We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Darma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enchanted place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I stayed at Marrakech for 3 days on my second trip there and ended up spending ALL of the time at Dar Darma - it was that special. I walked around for 3 days just making photos, trying to capture the magical feel of the place. The staff is super attentive and anyone who is looking for an oasis of tranquility in the otherwise buzzing place would be pleasantly surprised. It's like staying at a house of a dear friend or relative who takes pleasure in spoiling you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Thanks to the help of trip advisor i emailed the hotel who reassured me that they would pick us up at the airport and transport us to the hard to find riad! Laura was quick to reply and then really made our day by upgrading us to the fabulous red suite . On arrival we were plied with mint tea and entered the serene and cool palace of dar dharma. Immediately our blood pressures lowered and we fell into role of sultan and sultaness! Our palatial red suite more than lived up to its expectations and we marvelled at the beauty , the leopard skin rugs , shabby chic chairs and sumptuous bathrooms. Warning though in winter its cold at night so take your jimjams ! Breakfast is a carbohydrate feast of pancakes served with a smile.
The staff were very sweet and accomadating and anything could be arranged.
We took a trip to the coast and the high light of the trip for me was seeing the goats in the argan nut trees and holding a baby goat ! I Beautiful memories

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful no worries!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We just came back from Marrakech...sigh. We stayed at Dar Darma for 5 nights and we had a great experience!
Dar Darma is really beautiful, the atmosphere is very relaxed and the design impressive. The staff super friendly and professional , always ready to help with a smile on their faces! A special thank you to Abdul ,Sahid and Isham that really made a difference and were available 24/7 ! The Dar is impressive ! high ceiling, beautiful furniture, large bedrooms (massive bathtubs:)) and very very quiet! we did not have lunch or dinner in the Dar but Breakfast was served on the roof terrace (amazing terrace, actually are 3 terraces with 2 plunge pools and sun loungers ) rich, fruit,orange juice,coffee,milk,a big pastries platter (crepes,pancakes,pain au chocolate) and jams (more than enough for us) The Location is great as well -in the beginning we had few problems in finding it (but was only our fault...zero orientation skills...)- but after few days we really started to appreciate and understand that we were less than 10 min walking (slowly) from Place Jamaa el fna and a couple of minutes from the souks! We will definitely be back! Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet, large and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 nights. For anyone who does decide to come here the riad has no sign, which is unhelpful when searching for it with suitcases and locals looking to exploit tourists at your heels.

At first we were presented with immense splendor, the riad had an authentic feel and the rooms and courtyard were equally impressive.

However when we went to leave the riad we were confronted with a large amount of pestering from locals in the area, which at times could get very aggressive and intimidating. We believed this was due to the area, as pestering was less intense in the more touristy areas closer to the square. There was a back entrance which helped reduce hassle slightly, however staff did not always here us knocking to come in from this entrance.

Apart from one staff member the staff were extremely unhelpful and uninterested in engaging in friendly conversation, even in greeting. One member in particular was incredibly rude and would tut if we asked for water or if we knocked on the front door (keys are not provided). He seemed bitter and resentful towards the guests, I began to fear asking for anything. In the morning he would slam breakfast on the table without uttering a word. One morning he even had a full on argument in Arabic in front of us with another staff member.

In addition the food, water and tea at this riad were not good value for money.

To conclude unless you can stay at this riad for a reduced rate, it probably isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

just returned from dar darma stayed in red 2 bedroom suite which is amazing. the riad is beautifull as is all the suites, sahid and all the staff are lovely. the service is wonderfull, in obtrusive but ever present, on hand day or night for whatever you want, nothing really is to much trouble, breakfast was lovely served whenever or where ever you want it. we have stayed at many top riads in marrakech. r e riad farnatchi,noir d ivoir, riad el fenn and i have to say this is as good as it gets. i have never written a review about any where before partly because they have not needed it but i cant understand the negative reviews about dar darma so feel i must set the record straight.i can only think that the people who have written these reviews do not really apreciate marrakech and the riad. the dar is a palace with antiques and quirky touches everywhere, our suite was massive two bedrooms two bathrooms large living room,truly amazing.the roof terrace is massive with lovely hammocks and daybeds and a pool which is large enough to swim in. the comunal areas are amazing i really can not say enough about this riad. i would reccomend this riad to any one the whole riad is immaculate clean. it is a 2 minute walk from la fonduk restaraunt and the souks and a 5 minute walk to the square. cant wait to return and would like to thank all the staff for a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed 3 nights from the 4th of March. We were greeted by Sahid who had the fireplace lit up for us. We had booked the Brown Suite but were surprised with an upgrade to the Red one. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lovely living room with a big window giving to a beautiful pool patio. My son (10) was thrilled with the whole riad. We were the only guests on the 1st night and had my husband's birthday dinner set on the lounge by the fireplace. A tasty tagine with moroccan salad, fruit pie, nice wine. He keeps thanking me for this delightful present as he had no idea what lied behind the 11/12 door on Trik Sidi Bohuarba. Walking along the streets gives you no idea.
We dind't find that walking a street to reach it or not having a taxi at the door was a problem at all. It's a nice ten minute stroll to Jammaa el Fna (passing by the Medersa (right neraby),the Museum and the souks) if one needs a taxi. The Riad provides airport transfers, which is very convenient and the price is fair enough.
The hammam was working and we could use it with our son at no extra cost. My husband had a massage while I learned the technique. Lol.
Breakfast was very fresh, tasty and more than enough. If you look for a hotel type breakfast, with loads of things you end up by not eating, than try a hotel outside the medina. Anyway the staff were there at all times should we need anything else. I wouldn't trade this place for any 5 star hotel in this city.
It's truly beautiful, spotless and we felt welcome and helped whenever we needed.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Riad in early May traveling from Thailand for a friend's 40th. A true catalogue of how not to run a hotel, culminating in the loss of valuables from our room and a completely unhelpful process of trying to report this and seek compensation. Avoid like the plague, unless of course they have rooted out the petty thievery and the after thievery service. If you want more information please feel free to contact me at atimblick@timblickpartners.com. I am a lawyer so although not liked, not a liar.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar_Darma, Manager at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this review, November 3, 2010
Dear Mr Timblick,

We perfectly remind your inconvenient and would love the opportunity to reply to your review and express our sadness for your thoughts.

When you left the Dar, no personal belongings were found in your suite.

Therefore, Dar Darma is absolutely responsible for the loss of any of the personal belongings of guests staying in till the moment our guests depart.

Let me also remind you that Dar Darma received your complaint 3 days after you checked out.

At that step there was impossible for Dar Darma to assist you and open an official procedure to refund you through the insurance. The procedure, in fact, requires a policeman who collects the complaint of the guest and sends it to the insurance. Guest must stay in the Dar at the moment of the loss, this is fundamental and didn't happened.

We really hope that helps you better understand and thank you for your attention.


With best wishes,
Laura Vida on behalf of Dar Darma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Darma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.