We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A RIAD CHARACTERIZED BY SIMPLE ELEGANCE AND TRANQUILITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Saria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Dar Saria
Save Saved
You added Dar Saria to your Saves list
derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Whitehorse
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A RIAD CHARACTERIZED BY SIMPLE ELEGANCE AND TRANQUILITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

Dar Saria was a very pleasant surprise. Flo, one of the owners greeted us at the edge of the Medina and led us to her Marrakech Riad. It was a perfect oasis from the hustle and bustle of the medina. As architects, we loved the understated nature of the renovated space. We loved our room (double with bathroom) and the roof terrace, Sharing cocktails with Flo in the late afternoon made us feel very much at home.
We look forward to coming back on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought Ahmed and his staff were very helpful. Food on our first night was very tasty and served with politeness and care.
Darsaria was right in the heart of the medina and souks were right outside the door.
A map at greeting guests would be helpful but once you know where you are .....no problems. Would recommend to all. Robyn and Jamesie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

we really enjoyed the time there. Ahmed, Amina and Abdul were really nice and allways available.
It's not easy to find and the privecy is not the best also, but I guess this is a common problem for these kind of Riads.
As for everything els, perfect. Nice, clean and very comfortable.
Surely worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We're just back from our first trip to Marrakech and Dar Saria was wonderful! The riad is in a great location -- right in the middle of the medina and with easy access to bigger roads and taxis -- and the rooms are really lovely and charming. It was hard not to take dozens of photos of the courtyard, the decorative details, etc. We ate in one night and it was strong competition to the top tier restaurants in the city. Breakfasts were equally lovely. Ahmed, the manager was incredibly helpful with making reservations, suggestions, securing bus tickets, walking us to hard to find dinner locations, etc. He even offered to take us shopping in the souks and help out with the bargaining! A pile of guidebooks, picture books, and magazines in the courtyard on all things Morocco also helped us get situated.

The only potential drawback was that the rooms are all centered on the one courtyard and due to both windows and old doors opening onto that space, there isn't complete sound privacy. This seemed to work out fine during our stay (other guests even departed early one morning and we barely woke up) however if you seek a truly isolated room with total privacy and no outside noises, this may not be the best hotel.

  • Liked — Gracious and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Lack of complete privacy in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

This riad is lovely. We had he most expensive and biggest room but all looked very nice. Lovely courtyard at night., great value and decent breakfasts.

Only complaint was that we were not 100% sure how objective the manager's restaurant suggestions were. Also left a very sour taste in the mouth that he booked us a taxi to the mountains for 800 dirhams (£45) and we managed to get back for 250... Make of that what you will - just sort out your own transport, don't listen to his restaurant suggestions and you'll have a great time here!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We were redirected here by the owner's brother who runs one of the Riads listed in Lonely Planet so he obviously is always booked (Tchakana or something). Dar Saria is a wonderful little oasis of peace in the north of the medina. About ten mins walk from the main square, it's in a perfect position. Decorated in cool Moroccan "pieces" and photos it's been brilliantly restored.

We were the only people staying there and so it felt like our own riad, though I'm sure if others were there it would be equally as special. Breakfast was great and Ahemd the manager (?) was a brilliant host - organising massages and taxis etc.

Well recommended to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The rooftop is a real sun-trap too.

  • Liked — beautifully restored and decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We were directed to this riad by the owner of Tchaikana, and we loved it. Very small (2 or 3 rooms), and the staff (one lovely gentleman) could not have been nicer or more accomodating.

Note: We have been to Marrakech several times, so finding our way through the medina is not as daunting to us now as it would be were we first time visitors.

The room was lovely, and the bathroom also. We requested a hairdryer and immediately one was provided, along with shampoo. The roof terrace is a lovely place to watch the sunset over a drink, and eating dinner in the riad is recommended. We had a lovely dinner there on our last night and invited several friends, who thought it was better than most of the restaurant food they had eaten all week.

Note: It is always a good idea to have a small flashlight in your bag for navigating the streets and alleys at night.

We were so busy that I forgot to take photos of Dar Saria; however, it is a lovely riad and the rooms are simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Saria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Saria

Address: derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dar Saria Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Saria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;