We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mandalay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mandalay to your Saves list
Riad Mandalay
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   59 Derb Harbil | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Very central, close to everything you want to see in Marrakech, there is this fantastic place, Riad Mandalay, it is like to be in a 5 stars Hotel with a super friendly atmosphere, big but cosy rooms, very large and elegant area to mix with other guest and fantastic terrace to relax and suntan in the day and have al fresco dinner in the evening.
If i go back that is the place I want to stay

Room Tip: Any room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    52
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
53
137
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

One week in Riad Mandalay was the best welcoming we have ever had in our trip's history.
It's located in the center of Medina, farway from chaos and noise.
The rooms are very clean and spacious, bathrooms are so lovely that you feel like in a fairy tail.
The staff is really friendly, Claudio and Giorgia were so helpful and very nice.
The services offered by the Riad were perfect for our soul : Hammam, jacuzzi and massage.
Great breakfast and delicious dinner: a mix between italian and moroccan style!!
We're looking forward to come back in Marrakech!!!
thanks for everything in particular to Babanjida!!!
Kisses

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

friendly staff..great location..and great riad..
it`s just great when in a messy and noisy city like marrakech, you can find such a lovely and quiet place, were you can relax with a massage or fantastic Hamman..
the owner he`s really helpful and nice, the staff can provide anything you need, mint tea, tasty food or just a nice talk..
best place to enjoy marrakech.. i`ll comeback for sure..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The Riad is very well run, owners and staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Always going out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They also speak very good english french and italian.
The Riad itself is beatuiful, and in a great location close to Rue De Le Kasbah, close to the Bhadi palace and Saadiens tombs (both well worth a visit). It's also easy to find (which can't be said other riads).
We would highly recommend this riad for anyone wanting to enjoy the true spirit of marrakech. We would also recommend that people eat at the Riah. Excelent italian food.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

On arrival we were sat down and presented with the traditional mint tea which was delicious. We were then given a map and were talked through all the things to see and do, which we found to be very useful. The riad is in an excellent location - far enough away from the madness to get some sleep, but well within walking distance to the main square. We would definitely recommend this riad to anyone and would happily stay there again. If you aren't picked up from the airport, make sure you get a guide as it would be next to impossible to find it alone. Our taxi driver walked us to the door.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed here originally for 4 nights but due to snow and air traffic controllers strike our trip was extended to 12 nights!Georgia and Yassin were perfect hosts and the Riad itself is comfortable and on oasis of peace.After our first cancellation just a phone call to Georgia and we were able to stay a further 3 nights.Praise must be given to the meals we had there which were cooked by Claudio who was a delight to speak to and get an insight to Marrakesh.After our second cancellation, as the Riad was full we moved to their sister Riad Al Warda which although smaller was a different experience but worth a stay.Special thanks to Valeria for being so helpful in every way

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Friends of friends recommended this riad, and so we decided to go with it.

The location of it was pretty perfect - just around the corner to the Saadian tombs and the palace, and about 15 mins walk from the main square, so it was easy to the main action of the city, but it was in a really quite little alley, which was perfect for getting away from the hubbub of the rest of the place at night time. Having been picked up from the airport via transfer, we did struggle to find it again after our first day of sightseeing as lots of the alleys look the same, but once we got our bearings it was easy enough to find. If you have a phone with GPS on it though, I'd definitely recommend taking it out with you to start with!

The people there were lovely – they gave us a great rundown of the best places to go when we arrived and were very helpful about answering all our questions over the course of the week.

We ate lunch a couple of times there, and it was very nice - the chef is Italian, so we mainly had tomato and mozarella or Morrocan salads or sandwiches, which were perfect for the warm weather conditions. We also had a lot of mint tea, which was delicious. Breakfast was mainly bread and jam and a Morrocan type of pancake.

The roof terrace was great for sunbathing for a couple of days and the two cats who thought they owned the place had real character.

There is no TV by the way, so if you want an early night at all, bring a good book or a pack of cards or something similar to fill your evening with.

Also their credit card machine wasn’t working when we were there so we paid in cash (although we could have made a bank transfer). Watch out that the quoted price is in Euros, but you’ll pay in Dirrhams at the current banking exchange rate (not the rate used by the shopkeepers), which might work out a bit more expensive than you had planned for.

Finally bring some ear plugs because when the calls for prayer go off at the mosque at 6am, it will no doubt wake you up - but that would be the same anywhere.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Mandalay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mandalay

Address: 59 Derb Harbil | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mandalay 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the medina in the Casbah, the Riad Mandalay offers spacious suites in a traditional setting near the Saadian tombs. It is only 10 minutes from the Jemaa El Fna.This authentic riad offers comfortable rooms with free Wi-Fi, breakfast included, air conditioning and private bathroom. They all feature typical Moroccan decoration, one bathroom tadelakt.For your relaxation, you can enjoy the pool, hot tub, steam room and fitness center. Massages are available by reservation only. You also get a large lounge with a fireplace, a bar and games.On site, the Riad Mandalay offers international and Moroccan cuisine and offer you an excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Mandalay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mandalay Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Mandalay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.