We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value as we got 50% off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Darma to your Saves list
Riad Dar Darma
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #370 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value as we got 50% off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in two different hotels in Marrakesh-- Dar Darma and the Riad Idra. They are about the same price, very different in style but both are very luxurious and comfortable. To be honest, we like the Riad Idra better and think it's of better value, but the stay at Dar Darma is a very unique experience which we did not regret either.

On Arrival- We spent our 1st night in Morocco here. Since I wanted to avoid bargaining with taxi driver after our long flight, I booked the airport transfer (150DH) for the four of us. The driver arrived early and was holding a sign which said "Dar Darma". He was polite and friendly, waited for us while we exchanged the money and told us a little about the area during the short drive (~20min) We were a little nervous when he dropped us off on a busy street where a young man took our luggages from the trunk and put on his he tricycle without a word. We assumed he was the porter from the hotel and followed him to an alley, where he asked us for a 100DH. We didn't know that was the door of the hotel as there was no sign, so we got quite alarmed as we worried he would just leave our luggages there if we didn't pay. Finally we gave him 50DH and the door was opened, not a very welcoming experience.

The hotel- The first impression- a labyrinth of long corridors, dark and mysterious. Things got better afterwards as we got used to the dimness and entered the brightly-lit courtyard. The rooftop terrace where we had dinner and breakfast was lovely too, we could have good view of the medina from there. There were lots of steep stairs, people with mobility problem should take caution.

Room- Very uniquely decorated, like the other reviewer's described, "private luxury in a shabby chic, story book way". We had never stayed in a room quite like this, so it was a very special experience for us. The red room was very spacious with lots of details, tho some furnitures appeared to be a bit aged (or was that the design?), everything was super clean and neat. We wondered how they could keep everything so clean and dust-free as there were lots of decorations. There were two bathrooms with three showers in the room, they were not bad, water pressure ok and water temperature stable. Would appreciate toiletries such as shower caps, cotton swabs, shampoo and lotion etc to make Dar Darma a real 5-star hotel.

Service- On arrival we were a bit annoyed because of the greedy porter, but the staff calmed us down in no time with mint tea and very nice service. We were severed by mainly one guy (sorry I didn't get the name>.<), he took all our suitcases into the room by himself while we enjoyed our mint tea. During our stay, he treated us like royalty, very friendly, attentive and helpful, and when we offered him tips, he refused and left the tips in our room. The staff was very thoughtful, I asked for hot water at night to make some drinks, and he brought me a tray with cups, a pot of hot water with spoons.

Meals- We had one of the nicest dinner here during our ten days in Morocco. We shared 3 dinner sets (chickenx2, beefx1) among 4 people since we had small appetites. The chicken and beef were all soft and tender, nicely flavoured even to our spoilt Chinese taste buds. Breakfast was bountiful with fresh fruits and homemade bakery. We really enjoyed our meals a lot, thanks to Maria.

Location- very centrally located, close to the square and other attractions. There are many shops around too. Need to pay extra attention as the area is very touristy and there are lots of locals trying to make money from tourists.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay tho Dar Darma was more like a unique boutique B&B than a 5-star hotel. The value was good since we paid half price only (~EUR 180 for the red room for four). It would be overpriced if we had to pay the full price... I suppose ~EUR 250-300 would be a more reasonable price for a stay of this quality.

Room Tip: we stayed in the red room (known as "presidential suite" on splendia, very spacious with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    22
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
52
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This riad is amazing.... The staff treated us like royalty, the rooms are stunning, with parts of it dating back hundreds of years. This place is like a sanctuary. We have stayed in Marrakech around six times previous to this visit, staying at a 5* hotel & other riads... All of which are of a 5* status, but this place just has the edge on all the others.

The staff at dar darma are so professional & attentive, they go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable time.
They offer you drinks while you are relaxing in the sun to make sure you are not dehydrated !
They even arranged taxi's for us that were like having a personal chauffeur & took us door to door, even ensuring our friends made it back to their own riad safely.

Anything we asked for, the staff at Dar Darma were able to fetch it /find it/ bring it/cook it. I really enjoyed the 5 days I spent here .... And plan to return, with friends.

This is the perfect place to escape with your other half but is very different from staying in a "hotel".... More like staying in someone's private residence with fantastic staff. It was very clean & the food & wine here are really good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Dar Darma is an oasis of calm in a totaly hectic city. Behind an unimposing entrance is a secret world waiting to be discovered by those fortunate enough to stay there. We had a lovely suite which was filled with all sorts of interesting antiques and marvelously quirky bathrooms. Lovely and attentive staff who could not be more helpful (Maria deserves a mention!). Breakfast on the top deck was very nice indeed and there is even a small swimming pool if you fancy a quick dip. A great place to stay to take in the charms of the Souk and Medina so close to everything it really is a great place to stay-will be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in the red apartment. It is darkly bohemian beautiful.
It is private luxury in a shabby chic, story book way.
The service is very personal, and super friendly.
The food has a very nice morrocan-home-cooked feel to it.
And the Dar Darma location great - but bring a small compass to find your way in the Medina.
Over all a luxury treat for persons - who do not need everything to bee new, whole and shiny.

Room Tip: Pick the red or blue apartment for extra luxury, or the smaller and lighter patio suites, higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This visit is our fourth return to Marrakech from Geneva to escape from the European winter and our fourth visit to Dar Darma for what has become our annual tradition. What has made our visits so special has been not only the initial charm of this Riad, but of the remarkable care and personal attention that the Dar Darma team gives to us each time. The first time we visited was our first romantic getaway... and each winter we now return with new friends and family to share this magical home. From Maria's exquisite cuisine to the impeccable service and attention to detail that each of the team members--Said, Hicham and Abdo--provide, to the atmosphere of beauty the decor and design provide... it is an escape that makes one feel like royalty; but also like family. Come to Marrakech for the buzz of the markets and to be overwhelmed by your senses, but return to Dar Darma to recharge, enjoy a private Hammam, soak quiet moments of sun on the terrace...

Room Tip: Red apartment for a romantic couple getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just back from Dar Darma! A perfect and delicious place to choose in Marrakech.
A charming riad with italian touch, remembering me a palace in Venezia.
Stay in Red apartment, a huge one with painted wooden ceilings, stucco work, old doors and luxurious furnishings. Love the bathroom with the door hidden on the wardrove...like Narnia!
Stuff very attentive.
Had a delicious cooking lesson with Maria, the cook of the riad.
And has also a fantastic plus, after 10 o'clock in the evening the taxis can leave us just in front of the riad door ... no need to walk in the labirintic streets of Marrakech medina!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, costa rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

First the good.

This place is absolutely beautiful. It's basically a museum and we are lucky that a place like this exists for us to enjoy for a small piece of time...The staff, pool, food and drink were great as well.

The bad.
Get your stuff together Dar Darma! Every time we stepped out of the hotel we basically got mugged by a group of teens. At one point we didn't even want to leave the hotel. We had previously stayed on the other side of the city and had no problems at all.

On our last night, we decided to go out anyway and on the way home I had to fight two teens, one with a knife while my wife banged on the door to let us it.

Absolutely trash garbage. If you're going to run a hotel in a austere gang area, at least pay them off to not F with your guests.

Also I saw a ghost in our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Darma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.