We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful haven......in a wonderful city....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Saria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Saria
derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #244 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“peaceful haven......in a wonderful city....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought Ahmed and his staff were very helpful. Food on our first night was very tasty and served with politeness and care.
Darsaria was right in the heart of the medina and souks were right outside the door.
A map at greeting guests would be helpful but once you know where you are .....no problems. Would recommend to all. Robyn and Jamesie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

we really enjoyed the time there. Ahmed, Amina and Abdul were really nice and allways available.
It's not easy to find and the privecy is not the best also, but I guess this is a common problem for these kind of Riads.
As for everything els, perfect. Nice, clean and very comfortable.
Surely worth the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We're just back from our first trip to Marrakech and Dar Saria was wonderful! The riad is in a great location -- right in the middle of the medina and with easy access to bigger roads and taxis -- and the rooms are really lovely and charming. It was hard not to take dozens of photos of the courtyard, the decorative details, etc. We ate in one night and it was strong competition to the top tier restaurants in the city. Breakfasts were equally lovely. Ahmed, the manager was incredibly helpful with making reservations, suggestions, securing bus tickets, walking us to hard to find dinner locations, etc. He even offered to take us shopping in the souks and help out with the bargaining! A pile of guidebooks, picture books, and magazines in the courtyard on all things Morocco also helped us get situated.

The only potential drawback was that the rooms are all centered on the one courtyard and due to both windows and old doors opening onto that space, there isn't complete sound privacy. This seemed to work out fine during our stay (other guests even departed early one morning and we barely woke up) however if you seek a truly isolated room with total privacy and no outside noises, this may not be the best hotel.

  • Liked — Gracious and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Lack of complete privacy in the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

This riad is lovely. We had he most expensive and biggest room but all looked very nice. Lovely courtyard at night., great value and decent breakfasts.

Only complaint was that we were not 100% sure how objective the manager's restaurant suggestions were. Also left a very sour taste in the mouth that he booked us a taxi to the mountains for 800 dirhams (£45) and we managed to get back for 250... Make of that what you will - just sort out your own transport, don't listen to his restaurant suggestions and you'll have a great time here!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We were redirected here by the owner's brother who runs one of the Riads listed in Lonely Planet so he obviously is always booked (Tchakana or something). Dar Saria is a wonderful little oasis of peace in the north of the medina. About ten mins walk from the main square, it's in a perfect position. Decorated in cool Moroccan "pieces" and photos it's been brilliantly restored.

We were the only people staying there and so it felt like our own riad, though I'm sure if others were there it would be equally as special. Breakfast was great and Ahemd the manager (?) was a brilliant host - organising massages and taxis etc.

Well recommended to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The rooftop is a real sun-trap too.

  • Liked — beautifully restored and decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We were directed to this riad by the owner of Tchaikana, and we loved it. Very small (2 or 3 rooms), and the staff (one lovely gentleman) could not have been nicer or more accomodating.

Note: We have been to Marrakech several times, so finding our way through the medina is not as daunting to us now as it would be were we first time visitors.

The room was lovely, and the bathroom also. We requested a hairdryer and immediately one was provided, along with shampoo. The roof terrace is a lovely place to watch the sunset over a drink, and eating dinner in the riad is recommended. We had a lovely dinner there on our last night and invited several friends, who thought it was better than most of the restaurant food they had eaten all week.

Note: It is always a good idea to have a small flashlight in your bag for navigating the streets and alleys at night.

We were so busy that I forgot to take photos of Dar Saria; however, it is a lovely riad and the rooms are simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2007

We have just spent a great long weekend in Marrakech at Dar Saria, and had a really enjoyable time.

We wanted to stay in a Riad, rather than a hotel, and rang one that had been recommended in my Rough Guide book. This particular Riad was fully booked; however the owner recommended to me her sisters Riad, Dar Saria, which had opened relatively recently in November 2006. I rang direct, spoke with the young owner Flo, and booked a suite for the three of us girls.

We were not disappointed! The Riad is well placed, just a 10 minute walk from Place Djerma al Fna, and is a calm oasis just above the souks. It is simple, stylish, comfortable, and provided a peaceful haven, which was perfect for us.

Flo arranged for us to be picked up at the airport, so that we would have no problems finding the Riad (we soon got the hang of finding our way home after a couple of outings!) and she and her team made us very welcome, both when we arrived, and indeed throughout our stay.

Breakfast was taken on the terrace on the roof of the Riad. We also dined at the Riad two nights; the first night dinner included a great selection of salads, and then a beautiful chicken tagine, and the second occasion we enjoyed a lovely cous cous.

Flo was very helpful with providing restaurant recomendations, and also giving us with a map to help us navigate through the souks. She speaks great English, and French too, which is very useful.

All in all, a great weekend, very reasonably priced, and would definately go back again!

  • Liked — Relaxing ambiance, and friendly helpful owner and staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Saria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Saria

Address: derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Also Known As:
Dar Saria Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Saria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Dar Saria to your Saves list