We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the hustle bustle of Marrakech!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the hustle bustle of Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from an amazing stay at the Riad Ilayka, what a gorgeous place, behind the massive wooden door is a sanctuary of peacefulness and calm. Our room had a private terrace and was beautifully furnished and very clean to the extent that our stuff was tidied away each day! There is a cool tub (hot tub in reverse!) which is a godsend after a day out and cools you down perfectly.
Nadia and Annan and their team were the perfect hosts and really took time to understand our needs to the extent of escorting us to make sure we didn't get lost in the maze of the medina, they also made recommendations for restaurants however we would strongly recommend eating at the Riad Ilayka because the food is stunning and plentiful at a lower cost than the restaurants in the square. The chef and staff are very proud of their food and Riad and really went out of their way to make our holiday special. Next time we visit we will definitely go half board...but will need to diet beforehand!
Tip, contact the Riad Ilayka to pick you up and return from the airport (really low cost) as one of the staff will meet you and escort you to the Riad.
Thanks to Riad Ilayka we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return :-)
Karl & Dawn (28th June to 2nd July 2014)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Ilayka and Nadia and her team could not be more accommodating. Returning to the Riad each day was like coming back to an oasis- relaxing, attractive and luxurious. We loved our half day tangine cooking class and appreciated the great recipes we received afterwards. We would highly recommend this Riad! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Riad, just as I imagined it would be. Hidden behind a big wooden door down one of the
many alleys, Ilayaka offered a peaceful, welcome with it's cool courtyard and lovely rooms. The food was great and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Truely a haven away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and the nearby main square.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at this Riad for 4 nights and it was lovely. The staff were very attentive and polite and the manager Nadia was great. The food was very good and felt really relaxed here. Do not be put off by the shabby streets and alley ways as behind the Riad doors is a gem of an hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We highly recommend this as a place to stay in Marrakech. The service was very attentive and we were always made to feel very welcomed. In addition to the breakfast service which was wonderful, we also had the fortune to have a tangine dinner on our first evening and the meal was extremely good. The rooms were well appointed and we especially appreciated the private safe in our room to secure our valuables. The location is very convenient to the medina and to other sights in the city. It was also a good site for accessing the main square. Would stay here again without second thought.

Room Tip: Rooms are a bit dark due to use of dark decoration colors, but very restful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Propriétaire at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Google Translation
Cher John
Merci encore et encore pour vos compliments qui sont toujours très agréables à lire,
Au plaisir de vous revoir dans un proche avenir.
Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The combination of traditional elegance, attentive service, central location and an attractive rate makes Riad Ilayka a top value and choice.
The riad is decorated in traditional Moroccan antiques and each room is unique and beautiful. Hanan and her team provided impeccable service. One important consideration is the quality of the outside services they recommend. We booked a city/monument tour through the riad and our guide, who teaches Berber architecture at the university, provided a fascinating tour. He also navigated us through the souks, taking us to artisans who were happy to discuss their process and sold high quality items. We needed to make some last minute changes to our plans due to weather and Hanan’s restaurant recommendations were enjoyable. It is also worth noting that Ilayka is unique in that they do not accept commission for bookings – they ask for any benefit to be passed on to the guest. The team goes out of their way to be helpful. We were walked to restaurants that would have been difficult for a visitor to locate. I inquired about an iron and Hanan offered to do any ironing needed!
The breakfast provided has many choices and is delicious. We also booked lunch the day we arrived at the riad and was impressed with the quality. We enjoyed a dip in the plunge pool and the views from the rooftop gazebo.

Room Tip: If you are comfortable walking steps, the rooms on the upper level provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night recently in the middle of a 2 week holiday for our anniversary. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The stylish bedrooms (tad dark with windows closed) are around a courtyard but we did not hear anything despite being very close to the heart of the Souk. Dinner was excellent and while there may be swankier more up market Riads the overall experience at ilakya was excellent.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.