We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Darma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #389 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Amazing amazing amazing. My friend and I just returned from a great 4 days staying in Riad Dar Darma. The staff could not do enough for us, decor was beautiful and food was great. One of the best located riads in Marrakech. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Red Apartment in Dar Darma is mesmerizingly beautiful with incredible decor and stunning architecture. The Riad is a perfect harmony of modern and historical and is one of the most beautiful settings from which to enjoy amazing Marrakech.

Room Tip: Red Apartment is perfect for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

From the moment we were collected from Marrakech airport we were treated to the luxurious, private and friendly 'home from home' at the Riad Dar Darma. The staff were exceptionlly kind to us, and ensured that we were well looked after. We were upgraded to the Red Apartment; a suite bigger than our own home, with ornate and opulant decorations and traditional Moroccan styling. The bed we chose (there were two!) was amazingly comfortable, and gave us the best nights sleep following a week of excitement and nerves prior to our wedding! We were spoilt by having two bathrooms and a lovely living space. Even better, it seems that people avoid Marrakech in the 40 degree summer;'s heat- but as this beautiful riad has a rooftop pool, it became our private pool for our 4 day trip- AMAZING! All staff treated us so politely and were beyond helpful, telling us 'This is your house now'.

We took up the offer of dinner on the roof terrace on our first night, and it was delicious. We hope we can re-create the gorgeous dinner in our newly purchased tagine! Breakfasts were also plentiful. The staff make sure that you have their number in case you do get lost- they will collect you! We were able to avoid this, but it was always reassuring to know.

The 'Big Square' and Souks were very nearby and easy enough to find- but even if you have a good inner compass, exploring the narrow and winding streets of Marrakech will still defeat you. You will get lost! Enjoy the relaxation and luxury that Riad Dar Darma offers and the hustle and bustle of the colourful city of Marrakech- a perfect balance!

Thank you to all the staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: The Red Apartment stays perfectly cool in the summer's heat- lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

in the middle of the Marrakech medina, a quiet and luxurious riad where you feel at home
exquisitely decorated by its owners with local objects, antiques and Moroccan details all around
rooms are very quiet, maybe a bit dark for some tastes, but providing absolute privacy
breakfast at the rooftop terrace is a must!
they also do dinners on request, and arrange airport transfers for all guests at a small cost
and you also have the famous Foundouk restaurant behind the hotel, worth visiting
the riad is a short walk to the Jema el Fna plaza (if you don´t get lost, which is very easy)
the staff at the hotel is well educated, nice and attentive, always at the client´s disposal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We chose Marrakech as the destination for a pre wedding trip - myself and 5 girlfriends and were recommended to look at Riad Dar Darma. From the point of booking with Laura (based in Milan), everything was great and nothing was too much trouble. We chose the Red Apartment as there were 6 of us and this was a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite with a central lounge in the middle. We arrived and were picked up at the airport and driven to the discreet front door of the Riad - something that we later realised was an almost impossible feat; this was a sign of how far the team would go to make our stay as easy and enjoyable as possible. We entered the Riad from the craziness of the streets outside and were greeted by Maria - a lovely and helpful host - into an oasis of calm and serenity and cool air which was lovely. We were shown to our room and around the Riad - there are little areas all over the place and the rooftop terrace and pool is perfection. Maria was fantastic and gave us a map of the city and made all of our reservations for us - restaurants, camel rides, Nikki Beach etc. The first night they prepared a meal for us at Dar Darma - the food was amazing!! No menu and you were served what had been cooked and we were not disappointed - stunning flavours with fabulous service from Sahid and Abdul. One of the nice things about Riad Dar Darma is that it is very intimate - only 6 rooms and so you know the names of all the team from the housekeepers (Rasheeda & Nadja) to Abdul, Esham, Maria and Sahid. They change over shifts throughout the day, yet the service never changes - we wanted Morrocan Rose wine as this had been recommended to us as lovely - they didn't have it, yet 20 minutes later they did - they had 'borrowed' some from elsewhere and from that moment on, there was always Rose wine. We had no room keys, at first this felt strange and we were't sure and Maria reassured us that we were family in their home and that all would be fine. By the second day, we were leaving our door wide open all day. The Riad is perfectly located in the Medina and less than a 5 minute walk from the souks and the main square - yes you are hassled a little in the street but after your first trip out, you gain your confidence and are used to this. Anybody who complains that there is no sign on the front door clearly doesn't understand this city and the culture - the whole point is that the Riad is hidden and discreet and when you realise this you actually love this. There are no signs anywhere so it would be strange to have a large sign with Riad Dar Darma on the front door. We ate lunch twice at the Riad and dinner also and the food was always beautiful. They lit candles and incense in our room every day and placed an ice bucket for champagne in the lounge every day. The decor in the Riad was absolutely stunning - 100% authentic in every detail and barefoot luxury at it's best. The room we had was 17th century and the details were everywhere. The rooms are a little dark but you also realised that if you were to visit in 45 degree heat - this darkness would be so welcome as it would also mean that the rooms stay cool - again, you adjust to this and I know that if we had asked for extra light, they would have helped and arranged this - it wasn't a big deal for us and we were 6 girls who were doing hair and makeup every evening.There is no phone in the room but you don't miss it as the team are around 24 7 and are always on hand to help - it is as if 'no' is not in their vocabulary and whatever you request - however odd it may seem to them - they make it happen. The medina can be a challenge to navigate however, the team at Dar Darma will happily escort you to the souks or the square or even come and find you and bring you back if you are lost! I have never written before on Trip Advisor but felt compelled to do so the morning after we returned as the experience was so unique - I work in hotels and luxury hospitality myself and truly this place is special. Aside from the Riad, I would recommend a day to Nikki Beach (not at all authentic Marrakech but fun non the less), dinner at Bo&Zin - very cool place with beautiful food and a lovely vibe (taxi ride) and also Le Foundouk - traditional Moroccan place that is walking distance from Dar Darma. Definitely visit the souks and buy a leather holdall that can carry all of your purchases home - I bought a tagine, two lanterns and more! I would recommend this place to anybody and will definitely be returning with my husband after we get married. I would not recommend this place if you only like large chain hotels where you could be anywhere in the world when you stay - Dar Darma is the real Marrakech and allows you to be a part of their world for the time that you are there.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Red Apartment - peeped in the others though and all were stunning and equally indiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had high expectations of this "Mr and Mrs Smith" recommended Riad - and they were dashed.

Overall the Riad is stylish - but it's a case of 'fur coat and no knickers' . The dimly lit rooms were depressing and a bit tired.

On the plus side - the breakfasts were spectacular - and the folks were friendly and tried hard, but didn't quite get there in terms of delivering 5 star service. (e.g. a loud sign, eye roll and Arab mumbling when we requested coffee in our room before breakfast.)

Room Tip: Do not go for the Blue Apartment - unless you enjoy reading braille before bedtime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at Marrakech for 3 days on my second trip there and ended up spending ALL of the time at Dar Darma - it was that special. I walked around for 3 days just making photos, trying to capture the magical feel of the place. The staff is super attentive and anyone who is looking for an oasis of tranquility in the otherwise buzzing place would be pleasantly surprised. It's like staying at a house of a dear friend or relative who takes pleasure in spoiling you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Darma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.