We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place to stay away from the hussle and bussle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jnane Leila

Save Saved
You added Jnane Leila to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jnane Leila
353 bd Med VI | Route de l'Ourika KM 6.5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #572 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing place to stay away from the hussle and bussle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Driving up through Marrakech and into Jnane Leila we both thought 'what have we done!' We came off a bery busy road and told this was the hotel. However, on arriving inside the grounds we were totally taken aback - the grounds of the hotel are beautiful and we instantly forgot about the busy road outside. The pool is lovely and cold and kept very clean, the rooms are traditionaly morrocon with huge beds and big bathrooms.
The staff were very friendly but the only downside is the service is a bit slow, so if you want to order, do so a good hour before you want anything!

It's great to be out of the smoke and crowds of Marrakech but you are close enough to go in whenever you want, but have the tranquility and beautiful gardens to come back to. Omar is the taxi driver who will take you anywhere whatever time, day or night and will take away the stress of having to barter for a cab at night.

Highly recommend this place to go for a relaxing time - very good value for money!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    21
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
29
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I booked this hotel through I-escape.com . I emailed Nizar to ask a few questions and he promptly responded, also booked the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the airport.
The rooms are traditional and charming. The grounds are well kept and quite beautiful.
I was disappointed that there was no complimentary bottled water in the room - something you would expect from a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast consists of two pancakes and a peace of sponge cake, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee (no tea). I would have preferred a platter of eggs, cold meats, cheese olives and fruit etc.
Lunchtime and dinner menu are the same. We tried quite a few different meals and they are of a good standard. The service however is very poor and slow. The staff are pleasant and polite but could do with a little customer service training. I would suggest they visit the Indian restaurant inside Les Jardins de la Koutoubia where they will witness excellent customer service all for similar priced meals. They just need to be a little more attentive and be aware of customers. They also need to speed up somewhat. Ordering beers at the poolside often took up to half an hour for them to be brought to us.
If you want a peaceful and relaxing time then this hotel is for you. We found it perfect for a quick break for some winter sunshine.
All said and done we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

A luxurious place in a magic and pleasant decoration. Thanks to Houda and Sylvain for their warm welcome.
An address to be kept and to share affectedly. A welcome services of the most pleasant, the staff is present. Thanks to Nizard for his accompaniment throughout our stay. The pool, the places, are heaven of peace. The menu of the restaurant is magnificent. A place between cousin to preserve in the memories!!!
An access in the heart of Marrakesh easily accessible by taxi or bus and not too far from the frenzy jemma el fna place... I love this place...Houda and Sylvain encore un grand Merci :)))

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I have just come back from 5 nights at Jnane Leila and could not imagine having had a better time. Having read the review below hours before arriving I was terrified that I had made a huge mistake. The manager of the hotel spoke brilliant English and nothing was too much trouble from car hire to organising a driver too and forth from the airport. The food was good and well presented and perfectly reasonable in price, the rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, clean towels and sheets every day. There are a lot of staff maintaining the beautiful garden all of whom were polite and friendly always offering to carry bags or point you in the right direction if you needed something. I can not reccommend this hotel enough, don't be put off by the vast "waste lands" around it this seems to be a fairly standard vista on the outskirts of Morocco and is soon forgotten once you are within the walls of the beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

