We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorly lit riad led to depressing vibe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Darma to your Saves list
Riad Dar Darma
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
barcelona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“poorly lit riad led to depressing vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had high expectations of this "Mr and Mrs Smith" recommended Riad - and they were dashed.

Overall the Riad is stylish - but it's a case of 'fur coat and no knickers' . The dimly lit rooms were depressing and a bit tired.

On the plus side - the breakfasts were spectacular - and the folks were friendly and tried hard, but didn't quite get there in terms of delivering 5 star service. (e.g. a loud sign, eye roll and Arab mumbling when we requested coffee in our room before breakfast.)

Room Tip: Do not go for the Blue Apartment - unless you enjoy reading braille before bedtime
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    23
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at Marrakech for 3 days on my second trip there and ended up spending ALL of the time at Dar Darma - it was that special. I walked around for 3 days just making photos, trying to capture the magical feel of the place. The staff is super attentive and anyone who is looking for an oasis of tranquility in the otherwise buzzing place would be pleasantly surprised. It's like staying at a house of a dear friend or relative who takes pleasure in spoiling you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Thanks to the help of trip advisor i emailed the hotel who reassured me that they would pick us up at the airport and transport us to the hard to find riad! Laura was quick to reply and then really made our day by upgrading us to the fabulous red suite . On arrival we were plied with mint tea and entered the serene and cool palace of dar dharma. Immediately our blood pressures lowered and we fell into role of sultan and sultaness! Our palatial red suite more than lived up to its expectations and we marvelled at the beauty , the leopard skin rugs , shabby chic chairs and sumptuous bathrooms. Warning though in winter its cold at night so take your jimjams ! Breakfast is a carbohydrate feast of pancakes served with a smile.
The staff were very sweet and accomadating and anything could be arranged.
We took a trip to the coast and the high light of the trip for me was seeing the goats in the argan nut trees and holding a baby goat ! I Beautiful memories

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful no worries!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just came back from Marrakech...sigh. We stayed at Dar Darma for 5 nights and we had a great experience!
Dar Darma is really beautiful, the atmosphere is very relaxed and the design impressive. The staff super friendly and professional , always ready to help with a smile on their faces! A special thank you to Abdul ,Sahid and Isham that really made a difference and were available 24/7 ! The Dar is impressive ! high ceiling, beautiful furniture, large bedrooms (massive bathtubs:)) and very very quiet! we did not have lunch or dinner in the Dar but Breakfast was served on the roof terrace (amazing terrace, actually are 3 terraces with 2 plunge pools and sun loungers ) rich, fruit,orange juice,coffee,milk,a big pastries platter (crepes,pancakes,pain au chocolate) and jams (more than enough for us) The Location is great as well -in the beginning we had few problems in finding it (but was only our fault...zero orientation skills...)- but after few days we really started to appreciate and understand that we were less than 10 min walking (slowly) from Place Jamaa el fna and a couple of minutes from the souks! We will definitely be back! Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, large and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 nights. For anyone who does decide to come here the riad has no sign, which is unhelpful when searching for it with suitcases and locals looking to exploit tourists at your heels.

At first we were presented with immense splendor, the riad had an authentic feel and the rooms and courtyard were equally impressive.

However when we went to leave the riad we were confronted with a large amount of pestering from locals in the area, which at times could get very aggressive and intimidating. We believed this was due to the area, as pestering was less intense in the more touristy areas closer to the square. There was a back entrance which helped reduce hassle slightly, however staff did not always here us knocking to come in from this entrance.

Apart from one staff member the staff were extremely unhelpful and uninterested in engaging in friendly conversation, even in greeting. One member in particular was incredibly rude and would tut if we asked for water or if we knocked on the front door (keys are not provided). He seemed bitter and resentful towards the guests, I began to fear asking for anything. In the morning he would slam breakfast on the table without uttering a word. One morning he even had a full on argument in Arabic in front of us with another staff member.

In addition the food, water and tea at this riad were not good value for money.

To conclude unless you can stay at this riad for a reduced rate, it probably isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

just returned from dar darma stayed in red 2 bedroom suite which is amazing. the riad is beautifull as is all the suites, sahid and all the staff are lovely. the service is wonderfull, in obtrusive but ever present, on hand day or night for whatever you want, nothing really is to much trouble, breakfast was lovely served whenever or where ever you want it. we have stayed at many top riads in marrakech. r e riad farnatchi,noir d ivoir, riad el fenn and i have to say this is as good as it gets. i have never written a review about any where before partly because they have not needed it but i cant understand the negative reviews about dar darma so feel i must set the record straight.i can only think that the people who have written these reviews do not really apreciate marrakech and the riad. the dar is a palace with antiques and quirky touches everywhere, our suite was massive two bedrooms two bathrooms large living room,truly amazing.the roof terrace is massive with lovely hammocks and daybeds and a pool which is large enough to swim in. the comunal areas are amazing i really can not say enough about this riad. i would reccomend this riad to any one the whole riad is immaculate clean. it is a 2 minute walk from la fonduk restaraunt and the souks and a 5 minute walk to the square. cant wait to return and would like to thank all the staff for a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed 3 nights from the 4th of March. We were greeted by Sahid who had the fireplace lit up for us. We had booked the Brown Suite but were surprised with an upgrade to the Red one. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lovely living room with a big window giving to a beautiful pool patio. My son (10) was thrilled with the whole riad. We were the only guests on the 1st night and had my husband's birthday dinner set on the lounge by the fireplace. A tasty tagine with moroccan salad, fruit pie, nice wine. He keeps thanking me for this delightful present as he had no idea what lied behind the 11/12 door on Trik Sidi Bohuarba. Walking along the streets gives you no idea.
We dind't find that walking a street to reach it or not having a taxi at the door was a problem at all. It's a nice ten minute stroll to Jammaa el Fna (passing by the Medersa (right neraby),the Museum and the souks) if one needs a taxi. The Riad provides airport transfers, which is very convenient and the price is fair enough.
The hammam was working and we could use it with our son at no extra cost. My husband had a massage while I learned the technique. Lol.
Breakfast was very fresh, tasty and more than enough. If you look for a hotel type breakfast, with loads of things you end up by not eating, than try a hotel outside the medina. Anyway the staff were there at all times should we need anything else. I wouldn't trade this place for any 5 star hotel in this city.
It's truly beautiful, spotless and we felt welcome and helped whenever we needed.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Darma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.