We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful white oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Saria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Saria
Save
You added Dar Saria to your Saves list
derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful white oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We were redirected here by the owner's brother who runs one of the Riads listed in Lonely Planet so he obviously is always booked (Tchakana or something). Dar Saria is a wonderful little oasis of peace in the north of the medina. About ten mins walk from the main square, it's in a perfect position. Decorated in cool Moroccan "pieces" and photos it's been brilliantly restored.

We were the only people staying there and so it felt like our own riad, though I'm sure if others were there it would be equally as special. Breakfast was great and Ahemd the manager (?) was a brilliant host - organising massages and taxis etc.

Well recommended to get away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. The rooftop is a real sun-trap too.

  • Liked — beautifully restored and decorated
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryandberyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We were directed to this riad by the owner of Tchaikana, and we loved it. Very small (2 or 3 rooms), and the staff (one lovely gentleman) could not have been nicer or more accomodating.

Note: We have been to Marrakech several times, so finding our way through the medina is not as daunting to us now as it would be were we first time visitors.

The room was lovely, and the bathroom also. We requested a hairdryer and immediately one was provided, along with shampoo. The roof terrace is a lovely place to watch the sunset over a drink, and eating dinner in the riad is recommended. We had a lovely dinner there on our last night and invited several friends, who thought it was better than most of the restaurant food they had eaten all week.

Note: It is always a good idea to have a small flashlight in your bag for navigating the streets and alleys at night.

We were so busy that I forgot to take photos of Dar Saria; however, it is a lovely riad and the rooms are simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmarteCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2007

We have just spent a great long weekend in Marrakech at Dar Saria, and had a really enjoyable time.

We wanted to stay in a Riad, rather than a hotel, and rang one that had been recommended in my Rough Guide book. This particular Riad was fully booked; however the owner recommended to me her sisters Riad, Dar Saria, which had opened relatively recently in November 2006. I rang direct, spoke with the young owner Flo, and booked a suite for the three of us girls.

We were not disappointed! The Riad is well placed, just a 10 minute walk from Place Djerma al Fna, and is a calm oasis just above the souks. It is simple, stylish, comfortable, and provided a peaceful haven, which was perfect for us.

Flo arranged for us to be picked up at the airport, so that we would have no problems finding the Riad (we soon got the hang of finding our way home after a couple of outings!) and she and her team made us very welcome, both when we arrived, and indeed throughout our stay.

Breakfast was taken on the terrace on the roof of the Riad. We also dined at the Riad two nights; the first night dinner included a great selection of salads, and then a beautiful chicken tagine, and the second occasion we enjoyed a lovely cous cous.

Flo was very helpful with providing restaurant recomendations, and also giving us with a map to help us navigate through the souks. She speaks great English, and French too, which is very useful.

All in all, a great weekend, very reasonably priced, and would definately go back again!

  • Liked — Relaxing ambiance, and friendly helpful owner and staff
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherbet7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

Dar Saria is located in the middle of a souk and it maybe hard to get to the first time - but once you know where it is, it's simple. Close to the main square and a nice restaurant called Maison Arabe.
It's a simple, clean place with a very friendly young owner - Flo. And as luck would have it, Flo speaks French as well as English (a boon in Marrakech). The place is not over priced and with some nice simple stylish touches to the decor, it's great value for money. The staff is friendly too. Worth it if you are loking for low budget places!

  • Liked — Simple style and the owner
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cloud2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Ftouma
Riad Dar Ftouma
#213 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#22 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#12 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#164 of 491 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Saria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Saria

Address: derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dar Saria Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing