We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs a little more attention to detail” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Darma to your Saves list
Riad Dar Darma
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #388 of 1,101 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but needs a little more attention to detail”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Atmospheric riad with spacious rooms all individually decorated,but some of the furnishings a little shabby now. Stayed in the red apartment and hot water pressure very poor so a bath was impossible. No robes in the rooms and on request were brought dirty ones which when replaced were taken away the next morning. Same thing happened again. Hammam basic and massage expensive and no proper facilities. External masseur arrived to do massage in my room, he brought no towels and suggested I lie on my robe. He did not observe any massage etiquette and expected me to lay entirely naked on the bed. Also tried cookery lesson which was interesting but again expensive for what was provided. However all staff very helpful and the riad is close to the souk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
53
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My Wife and i Just returned from a short break at Dar Darma and we cant speak highly enough of it.. This is our first ever review on Tripadvisor and it was our experience at Dar Darma that has prompted us to leave one.
First of all, the Riad is Beautiful. The renovation of the Riad has been done to an Amazing standard with striking Authentic decor and features, that are stylish and Elegant yet luxurious and comfortable. I could have easily shuffled around in my moroccan slippers for weeks on end pretending i really lived there!
That is the beauty of Dar Darma, we actually felt like we were staying in a luxury home, rather than a posh but sterile hotel.The Staff were all super friendly, attentive to your needs but not in your face all the time, so we really felt like we could relax in a way i never can if im staying in a swanky hotel.
We used the Hamman on a daily basis and it was one of the best we used in our full trip to Marocco. We took breakfast ( a very generous and tasty start to the day) in a few different locations in the Riad including the gorgeous terrace that opens out the door of the MIrror suite. Dinner was excellent, we had a superb local platter of salads and pastries, and beautiful spiced soup, followed by 2 superbly cooked tagines. Service was impecable polite, friendly and attentive, nothing too much trouble... In fact we really liked the level and style of service throughout our stay. We really felt welcome rather than the sense of falseness you sometimes feel in luxury large hotels......
I read a previous ladies review complaining that the lights were too dark in the room!! so what! it makes an amazing atmosphere which is part of the character of the place...take a torch if you really need to see what colour your underwear is in the wardrobe... But to be fair, if your the kind of person that is bothered about having led lights in your wardrobe, you probably shouldn't be in Marrakech, and if you are, stay at the hilton and save places like Dar Darma for the rest of us! My only negative comments if the hotel is reading this, (and i only mention it as im sure you would appreciate the feedback),would be that whilst the room and the bed was fantastic,whilst clean and refreshed daily the actual bedding in our room,(sheets, duvet,pillows and covers) could probably do with a refresh and an upgrade to something a bit more luxurious and new, as ours had seen better days, although this would not stop me staying here again. I cant recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mirror room which was dark and moody, high ceilings, chais long for relaxing... we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midhurst
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have just returned from 5 days at Dar Darma and having never bothered to leave a review for anywhere we ve ever stayed before this time I had to. This riad and its staff are simply wonderful. Service attentive but not over the top and the decor is like something from a magazine - a little tired maybe but this adds to the charm.

The location is ideal and at no point did we feel nervous walking through the narrow streets even at night. If you are unsure the staff at Dar Darma will take you and collect you from anywhere.

Do get collected from the airport you will never find it without!!

If going to Marrakech an absolute must!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing amazing amazing. My friend and I just returned from a great 4 days staying in Riad Dar Darma. The staff could not do enough for us, decor was beautiful and food was great. One of the best located riads in Marrakech. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Red Apartment in Dar Darma is mesmerizingly beautiful with incredible decor and stunning architecture. The Riad is a perfect harmony of modern and historical and is one of the most beautiful settings from which to enjoy amazing Marrakech.

Room Tip: Red Apartment is perfect for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

From the moment we were collected from Marrakech airport we were treated to the luxurious, private and friendly 'home from home' at the Riad Dar Darma. The staff were exceptionlly kind to us, and ensured that we were well looked after. We were upgraded to the Red Apartment; a suite bigger than our own home, with ornate and opulant decorations and traditional Moroccan styling. The bed we chose (there were two!) was amazingly comfortable, and gave us the best nights sleep following a week of excitement and nerves prior to our wedding! We were spoilt by having two bathrooms and a lovely living space. Even better, it seems that people avoid Marrakech in the 40 degree summer;'s heat- but as this beautiful riad has a rooftop pool, it became our private pool for our 4 day trip- AMAZING! All staff treated us so politely and were beyond helpful, telling us 'This is your house now'.

We took up the offer of dinner on the roof terrace on our first night, and it was delicious. We hope we can re-create the gorgeous dinner in our newly purchased tagine! Breakfasts were also plentiful. The staff make sure that you have their number in case you do get lost- they will collect you! We were able to avoid this, but it was always reassuring to know.

The 'Big Square' and Souks were very nearby and easy enough to find- but even if you have a good inner compass, exploring the narrow and winding streets of Marrakech will still defeat you. You will get lost! Enjoy the relaxation and luxury that Riad Dar Darma offers and the hustle and bustle of the colourful city of Marrakech- a perfect balance!

Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The Red Apartment stays perfectly cool in the summer's heat- lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

in the middle of the Marrakech medina, a quiet and luxurious riad where you feel at home
exquisitely decorated by its owners with local objects, antiques and Moroccan details all around
rooms are very quiet, maybe a bit dark for some tastes, but providing absolute privacy
breakfast at the rooftop terrace is a must!
they also do dinners on request, and arrange airport transfers for all guests at a small cost
and you also have the famous Foundouk restaurant behind the hotel, worth visiting
the riad is a short walk to the Jema el Fna plaza (if you don´t get lost, which is very easy)
the staff at the hotel is well educated, nice and attentive, always at the client´s disposal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 1,101 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia and Escapio so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Darma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.