We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Moroccan Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Ilayka

Save Saved
You added Riad Ilayka to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Ilayka
78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“My Moroccan Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Our group booked 5 rooms out of their total 7 rooms and there're no other guests so we pretty much have the place for ourselves.

This place is so beautiful I feel like I am living in a magazine. The service is excellent. We were having trouble walk to the maze to reach this hotel but the manager always send someone to pick us up from the square here and back. When we ask how they prepare the mint tea, the manager eagerly gave us the demonstration and a quick lesson, when we make a request they even buy us the good quality moroccan tea for us.

We Thai people love taking pictures (especially my family) so we were having a great time here. It looks beautiful in every corners. My family were every picky about breakfast and I think we were giving them hard times ordering too many things but they were service-minded people and always responded quickly to our demands.

The manager is very helpful in helping us planing our trips in Marakesh we won't be able to do it without her, thanks Moutaa Chraibi. She also accompanied us to shopping! Without her we would not enjoy our shopping as we did, she is one aggressive bargainer!

Very impressed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Propriétaire at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
On behalf of the entire team we wish you a very good luck in Spain and a safe return to your beautiful country, Riad Ilayka is your home and we will be one honored to welcome you to nouveau.Bien hello to all my Friends and your super mom
Nadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
60
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

So, we arrived in Marrakesh on very short notice after abandoning rainy Spain. We stayed in another Ryad prior to this one which was absolutely excellent in every way so we were disappointed with the lack of friendliness at this Ryad when we arrived. The manager was not in attendance when we arrived so we made allowance for this. The rooms are beautifully furnished, exquisite actually, but very dark ( quite common for this part of the world). The Whole Ryad is very pretty and well appointed, though there are no locks on the bedroom doors so you cannot lock your room when you're out. The house boy that was on duty while we stayed there should find another job, sullen, unfriendly and clearly not enjoying his job . One day we arrived back at the Ryad after a day of shopping and rang the bell time and time again for about 20 mins but no one answered. We eventually returned to the previous Ryad that we stayed at and they rang the manager for us. There was some weak excuse about the house boy not hearing the bell and that he was up stairs and we eventually got access. We suspect he was asleep. The manager when she was around tried her best to make us feel comfortable but the feeling of this Ryad was no where near as good ad the previous place we stayed...unfortunately. Very pretty though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Cris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
Above all your compliments on the design and the Riad itself affect us and encourage us for the future
Otherwise I’ m saddened to see that you did not experience the service levels which Riad Ilayka is known for. Let me inform you that the Riad was normally closed for a few days and all the staff on days off, but the manager agree to receive you and explained you the situation by telephone before, so she did call for an extra night auditor
Rest assured, we were using your review to improve services and we had already done since your stay. Know that this person is no longer part of our staff after this incident and following your comment we are even more vigilant even for extra people.
Again, I would like to apologize for these inconsistencies in our service that you experienced

I sincerely hope to welcome you a day at Riad ILAYKA and make you forget that incident

sincerely,
Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunnen, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Our stay at Riad Ilayka was just wunderful. We couldn't find anything negativ. Awesome service by Muotaa and Hassan as well as a fantastic breakfast. Riad Ilayka is very well located, only about a 5 minute walk from "the place" and in the middle of souks. The decoration of the Riad and the rooms is just sensational - it make you feel like in 1001 night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Morrocco where we were in fact booked into a different Riyad but for various reasons, our agent had to change it so we ended up here. My only complaint about this was that this Riad should have been reccommended by our agent in the first place! It was brilliant. The Riad itself is absolutely beautiful - really classy and understated elegance in a perfect location, only moments from the souqs and main square. However, it was the service which made this one of the best places I have ever stayed. We travelled with our 11 month old baby and the manager and staff made us so at home. They cooked her special foods, played with her, entertained her while we had our dinner so we could enjoy it in peace and were, all in all, wonderful. I would also second the comments about the food in this Riad. I have on previous trips to Morrocco eaten in all the big name restaurants (Yacout, Dar Marjana, Bo+ Zin etc) and the food here beats all of those hands down. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

On arriving in Marrakech you are at once caught up in the husle and bustle of this busy city. Mixes the old with the new very well. Lots of large hotels but for us to escape from the souk and walk down intricate alleyways to the heart of Marrakech and so to the Riad Ilayka. A small black highly polished door greets you and when you knock you walk in to utter peace and tranquility. There is a central courtyard and at its centre the traditional water fountain. The greeting is warm and friendly and Mohammed brings guests mint tea and pastries. Then to our rooms. They are all different but beautifully furnished to a very high satndard. Some are on the ground floor while others are on the next level. If you want to explore to the highest terrace there is a real treat waiting for you. The view over all the roof tops of the old town is wonderful and there is a plunge pool/jacuzzi and comffortable beds to lie and relax. I could say more but you need to see for yourself - I am sure that this Riad will not disappoint! We will definitely return and I hope it will be soon.

Room Tip: All rooms have showers and some have baths as well. So if you want both be specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here. Couldn't recomend it enough! The owner made sure she was there to welcome us and show us around the whole Riad which has only reopened in the past 4 months. The location is perfect as is is near the 'Big Square' and all the Souks but is in a very peaceful, quiet streets where we could find solace after a day of haggling in the markets.

The rooms are gorgeous and beautifully decorated with Moroccan charm and the courtyard is so pretty. The manager Moutta couldn't do enough for us. We had a fantastic cooking lesson and she arranged a day trip out of the city as well as tranfers with a very reliable taxi company. There is a hot tub on the roof which was divine after a long days shopping and we also had shisha pipe in the pagoda at night and were able to look across the whole city. Besides all this she gave us advice on how much to spend for various items i.e. teapots and poofs and even came shopping with us and bartered with sellers in Arabic so we got many bargains!!!

Amazing stay - never had such great service before for such a fantastic price. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

When we walked through the doors of the Riad, we were welcomed by a warm and home-like setting, that put us at ease immediately. Then the refreshing fresh drinks were presented to us and we immediately relaxed after the long trip we just had.

The staff is friendly and always smiling; you can see how much pride they take in making your stay a memorable one. Mohammed took us on a tour of the Riad and made sure we visited every corner, terrace and other amazingly decorated common areas, especially the tower at the top... what a view and what a place to enjoy quiet moments at sunset. And Halima... at Riad Ilayka, they tell you to "forget your watch"; indeed, no matter what time we woke up, a delicious breakfast was ready within minutes and served on the patio downstairs. Halima's omelettes are the best I have had in such a long time.

As for Moutâa... she is the most amazing and welcoming manager I have ever met. She treated us like family, gave us advice about what to do in the old Medina, what places to visit, how to maneuver through the vendors in the souk and the "entertainers" in Place Jamee El Fna; she even organized tours for us and made us the most amazing dinners we've had. She gets to know you then she gives you really customized advice.

We received 5-star service while staying in what felt like a warm welcoming family home. Thank you Riad Ilayka for making our stay so memorable... we will come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Milouda is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Dar Milouda offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Dar Milouda you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Ilayka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.