We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will recommend Riad Ilayka to everybody” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
København, Danmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We will recommend Riad Ilayka to everybody”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved everything about the Riad Ilayka.
The atmosphere, the staff, the look, the placement. It was all amazing. Nadia, Moutaa, Abullah, Hassan and the girls made the stay unforgetable. The rooms are all like the rooms of an arabic palace. It is located in the perfect distance from Jamaa El Fna.
The Riad can be difficult to find, so it is a good idea to arrange transfer with the Riad from the airport or you can take a cab from the airport (Haggle about the price. They will say 200 dirham, but you don't have to pay more than 80-100 dirhams) the taxi can not drive all the way to the Hotel so you will be dropped of somewhere. Somebody will for sure ask where you are going and offer to show you the way. Agree on the price before you agree to go with them (20 dirhams must be enough).
The breakfast is so nice, a lot of different things to choose from and something different everyday. And fresh juice.
On the roof is a berbertent with a view all over the city. Romantic, cosy and authentic.

We will recommend Riad Ilayka to everybody we know and we will surely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. You can se the different rooms at the homepage. They each have a special nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Client;

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed at Riad ILAYKA
we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Rgards

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
71
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wonderful staff in a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location!

Escorted from our bus through the square, via the Souk to narrow passages and then the magic door to the Riad. Behind the door exceptional service, lovely rooms and great food.

Moutaa, manager and now friend, looked after us, shopped with us and generally spoilt us.

When we return to Marrakech there will be only one place to stay. Riad Ilanyka.

They couldnt have done more for us!

Brilliant

Bob and Dorothy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear BOB & DOROTHY ;

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Riad ILAYKA. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared the feedback with our staff.

Many thanks and looking forwards welcoming you again

Kindlly

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Riad Ilayka for 3 nights in mid January. We were both a little worried about the timing of our trip at this time of the year. As it turned out our worries were unfounded as the weather in Marrakesh was superb - sunny but not overbearingly hot - and the centre of Marrakesh was bustling but not overwhelmed by crowds of tourists. Due to bad weather at Gatwick our flight was delayed and we did not arrive until late in the evening. It was then that our fantastic Riad Ilayka experience kicked in. We were met at or taxi drop-off point by Hassan and Abdou who are ever present to offer help. They carried our bags as we negotiated the narrow alleyways of the medina and souks to the door of our Riad. Totally impossible to find with a map and very reassuring to have our guides show us the way. As we entered the large wooden door of the Riad we were warmly greeted by the proprietor Nadia and offered our first of many tastings of delicious Moroccan tea. Our bags were taken to our room while we settled down in the peaceful courtyard dining area for a delicious late evening meal of traditional Moroccan food including a delicious chicken tagine and a bottle of wine. The food in the Riad is possibly the best you would find anywhere in this exhilarating small city and it is one of the few places in the Medina where it is possible to get an alcoholic drink.
We were shown to our beautiful room, one of eight individually decorated in traditional Moroccan style giving an overall appearance of a palace straight out of 1001 Arabian Nights! After an excellent night’s sleep it was down to breakfast cooked by Halima and Bouchra whose smiles radiated around the Riad. We spent our first day strolling around the Souks and square sidestepping the snake charmers, storytellers, gymnasts and many others that night and day gravitate towards this world famous square and once again Hassan and Abdou were on hand to familiarise us with the locality where it is so easy to get lost.
Our second day was in total contrast to the first. We were taken by our guide Azziz into the Atlas mountains by our own 4x4 Camel for the highlight of our trip (adil.camel@gmail.com) We delighted in the fantastic scenery, visited a Berber market, a women’s co-operative where Argon oil is produced by hand and had lunch with a Berber family in a remote mountain village. An unforgettable experience and a must for any visitor to Marrakesh.
All of the staff at the Riad Ilayka are super friendly and no request is too great, including asking for an open log fire to be lit in our room – surely something that would not be allowed in any Western hotel but entirely safe and cosy in our Arabian Palace! On the rare occasion when one of our questions could not be answered by Nadia a phone call was made to the Riad manager Moutaa who was on holiday in Paris and we were able to discuss our needs with her across the continents. Such service and attention to detail is in my experience unequalled. Thank you to everyone for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Client;

Many thanks for your nice review! We were very happy to welcome you with us at Riad ILAYKA
and we hope to see you again

Best wishes

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I booked 2 rooms and were very pleased with our choice to stay at Riad Ilayka. Navigating the narrow backstreets we arrived at a modest entrance and were delighted when we saw the beautiful decor that opened up. The furnishings made us feel part of the exotic locale and were much more interesting than the usual hotel room. Breakfast was delicious, the beds comfortable and the marketplace is mere minutes away. We could not have expected more - but more is what we got!

