We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm behind an unassuming brown door” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Save Saved
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm behind an unassuming brown door”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

After a brisk 5 minute walk led by one of the staff from the main square through a souk and down some narrow alleyways, who could've guessed what lay behind the door in the wall !
A large beautifully decorated courtyard surrounded by traditional moroccan rooms over two floors topped with an imposing roof terrace.
The rooms are comfortable, the staff were wonderful and very helpful, even escorting us to some of the sights we wanted to visit, and the moroccan food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
53
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent position, ideal for tasting the atmosphere of the city. Hotel always very helpful with directions, and guidance on what to visit, and on several occasions insisting that we were accompanied by one of their team to ensure we took the best route through the medina. Lovely food, special attention as were are vegetarian and beautifully presented.
Accommodation great, authentic, interesting and very comfortable.
Exceptional service at all times, nothing was a problem.
Could not be faulted and we would not hesitate to recommend to even the most demanding of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

RIad Ilyaka is a centrally positioned riad 5 - 10 minutes walk from the main square (Place Jemmaa al Fna) in Marrakesh. The riad has good facilities with an excellent roof top terrace on one corner of which is a small turret that you can climb to get great views while you sit in comfort. The food in the riad was very good with the leisurely breakfasts been a high point. All the staff we came into contact with were friendly and would go out of their way to be of assistance. We would certainly recommend this to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful find, a small intimate Riad, down a quiet side street and a very easy walk to the traditional Souks selling quality goods and not the tat found near the Djemma el Fna square (the square).

When we first arrived it seemed a long walk from the the square to the Riad, however when timed later our walk, it was less than 10 minutes. However for serious shopper this Riad is ideally positioned for the network of Souks, take plenty of cash and bargain hard.
As stated above it is very intimate so you get a much personalised service, breakfast was good and the meals, allegedly, also very good.

The rooms were of a good size all centred around the main courtyard. On the second level you will be on the roof where sun loungers are set out and a small romantic tower that can be climbed to have that romantic setting watching the sunset over the rooftops of Marrakech. The Riad is very quiet and you do not hear any street noise
at all.

We had a meal the first night which was sound.

The second night we have a meal just of the square, re heated food was served.
So for the final night we decided to return to the Riad, whereupon all afternoon the aromas coming from the Kitchen put us into sensory overload.

Finally we sat down for a romantic dinner, then it happened, I managed to cover 50 metres faster than Usain Bolt, and then missed the whole dinner, alas I cannot give feedback on the meal
However my wife did inform me that it was the BEST tagine she has ever tasted and the best meal of the holiday.

This is a wonderful Riad and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Kingsley’s Top Tip....Watch where you eat in the square, the restaurant we went to was recommended in a well known guide book, but the food was clearly reheated and may have contributed to my condition. The Riad however cooked everything fresh, may be more expensive, but it will enhance your stay , and have far better food.

Footnote....No reviews undertaken of the restaurant in the square where we dined, as no hard proof that their food was at fault and such a damming speculative review could have business changing consequences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teruel, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Marrakech is defenitely a place that is worth visiting. However, if you visit it during the summer you have to acknowledge that it will be very hot (in our case, above 50 degrees). In those conditions is recommended to be as much comfortable as you can. We were in Riad Ilayka and our experience was more than excellent. It was like being in one thousand and one night story. Rooms are spacious, extremely clean and beautiful. The facilities are also excellent. One thing that deserves particular attention is the breakfast, which is abundant and delicious. However, more important than the Riad itself is its team. I travel a lot and I have never found a team like this. Hanan is an outstanding manager and she offers you all the details and advices you need to make your life easier in Marrakech. Mohamed and Hassan are two extraordinary complements to Hanan. Any doubt or request you have is immediately solved by them. In sum, to us Riad Ilayka is a highly recommend option to be in Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Ilayka for 2 days. What an amazing experience!
The rooms and grounds are gorgeous, with so much attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious. The location could not be better. The plunge pool on the roof terrace was refreshing after a long day in the hot Souks! But the best of all was the excellent service provided by Nadia and her staff. Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations publiques at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Henriquez,


Thank you for taking the time to post on our property.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

warmest regards

hanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

What a fabulous place, hidden in the heart of the old town. Our host Anna was extremely friendly and welcoming. The rooms were fantastic and Mohammed was a brilliant waiter along with the mouthwatering food. Enjoy the amazing view from the roof terrace, it will take your breath away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations publiques at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
I would like to thank you sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments,
Simo and I thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit to Marrakech will be at Riad ILAYKA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.