi reception when checking into room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Located a 60 second walk from Jemaa el Fna, we found the Hotel Atlas perfectly situated for exploring straight into the heart of the medina and souks, and for the hustle and excitement of the night market. The rooms are compact but clean and comfortably furnished. As is generally the case in Marrakech they are located around a pleasant central courtyard that serves as a place to relax and enjoy a cool moment away from the sun.

We opted to stay in the basic double room without en suite, however the hotel offers a range of rooms including air conditioning, televisions and bathrooms. The standard room included a sink with cold water and was well kept by daily housekeeping. Communal showering facilities were basic but clean with one shared toilet and a shower on each floor. Rooms on the ground floor suffer slightly from the noise of guests coming and going into the evening - the staff volunteered a change of room to a quieter location after our first night.

Hotel Atlas has two levels of sun terrace for those so inclined, with basic refreshments on sale from reception. You can hear the sounds from the market drifting across while on the terraces but these don't intrude inside. Our hosts were welcoming and friendly and we would certainly visit again, indeed some of the guests we met were already on their second visit.

Consider using a taxi to find the hotel as streets in the central medina are not well sign posted. Alternatively look for the white painted archway to the right of Cafe Glacier and follow the alley. We booked in advance but many other visitors appeared to be requesting rooms as walk-ups.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back or higher up to avoid noisy evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here a couple of months ago and it was great. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful, and you can't get a better location for 'The Square'. Liked it so much I stayed there again on my way home. It's a little expensive for what it is, but the location and staff make up for that!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

+ At a central point
+ helpful, friendly staff

- small, dark and sometimes stinky and wet rooms

All together it's okay for 1 or 2 nights but nothing special. The breakfast is ok, coffee, bread, jam, egg and juice for 25 dh.
You can reach almost everything from there by feet.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlas

Address: 50 Rue Sidi Bouloukate Riad Zitoun lakdim | Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Atlas is only 2 minutes from the mythic square Jemaa El Fna, in the heart of the medina of Marrakech and close to most important historical sites of the city, the hotel Atlas designed in the purest traditional moroccan style, with its wide and green two patios, offers you charming rooms with exceptional price/quality starting from a single room to quintuple, the hotel staff will answer any of your requests.Clean rooms, beds are made by hand with wide iron and wooden frames in a purist design moroccan style.The rooms have view onto the Riad's central courtyard with their green plants pots and its Gibson walls and zellige . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.