We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly and not clean, even for morocco” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fantasia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Fantasia
Save
You added Hotel Fantasia to your Saves list
184 Arset, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #468 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“unfriendly and not clean, even for morocco”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

At first the welcome was frienly enough , after a long hot drive we ( my 9 year old son and I travelling by car trough morocco for a month) wanted a bed and a Shower . put the bags in the room,cleaned out the shower a bit myself , cleaned up ourselves and went onto the jerm el fnaa square wich is a one minute walk away,

comming back turned down the beds an had the impression (so did the beds) that someone had slept on these sheets before, the reception all of a sudden only spoke arabic or did not understand my french, so we got our own bedding from the car and made our own beds the nex mornig we couldn't have breakfast and the attitude towards us was very unfriendly to say the least

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hogeweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

if you are looking for a riad that is dirty, facilities that don't work, provides poor service and cheats its clients...then this is the riad for you!!! they also provided a 3 am wakeup call..for free..by a crazed moroccon who clearly consumed too much berber whiskey!! scary..

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrimaveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

It's very dirty, noisy and service is poor. Moroccan service but at European prices. Someone smashed up the place overnight in what must have been a dispute and clever use of a baseball bat. Spend a bit extra and look for something better, trust me. I've travelled half the world so if you read my comment and still decide to go to Hotel Fantasia then you only have yourself to blame in the end. I'm so glad I got my vaccinations before staying there. Loved Morocco but not this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WilsonPlinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

A bit of a joke really!! The hotel has a lot of charm but you have to have a lot of patience. When we arrived we were told it cost 350MDH per night for a room without a shower. We spent wo nights there and then went on a trip to Ouazarzate. Before leaving we booked two more nights for when we returned, a room on the roof with a shower this time and were told that it would be 400MDH. When we did return there was no record of our booking and were told that there was a room free but it had no shower, so we accepted and were told they would give it to us for 300MDH (we later found that this was the usual rate and we had been ripped off the first time). The next day we were ready to move room. I asked in recpetion and they looked at me in a funny way and said that there were no rooms with shower free!!
Also if you have a mint tea the prices vary. From 5MDH to 20MDH depending on who serves you. If you contest the pricethey just ignore you.
However the hotel has a lot of charm and I loved the roof terrace.

  • Liked — The roof terrace
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valencian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

We were recommend this Riad by some friends so decided to go straight there and drop off our bags.

The riad is bright and traditionally decorated with a great roof terrace with a tent to hide away from the heat. We were given an en-suite room and at first appearance was fine. After closer inspection the bed, the sheets were clean but the pillows under the cases where really grey and dirty looking. The wiring was really quite dodgy and the bathroom was quite dirty.

The hot water was intermittent we discovered in the morning (it had been hot the afternoon before) but the breakfast was ok and the birds in cages aroung the courtyard a nice accompanment.

We did only stay for one night after this.

  • Liked — the decor and terrace were really authentic.
  • Disliked — the lack of hot water.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chefchaouen, Morocco
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

We showed up at 11.30 at night, no booking and it was no problem at all.
The guys at the reception made us very welcome and very quickly we were settled and sitting having drinks and talking in the lounge.
The terrace is the winner though. It's on two levels and is emaculate, great place to chill out after a run around the medina.
The rooms, although basic, are very clean and the prices are competitive.
The night we were there, there was about every type of group staying, from families, to signal backpakers, all of us chatting on the terrace at some point.
Already we are arranging going back with my parents as even they would love the chilled out feel to the place.

  • Liked — The welcoming, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — The pet budgies (birds) at 6.30 in the morning, I was just going to sleep! :)
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rif-For-Anyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Decided to take a few days off work at short notice and got a cheap flight to Marrakech. As I was travelling alone and backpacking looking for somewhere cheap (around 10 GBP per night) and near Djamaa El Fna for first and last nights whilst trekking in Atlas mountains and chilling out at Essaouira on coast in between.
Took 20 dirham airport bus into city and dropped off near main square. Looked at a place in one of the guide books but a bit tatty and run down. As I left approached by youth with a card for Hotel Fantasia. Whilst normally wary about such approaches I had nothing to lose by checking it out. It was only another block away in Ryad El Moukha so still very close to the action. Fact that the building next door had been demolished was initially offputting but entrance and reception area very welcoming as were the staff. Colourful tiles everywhere.
Hotel is on three floors set around quiet courtyard with a fountain (not in operation on my first night but was 10 days later when I returned). There is then a further roof top terrace with another fountain (same operating arrangements as the one on the ground floor !!) and then up some steps to a sun terrace. Mismatching tables and chairs found on both and a large tented area where you could lounge around drinking mint tea. There is a good view across the rooftops to the Koutoubia and other monuments and on clear days you can see the Atlas mountains.
My room was basic but with very comfortable bed and clean linen. Showers, on my floor at least, were a bit of a hotch-potch of various plumbing attachments. No water at all when I first arrived but this was sorted out quite quickly and then constant hot water. What may be a bit off putting to some people is the fact that you shower directly above the squat style toilet !
Hotel is only 5 minutes from Dlemaa El Fna which is a must. Eat at the stalls in amongst the locals or at any of the restaurants around the edge of the square or overlooking it. Not surprisingly prices vary with location. Le Toukbil particulary good value - plate load of food for a pound or two depending on choice. Probably tried out just about every cafe around the square for coffee and rounded off the evening in the Hotel Tazi. Big worn but comfy sofas in the main lobby plus a dingier bar attached. One of the few places where you could get a beer but quite expensive by English standards. However each drink was accompanied by a plates of nuts, olives and popcorn!!
Marrakech certainly enjoyable experience despite the beggars and scammers. Atlas mountains absolutely superb. Trekked for three days without seeing a single fellow traveller. Essaouira very laid back - good seafood. Great roof top bar at Taros Cafe.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Shower/toilet combo !
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Carter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fantasia Prestige
Riad Fantasia Prestige
#736 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 29 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#160 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,326 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fantasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fantasia

Address: 184 Arset, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #468 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Fantasia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing