We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A safe peaceful haven in the warren of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A safe peaceful haven in the warren of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Nadia and her team ..Hanan and her staff ..were all delightful and nothing was too much trouble.
It was our first trip to Marrakech and we were totally unprepared for the tunnels of the Medina ...which we found a bit scary at first but Riad Ilayka is so beautiful and welcoming that we immediately felt safe..
Breakfast was simple but extremely generous...and the lunch on the roof terrace was delicious...best spicy aubergine dip and cumin rolls we d ever tasted..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
91
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Riad Ilayka.
This beautiful riad in the middle of the medina is a warm, very quiet(!) and relaxed haven in the middle of the busy, noisy and warm souks.
The staff is very helpful and no effort is too much to keep you happy or to help you find your way in this exciting city.
Most of the interesting streets and must sees are within walking distance.
The Hammam is small but the treatment is very good so try it some time later in the afternoon, after a long day of exploring or shopping!
We will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

An oasis of peace away from the huddle if the city. Exquisitly decorated by the very stylish owner Nadia who is on hand all day long . The staff are wonderful, service second to none and we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a brisk 5 minute walk led by one of the staff from the main square through a souk and down some narrow alleyways, who could've guessed what lay behind the door in the wall !
A large beautifully decorated courtyard surrounded by traditional moroccan rooms over two floors topped with an imposing roof terrace.
The rooms are comfortable, the staff were wonderful and very helpful, even escorting us to some of the sights we wanted to visit, and the moroccan food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent position, ideal for tasting the atmosphere of the city. Hotel always very helpful with directions, and guidance on what to visit, and on several occasions insisting that we were accompanied by one of their team to ensure we took the best route through the medina. Lovely food, special attention as were are vegetarian and beautifully presented.
Accommodation great, authentic, interesting and very comfortable.
Exceptional service at all times, nothing was a problem.
Could not be faulted and we would not hesitate to recommend to even the most demanding of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

RIad Ilyaka is a centrally positioned riad 5 - 10 minutes walk from the main square (Place Jemmaa al Fna) in Marrakesh. The riad has good facilities with an excellent roof top terrace on one corner of which is a small turret that you can climb to get great views while you sit in comfort. The food in the riad was very good with the leisurely breakfasts been a high point. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and would go out of their way to be of assistance. We would certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful find, a small intimate Riad, down a quiet side street and a very easy walk to the traditional Souks selling quality goods and not the tat found near the Djemma el Fna square (the square).

When we first arrived it seemed a long walk from the the square to the Riad, however when timed later our walk, it was less than 10 minutes. However for serious shopper this Riad is ideally positioned for the network of Souks, take plenty of cash and bargain hard.
As stated above it is very intimate so you get a much personalised service, breakfast was good and the meals, allegedly, also very good.

The rooms were of a good size all centred around the main courtyard. On the second level you will be on the roof where sun loungers are set out and a small romantic tower that can be climbed to have that romantic setting watching the sunset over the rooftops of Marrakech. The Riad is very quiet and you do not hear any street noise
at all.

We had a meal the first night which was sound.

The second night we have a meal just of the square, re heated food was served.
So for the final night we decided to return to the Riad, whereupon all afternoon the aromas coming from the Kitchen put us into sensory overload.

Finally we sat down for a romantic dinner, then it happened, I managed to cover 50 metres faster than Usain Bolt, and then missed the whole dinner, alas I cannot give feedback on the meal
However my wife did inform me that it was the BEST tagine she has ever tasted and the best meal of the holiday.

This is a wonderful Riad and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Kingsley’s Top Tip....Watch where you eat in the square, the restaurant we went to was recommended in a well known guide book, but the food was clearly reheated and may have contributed to my condition. The Riad however cooked everything fresh, may be more expensive, but it will enhance your stay , and have far better food.

Footnote....No reviews undertaken of the restaurant in the square where we dined, as no hard proof that their food was at fault and such a damming speculative review could have business changing consequences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 477 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ilayka is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Riad I layka offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Riad Ilayka you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.