We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, faultless hotel right in the heart of marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cambridge
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic, faultless hotel right in the heart of marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Riad Ilayka is simply fantastic. Nadia, Mustafa and all the team are supremely good hosts. From a fantastic welcome (where we were met from the taxi), with a selection of divine moroccan patisseries and fresh pineapple juice we knew this would be good. Brilliantly located 5 mins walk from the Jemaa el Fna main square, this hotel hidden behind a door down a network of alleys is like a mini oasis in the middle of the evocative pleasure of marrakech. Set around a stunning central courtyard with palm trees all the rooms have character, beautiful decor and are comfortable with nice bathrooms and air con. The roof terrace affords a lovely view of the city and the atlas mountains, along with taking in the great sounds of the city such as a beautifully haunting call to prayer in the evening. Breakfast is a wonderful mixture of french and moroccan with freshly made bread, pastries and crepes, along with freshly squeezed orange juice. Dinner is bespokely made and was wonderful in every way. Ironing was done without asking. Directions were shown without wanting. And great advice given naturally. A proactive and brilliant experience from start to finish. If you are first time to Marrakech and want a great way to stay in the heart of the city, look no further!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
82
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our very friendly Ryad, a converted 14th merchant's house, was tucked away in a maze of arched alleyways called Derbs and yet so close to the main square Djema El Fna and the souks.
Our bedroom, furnished in a traditional Moroccan style, opened onto a delightful enclosed courtyard with an attractive fountain, where we ate our breakfasts and dinners. We enjoyed an apéritif with olives every evening under the gazebo perched above the roof terrace while watching the sunset over Marrakesh and the snow capped Atlas mountains.
The food was superb (no need to go out!) and the servers Ibrahim, Abdoul and Mustafa were extremely courteous and "aux petits soins pour nous". Real stars! Abdoul even took us to the souks to buy a tagine the day before we left! How about that for service!
Nadia and Anna were also delightful, very chatty and full of good tips. Nadia gave us a small bottle of oil when we left, which was totally unexpected.
We would return to Ryad Ilayka without hesitation, but next time I would enrol on their own cookery course.
Merci de votre accueil si chaleureux!
Françoise et Andrew.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from an amazing stay at the Riad Ilayka, what a gorgeous place, behind the massive wooden door is a sanctuary of peacefulness and calm. Our room had a private terrace and was beautifully furnished and very clean to the extent that our stuff was tidied away each day! There is a cool tub (hot tub in reverse!) which is a godsend after a day out and cools you down perfectly.
Nadia and Annan and their team were the perfect hosts and really took time to understand our needs to the extent of escorting us to make sure we didn't get lost in the maze of the medina, they also made recommendations for restaurants however we would strongly recommend eating at the Riad Ilayka because the food is stunning and plentiful at a lower cost than the restaurants in the square. The chef and staff are very proud of their food and Riad and really went out of their way to make our holiday special. Next time we visit we will definitely go half board...but will need to diet beforehand!
Tip, contact the Riad Ilayka to pick you up and return from the airport (really low cost) as one of the staff will meet you and escort you to the Riad.
Thanks to Riad Ilayka we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return :-)
Karl & Dawn (28th June to 2nd July 2014)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Ilayka and Nadia and her team could not be more accommodating. Returning to the Riad each day was like coming back to an oasis- relaxing, attractive and luxurious. We loved our half day tangine cooking class and appreciated the great recipes we received afterwards. We would highly recommend this Riad! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Riad, just as I imagined it would be. Hidden behind a big wooden door down one of the
many alleys, Ilayaka offered a peaceful, welcome with it's cool courtyard and lovely rooms. The food was great and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Truely a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and the nearby main square.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this Riad for 4 nights and it was lovely. The staff were very attentive and polite and the manager Nadia was great. The food was very good and felt really relaxed here. Do not be put off by the shabby streets and alley ways as behind the Riad doors is a gem of an hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We highly recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech. The service was very attentive and we were always made to feel very welcomed. In addition to the breakfast service which was wonderful, we also had the fortune to have a tangine dinner on our first evening and the meal was extremely good. The rooms were well appointed and we especially appreciated the private safe in our room to secure our valuables. The location is very convenient to the medina and to other sights in the city. It was also a good site for accessing the main square. Would stay here again without second thought.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit dark due to use of dark decoration colors, but very restful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Propriétaire at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Google Translation
Cher John
Merci encore et encore pour vos compliments qui sont toujours très agréables à lire,
Au plaisir de vous revoir dans un proche avenir.
Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.