We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious stay.. Things to set..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Leila

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Jnane Leila to your Saves list
Jnane Leila
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   353 bd Med VI | Route de l'Ourika KM 6.5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #558 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious stay.. Things to set..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010 via mobile

We just back from our 8 nights at JL. Surely a nice and romantic place to stay. A replica of a tipical morocco village, 12 suite around a fresh and pleasant garden. In the middle a real pearl.. A real pool ( little cold but usefull after a day at the Medina) where to swim. The owners, a sweet french-morocco couple manage this inns from june 2010. All the guys work there are kind and try to help u as they can. JL is just a 7 km from Medina and whit taxis, easy to find, in 10 minutes and 5 /8 € u are downtown. Room was really nice. No big probs. We suggested the boss to ask the staff to have more attention to the room set up. Missed us sometimes towels, shampoo and body foam. The restaurant food taste good but maybe too expensive. The garden is watered and cleaned up too early in the morniong whit some noise, but it worth.. Any day new plants and flowers have their home in this land paradise! We from Italy, sorry for poor english.. (Kisses to Sofie from Greta..) w

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    24
    9
    6
    11
See reviews for
31
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Nice atmosphere,clean rooms,staff generally very helpfull and pleasant.But food disappointing! Let's the whole place down.The breakfasts were poor quality and repetative,and evening meals were also similar,and sometimes not available, and v expensive for what they were,i get the feeling that they were not prepared on site,(only heated up,or fried).Best to eat out if you want truely authentic and varied food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We visited Jnane Leila in November 2007 and began our stay there initially for 2 nights but stayed longer as it was so beautiful and comfortable and the staff were fantastic and friendly, I can't say enough about the managers who even helped us find a fantastic deal on a hotel in Agadir which was where we decided to go onto as the weather turned and the rains arrived, so following the sunshine at that time of year was wonderful. Still in the early 80's most days.
The pictures you see of Jnane Leila are true to life, the dear gentleman who comes to light the many candles in the lanterns all around the pool and gardens each evening, the friendly courteous staff in the restaurant serving delicious food, the rooms and outdoor areas are simply beautiful....it's aliitle way out, 10 mins drive in a taxi, very easy to get outside the bigdoor, not too much, £10 return, but really worth it if you want to hear lots of birds singing in the morning at breakfast and find yourself in a picturesque garden rather than on the rooftops near the square, but equally that is fabulous too, we have done that a few times , but we wanted abit more space for our child to be able to run and play - which happened freely and safely and in and out of the lovely pool - rather cool but then it does get hot there!!!
All in all, we thought this was a real gem and we were so glad we found it.
Wholly reccomended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

We stayed at this guest house in May 2008. It was our first visit to Marrakech and we wanted to stay at a small hotel with a swimming pool. When I read the bad-ish review on TA it made me worried about staying at this place. It turned out to be quite a nice place to unwind and relax. After walking all day in the chaotic Medina we could not wait to go back to the hotel. They served breakfast in their pretty garden (don't expect a proper coffee), and had a tasty barbecue on the grass at lunch time. Everything was nice including the staff. The only complaint we had was the driver. We paid the same rate using their shuttle taxi every day. On the 3rd day the driver decided to increase the fare, and he tried to make it look as if it was the hotel which made decision which we doubted.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evreux, France
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I stayed at Jnane Leila in February 2007 with my son for a week. It was my third stay in Marrakech which I discovered for the first time 25 years ago. Since have changed quiet a lot since then.

Anyway we wanted to stay out of town so overall we were quiet happy staying at Jnane Leila.
I had booked a suite and had a pretty good deal because it was off season. The suite had 2 bedrooms, a nice bathroom, a little garden and a terrace in the back. We had logfire and a heater as well and good blackets but the beds were a bit hard.
Saïd, the Manager , which I contacted by email and met at the property was very welcoming and helpful. We had booked a few evening meals as well. Cuisine was not 5* but good. Breakfast was served into the suite if you wanted to.
The swimming pool , just in front of our suite, was inviting but too cold to use in February.

Overall the property is not a palace but is family oriented and presents an original rustic marocan architecture surrounded by nice gardens.
Saïd and his team were responding to our enquiries during our stay and I have nothing to camplain about.
As I like to change hotels when I'll go back to Marrakech soon I don't think I'll go back but I can surely recommend it to future guests.

  • Liked — Ground floor large & confortable suite with garden and pool just in front
  • Disliked — Could not use the pool during winter (february), you must rent to car if you want to travel around and enjoy your independance!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thijs131180
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

During our trip through Morocco we've stayed at Jnane Leila for two nights. During these days we've enjoyed eating at the restaurant and relaxing in the lovely garden.

This hotel build like an old Moroccan village looks very nice. The rooms surround a great garden with swimming pool. The service is good and we really enjoyed they’re hospitality.
The kitchen offers a mix of traditional food and modern dishes. With average prices.

All and all we’ve relaxed here for a few days and then we left to visit the great city Marrakech. I think this hotel is best visit to escape the business of Marrakech city. Relax and enjoy the garden and service and then head on to the city.

  • Liked — the room and garden
  • Disliked — the shower
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We arrived for a two night stay from 2nd May 2008, and were in awe at the rustic charm and beautiful garden oasis that greeted us. The attention to detail around the gardens, green grassed and flora and fauna was constant, unlike the service!!

Admittedly we had arrived an hour earlier than the midday check in and were told to wait for an hour. Fine we did, FOR 3 HOURS!!
After constantly talking and talking to the reception person, we got nowhere. Finally after 3 hours with nothing to drink, sat in the shade and no luggage, nothing! we were shown to our room. The sad excuse was, the previous occupant did not check out until 1.30pm. Not our problem, however our money.!!! They had not once confronted the former selfish occupant.
A welcome drink, a tour of the facilities anything, would have been welcome, however the useless article in reception, said and did nothing.
We later spoke to the Manager who offered us a free meal, the food was oily, tastless chicken tajine, however eventually he rectified the problem. We were still unhappy at losing a couple of hours of our day, especially for such a short stay and asked to keep the room until Sunday. We were met with a non commital, I'll see what I can do.

The room was very rustic, clean and pleasant.
The next day our toilet broke which we reported at 10am, after numerous complaints, it was finally fixed at 6.30pm that night. The ERRRRRRRRMMMMM "MANAGER" s response was he was not a plumber, this was not his fault and what could he do?? with a raised voice.!! Again we asked to keep the room for an additional couple of hours as we did not fly until 8pm that night.
None commital, uninterested and sarcastic, he explained they were fully booked. The final day was spent around the pool, trying to stay fresh and watching TWO new guests arrive.

After the previous RIAD ZOLAH (see review) this was like staying at FAULTY TOWERS compared to the RITZ. Unhelpful, none interested Manager and assistant. Terrible service, what a shame as the place is stunning!

  • Liked — The beautiful gardens and wildlife, flora and fauna!
  • Disliked — The inadequate, blame it on someone else Management & service.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Leila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Leila

Address: 353 bd Med VI | Route de l'Ourika KM 6.5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #558 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jnane Leila 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jnane Leila is a guest house, restaurant & SPA, including a large swimming pool, gardens, a snack bar at the edge of the swimming pool and a barbecue, WIFI. The style is typically Berber, which makes of it an authentic guest house. The rooms and suites are bungalows, made out of cob (tatebbante) and the walls are covered with tadelakt, a typically Marrakesh material. We have 5 senior suites , 2 junior junior, 4 double rooms and 1 single room. The senior suites contain 2 terraces ( outside looking onto the swimming pool and internal which acts as patio). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Jnane Leila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Leila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Leila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.