We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and elegant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Warracknabeal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Serene and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Serene and elegant - full of surprises - this beautifully renovated 19th C courtyard building, its fantastic rooms, its food and especially the delightful people who staff this Raid. I loved their kindness, their being Maroccan, their pride in their professional duties in the Riad, their care in making sure I could make my way to destinations and back, and their tolerance for my French, knowing they could also speak English when I needed, and Arabic, which was lyrical to listen to, even when I didn't understand.

While people seem to think of Marrakech as a destination for shopping in the busy souks, I would suggest that Riad Ilayka should also be thought of as a destination in itself - for a time of slowing down and relaxing in the facilities it has within its four intriguing floors.

My ten day stay here, based on a World Congress, the WEEC2013, was the most cared for experience I have ever had. I would have been so content to have been able to rest here longer. Rest? Yes, once inside the cool lobby, despite the business of the souks being within a five-minute walk, Riad Ilayka was a world apart.

I woke each morning to the gentle twittering of the birds who live in the Riad. They could be heard in the day too, complemented by relaxing music in many styles and the trickle of the fountain. The courtyard itself uplifted my spirits with its trees, flowers, fountain, and the rich wood doors and windows set against the white walls of the buildings.

Returning to the Riad each afternoon, there was a refreshing a mint tea or fruit juice. The Jacuzzi on the rooftop terrace was a soft pleasant temperature to relax in after a couple of hours on my feet. Dining was provided in several open-air exquisite settings from the courtyard floor to the terraces and the gazebo, where a gentle wind played over the rooftops as the soft shades of sunset dissipated into the open sky night. The delicious 'home' cooked traditional meals for breakfast and dinner with their professional service were so enjoyable.

To all of you who make up the 'family' of Riad Ilayka - Nadia, Hannane, Assan, Halima, Loubna, and Simon - thankyou for all the acts of kindness that came so naturally from your warm hearts as you welcome guests to your part of the world. May you all continue to do what you do so exquisitely for a long time to come. Merci bien. I would love to return again some day.

Note - re review buttons ,
1 there is no swimming pool, but I used the Jacuzzi as one, as I like to lie around rather than swim, which suited me and there was no N/A choice,
2 there is no fitness centre, but for me the stairs up to the rooms, terrace, Jacuzzi, and gazebo were keeping me fit, along with walking in the Medina.

Room Tip: This is a small Riad with each room individually decorated, but on a colour theme, so ask for a tour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations publiques at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Jeanie,

All the staff, Nadia and I are most grateful we thank you very heartily for the time you have given to write your nice words about our Riad and Services, . We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon to share good times again!


Hanan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
72
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just back from a week in Morocco which included 3 nights at the wonderful Riad Ilyaka. Having arrived in the main square in Marrakech, we were escorted through the medina, down winding alleys to a door, through which we found an oasis of calm and luxury. The Riad is simply stunning, and the bedrooms the most equisitve I have ever seen. We were the only guests so were given a tour of all the rooms, and allowed to pick the one we wanted. A hard decisions as they are all so beautiful. Each is unique, and an exercise in Morocan oppulance. The staff were wonderful, the food delicious. The location is perfect as you are situated in the heart of this crazy city, yet as soon as you close the door to the riad, you are in a calm, tranquiI paradise. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations publiques at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our Riad We are so happy to know how much you have appreciated the house service and stuff’s attention and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and food.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in Riad ILAYKA.
Sincerely

Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Oh how superior is this luxury Riad to any hotel !
The staff are wonderful and have looked after us so well. Riad Ilayka is a luxury oasis of peace and clam in the medina of Marrakech.
We ate here every night because the food and service were so good. We knew we coud not do better any where else in Marrakech.
Thank you everyone for making our brief stay so memorable such a joy.
Sure we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Camel,

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Riad ILAYKA. the whole team joins us in thanking you for your comment, we will do every thing we can to make your next stay memorable.

Best Regards

Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank you all so much for making our stay so comfortable, and so memorable. The decoration in our bedroom was wonderful and very nice!
We enjoyed a delicious meal on our first evening and it was highly recommend the quality and the variety of the food prepared.
We both love Marrakech and will be back again some day, and we will telling all our family, friends and colleagues, that the Riad Ilayka is the only place to stay in Marrakech.
With best wishes!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Janet,
we are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our Riad we work entirly for your satisfaction and this is a real reward that your stay was success and we will consider your comment to improve the quality of our services.
all our team hope to see yoo soon.

kind regards

Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meifod, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We cannot praise Nadia and all the staff enough for their kindness and help during our 6 nightstay at the riad. We had booked for 3 nights b ut my husband was taken ill and ended up in hospital. I was looked after as was my husband once he was out and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are gorgeous, the food is out of this world and the riad is an oasis of tranquility. With superb service and care on top of all this, there can't be a better riad in Marrakech.

Room Tip: Upper floors have A/C but though our room didn't, we were cool in spite of temperatures in upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Wendy

Thank you a lot for your nice comment it will be an added value to improve our services in order to satisfy all your expectations and let them come true during your next stay in our Riad.
all my bests wishes

Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed in Riad Ilayka for 2 nights and found the staff very warm, helpful and welcoming. Delicious meals cooked and refreshments offered when we returned during the day - even breakfast when we arrived to check in. Rooms were very pretty and well maintained. An ideal base for a trip to Marrakech. Would love to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments,
Nadia and I thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit to Marrakech will be at Riad ILAYKA
We all look forward to be of at your service once again.
Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Ilayka is how I pictured a riad all my life - charming, authentic and hidden away from the vibrating Medina of Marrakech. We were greeted at the front door and escorted to the reception area for a refreshing drink with amazing cookies. Nadia, the owner, the staff of Hassan and Abdul were incredibly helpful and polite. They were absolutely superb!
The intimate setting and the handful of richly decorated rooms was exactly what we wanted in a riad. We had a room in the upper floor with the attached terrace. Nadia gave us the choice of having breakfast in the main court yard or just a few steps from our room, on the terrace. We felt like we were in good hands.
The labyrinth of alleyways enhances the charm of Ilayka's location. It was only 15 minutes to walk to Jemaa el Fna and in between is a sensory overload of sights, sounds, and smells. We enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Clients,

I would like to sincerely thank you for sharing with us your nice words
Your positive feedback has been shared with the team, which will encourage all of us to continue our effort to get your satisfaction.

cordially

Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.