As delightful as the accommodations were the best part was clearly the exceptional service. From the moment we arrived, everyone on the staff made us feel genuinely welcomed and were constantly alert for any unmet needs. From arranging transportation, helping us locate sites of interest (yes, on several occasions a staff member walked with us to sites we had difficulty finding), and providing those little conveniences like an electrical adaptor, Moutaa and her staff went to great lengths to ensure that we enjoyed a most pleasant stay. I'll gladly recommend Riad Ilyaka to my closest friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear James;

Thank you for your nice feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome you warmly.
We are very happy to know that you went back home with good memories, and we wait for your next visit at RIAD ILAYKA.

Kind Regards

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Our group booked 5 rooms out of their total 7 rooms and there're no other guests so we pretty much have the place for ourselves.

This place is so beautiful I feel like I am living in a magazine. The service is excellent. We were having trouble walk to the maze to reach this hotel but the manager always send someone to pick us up from the square here and back. When we ask how they prepare the mint tea, the manager eagerly gave us the demonstration and a quick lesson, when we make a request they even buy us the good quality moroccan tea for us.

We Thai people love taking pictures (especially my family) so we were having a great time here. It looks beautiful in every corners. My family were every picky about breakfast and I think we were giving them hard times ordering too many things but they were service-minded people and always responded quickly to our demands.

The manager is very helpful in helping us planing our trips in Marakesh we won't be able to do it without her, thanks Moutaa Chraibi. She also accompanied us to shopping! Without her we would not enjoy our shopping as we did, she is one aggressive bargainer!

Very impressed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Propriétaire at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
On behalf of the entire team we wish you a very good luck in Spain and a safe return to your beautiful country, Riad Ilayka is your home and we will be one honored to welcome you to nouveau.Bien hello to all my Friends and your super mom
Nadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

So, we arrived in Marrakesh on very short notice after abandoning rainy Spain. We stayed in another Ryad prior to this one which was absolutely excellent in every way so we were disappointed with the lack of friendliness at this Ryad when we arrived. The manager was not in attendance when we arrived so we made allowance for this. The rooms are beautifully furnished, exquisite actually, but very dark ( quite common for this part of the world). The Whole Ryad is very pretty and well appointed, though there are no locks on the bedroom doors so you cannot lock your room when you're out. The house boy that was on duty while we stayed there should find another job, sullen, unfriendly and clearly not enjoying his job . One day we arrived back at the Ryad after a day of shopping and rang the bell time and time again for about 20 mins but no one answered. We eventually returned to the previous Ryad that we stayed at and they rang the manager for us. There was some weak excuse about the house boy not hearing the bell and that he was up stairs and we eventually got access. We suspect he was asleep. The manager when she was around tried her best to make us feel comfortable but the feeling of this Ryad was no where near as good ad the previous place we stayed...unfortunately. Very pretty though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Cris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Above all your compliments on the design and the Riad itself affect us and encourage us for the future
Otherwise I’ m saddened to see that you did not experience the service levels which Riad Ilayka is known for. Let me inform you that the Riad was normally closed for a few days and all the staff on days off, but the manager agree to receive you and explained you the situation by telephone before, so she did call for an extra night auditor
Rest assured, we were using your review to improve services and we had already done since your stay. Know that this person is no longer part of our staff after this incident and following your comment we are even more vigilant even for extra people.
Again, I would like to apologize for these inconsistencies in our service that you experienced

I sincerely hope to welcome you a day at Riad ILAYKA and make you forget that incident

sincerely,
Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunnen, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Riad Ilayka was just wunderful. We couldn't find anything negativ. Awesome service by Muotaa and Hassan as well as a fantastic breakfast. Riad Ilayka is very well located, only about a 5 minute walk from "the place" and in the middle of souks. The decoration of the Riad and the rooms is just sensational - it make you feel like in 1001 night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.