PLEASE READ THIS...We booked to stay at the jnane leila in september to stay for four nights all booked and paid via LAST MINUITE .COM all good until we arrive at the hotel when the manager had to go and get the two owners.
After hearing raised voices we were told that we had no resevation at the hotel.
At this time it was after 8pm we were hungry and tired from our travels.
we were told that the owner had told the manager to not accept our booking as lastminute.com had not paid the previous months bookings which would then affect all of Octobers bookings with the hotel including ours.
after discussions and proof of our acceptance of booking plus proof of our payment we were given a room and told the situation would be resolved by 10 am in the morning.
In the morning we called lastminute to be told that we had indeed paid and booked the 4 nights with the hotel.
we then tried to get hold of the manger or owner as by this time it was 10 am again we tried every 15 minutes until 11.45am where we managed to track some one down.
we then were rudly spoken to by the owners with them saying it is ok it is ok, well wasting our whole morning of our holiday it was not ok ok and it was not there fault etc and they did not use lastminute.com? they use lastminute.france!!(lastminute.france does not exsist as lastminute.com is a world wide service) honestly are we english really brain dead looking? even with paper work!! at this point the manager was trying very hard to find us alternative accomodation for our holiday. As they were fully booked on our last night.
We had to change rooms for the following 2 nights, we incountered a broken toilet a broken TV and a very un powerful shower my watering can could do better.
The noise of dogs in the waste land to the back and sides plus pasing traffic kept us awake all night.
The last night we were kept awake by comings and goings from our neighbours room, then rudely awaken at 6.45am with a loud and contineous banging on our door. we were confronted by a man in an agressive manor to find out he was after the occupaints of the next room. After watching who came out of the room we found that they were ladies of the night to be polite with the pimp collecting them.(hard to believe but very true) We then were told we could stay the night for the last night in the room we saw the ladies of thenight leave so politely said we would rather take the suggested hotel that was reserved for our last night as previously agreed. This was also agreed to be paid by the Jnane Leila owners as we had paid for 4 nights not 3.
This hotel would have been beautiful at one point but since the new owners took over the hotel 3 months ago you can see the garden has been neglected and furnishings starting to become tired from neglect.
the constant raised voises of the owners to the staff in full view of the customers begain to inflict stress on the customers and staff in return, not a place to relax in any terms.
as hoteliers our selves I can not imagine why such people are in any way working with the general public, they have no grace or understanding to what hospitality is all about.
the owners would be much more welcomed in the brothel industry where they seem to
like being a part off as they use there hotel for these purposes.
Now at our new hotel which was so beautiful and calm in comparison we relaxed to then hear the same agressive voices in very close proximity.
I knew at this point they arrived to discuss not paying our bill. after overhearing that we were awful guests unaccomodating and liars, this finally made my 4 day break a break from hell. we absolutley can not understand there views on the way they run their business and never will as it is so unreasonable.
We ended up paying for our new hotel which was hugely expensive, again they chose it for us and probably knew they would do this making us very out of pocket.
I suggest you avoid even trying this hotel unless you relax easily with stress and LADIES OF THE NIGHT.
I also suggest you tell as many people as possible to stop any one else having the same unhappy holiday as we had.

PLEASE STAY AWAY !!!!! IT IS THE BEST ADVICE I CAN GIVE YOU.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010 via mobile

We just back from our 8 nights at JL. Surely a nice and romantic place to stay. A replica of a tipical morocco village, 12 suite around a fresh and pleasant garden. In the middle a real pearl.. A real pool ( little cold but usefull after a day at the Medina) where to swim. The owners, a sweet french-morocco couple manage this inns from june 2010. All the guys work there are kind and try to help u as they can. JL is just a 7 km from Medina and whit taxis, easy to find, in 10 minutes and 5 /8 € u are downtown. Room was really nice. No big probs. We suggested the boss to ask the staff to have more attention to the room set up. Missed us sometimes towels, shampoo and body foam. The restaurant food taste good but maybe too expensive. The garden is watered and cleaned up too early in the morniong whit some noise, but it worth.. Any day new plants and flowers have their home in this land paradise! We from Italy, sorry for poor english.. (Kisses to Sofie from Greta..) w

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Nice atmosphere,clean rooms,staff generally very helpfull and pleasant.But food disappointing! Let's the whole place down.The breakfasts were poor quality and repetative,and evening meals were also similar,and sometimes not available, and v expensive for what they were,i get the feeling that they were not prepared on site,(only heated up,or fried).Best to eat out if you want truely authentic and varied food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnane Leila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnane Leila

Address: 353 bd Med VI | Route de l'Ourika KM 6.5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jnane Leila is a guest house, restaurant & SPA, including a large swimming pool, gardens, a snack bar at the edge of the swimming pool and a barbecue, WIFI. The style is typically Berber, which makes of it an authentic guest house. The rooms and suites are bungalows, made out of cob (tatebbante) and the walls are covered with tadelakt, a typically Marrakesh material. We have 5 senior suites , 2 junior junior, 4 double rooms and 1 single room. The senior suites contain 2 terraces ( outside looking onto the swimming pool and internal which acts as patio). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Jnane Leila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jnane Leila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnane Leila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.